We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regenta Central Deccan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$120
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$58
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$71
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$130
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$62
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$55
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$135
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
46
107
67
20
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
107
67
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarina beachvegetarian hotelvalue for moneyvegetarian foodhuge spreadbusiness tourshort staycourteous staffadded advantagedecent hotelbuffet breakfastthe heart of the citydosanice place to stayhotel is locatedspecial thanksexcellent service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 264 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hi,

Was travelling for a day to chennai and stayed at the Deccan Plaza, they have a 24 hour checkout policy which is quite usefull.

the food was good and tasty. the rooms were quite and clean.

had a quite decent experience at the hotel, though was jus there for a few hours.!!

Room Tip: Jus stayed there for one night, was quite peacefull!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teamglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your views about our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincere regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have really mixed comments when thinking about this hotel . Locationwise its excellent especially if you have work in that part of chennai and well connected . Their rooms are good and their gym is very good with imported equipment .

Coming to service each time i stay i feel bad because their staff has got a very hurried attitude . Not rude but being in the hospitality industry really inferior (i have stayed in 50 + hotels in the country across star ranges ) . I dont know whether it is because they are understaffed but service with a smile i didnt find here .

Also the worst part was i almost missed my flight because they didnt provide taxi on time and repeatedly told me to have breakfast while taxi is arranged ( i had called twice and fixed it up ) . How can we have breakfast and wait when the taxi is late ? I think they should have a staff meeting if they want to improve their customer service ...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haroonmarikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your views and suggestions for betterment. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and be assured necessary measures have been taken to prevent it from repeating. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Deccan Plaza

Sincere regards,

Sukomal Sarkar,
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Service:
Room Service was efficient.Was really hungry when I checked in the evening and the room service staff promptly got me my snacks order.
Rooms:
Rooms are spacious and well maintained.
Food:
They have a very good breakfast spread.For the evening dinner,I had opted for an ala carte one night and was surprised to get decent enough North Indian food.Next night,I had opted for their buffet dinner and what a surprise!!All the usual food stuff was present but I really relished the south indian food they had on the buffet spread.
They have a good enough bar also.They give a plenty of muchies to gulp down with a drink
Nearby places of interest:
Undoubtedly,it has to be the Marina Beach.It is close to the Hotel
To sum it up
Found the Hotel to be ideal for a quick business trip.I guess they also manage wedding/puja functions for families as I could see a lot of ladies in traditional south indian attire rushing to attend some ceremony in the banquet hall of the hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paripb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, General Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

It was our privilege and pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Chennai. Thank you so much for your all positive comments. Very delighted to know that you liked our Hotel, Team and Hospitality Services.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza, look forward to the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back to Chennai on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Deccan plaza hotel in Chennai recently and this is a short note about my experience. Those going for US Visa interview can stay at this hotel and its about 2 kms from the ambassy. Its just an average budget hotel so do not expect amenities of luxury hotel. The rooms are of decent size, beds are a bit hard than expected. Lcd, coffee/ tea maker are provided in each room but their wifi is just horrible. They offer complimentary buffet breakfast(only veg) which is just ok. Room service is below expectations. I was surprised the hotel did not have any taxis on their own,they have partnered with some 3rd party cab service for pickup/drop service to airport. Please recheck about the taxi because we had a bad experience on the visa interview date as they did not arrange for cab and we have to take an auto. There are absolutely no recreation facilities except for a gym room(i did not see the gym so cannot comment on how it was).
location of the hotel is quite ok. Its just 2 kms from marina beach and has 2 big malls in the vicinity. Overall i would rate its a standard hotel for short business trips.

Room Tip: Please do not accept corner rooms(eg 316,317 series ) as the wifi does not work. i even had issues with the Ac when i stayed in room no 316.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Mr. Ashish Chada,

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our Travel Desk Services and Wi-Fi connectivity. At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

We shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza Team sincerely look forward to your stay with us and do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

One thing that works for this hotel is the Location. And, considering the same it is a good hotel. But, I have to agree with others regarding the mattress, It is indeed hard. Food is good but restaurant in the hotel is Pure Vegetarian. I had little problem with the Air Conditioning, but the same was taken care by the Maintenance staff.

So, overall a good option for short business trips in this tariff range.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabhat_vnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavour to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews