We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deccan Plaza - just average, don't expect much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regenta Central Deccan
Ranked #82 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bangalore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Deccan Plaza - just average, don't expect much”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Deccan plaza hotel in Chennai recently and this is a short note about my experience. Those going for US Visa interview can stay at this hotel and its about 2 kms from the ambassy. Its just an average budget hotel so do not expect amenities of luxury hotel. The rooms are of decent size, beds are a bit hard than expected. Lcd, coffee/ tea maker are provided in each room but their wifi is just horrible. They offer complimentary buffet breakfast(only veg) which is just ok. Room service is below expectations. I was surprised the hotel did not have any taxis on their own,they have partnered with some 3rd party cab service for pickup/drop service to airport. Please recheck about the taxi because we had a bad experience on the visa interview date as they did not arrange for cab and we have to take an auto. There are absolutely no recreation facilities except for a gym room(i did not see the gym so cannot comment on how it was).
location of the hotel is quite ok. Its just 2 kms from marina beach and has 2 big malls in the vicinity. Overall i would rate its a standard hotel for short business trips.

Room Tip: Please do not accept corner rooms(eg 316,317 series ) as the wifi does not work. i even had issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Ashish Chada,

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your recent stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our Travel Desk Services and Wi-Fi connectivity. At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

We shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza Team sincerely look forward to your stay with us and do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Regards,

Sukomal Sarkar
General Manager
Email: gm@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    96
    64
    17
    22
See reviews for
71
16
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

One thing that works for this hotel is the Location. And, considering the same it is a good hotel. But, I have to agree with others regarding the mattress, It is indeed hard. Food is good but restaurant in the hotel is Pure Vegetarian. I had little problem with the Air Conditioning, but the same was taken care by the Maintenance staff.

So, overall a good option for short business trips in this tariff range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhat_vnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavour to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is nice as per the city but the mattress is hard. Morning breakfast have same menu daily with no taste. The rooms are nice and big. A good deal for business trips worth for the tariff. Overall a good hotel for business trips.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms on the other side of road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHaze_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavour to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A nice hotel, with big rooms and a great breakfast buffet included. The mattress was extremely hard. The wi-fi was not working, but there was a computer connected to the web for the guests in the hall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Hotel Deccan Plaza!!!

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our (complaints). At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

Based on the nature of your feedback, we shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza sincerely look forward to your stay with us. We do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Warm Regards,

John Irudhaya Raj. M
Front Office Manager
Email: fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My first impression of this hotel wasn't so good when the receptionist could direct me properly to reach the hotel. However from there it was only up.

Location: Very convenient for people visiting VFS Offices (US, Australia, Germany, Denmark, Italy etc).

Check-In: Very quick and couple of signatures and we are done. The bellboy clearly explained everything about the room

Room: Was very well lit and spacious. Bed was big enough to accommodate me, my wife and our 6 month old. The room was pretty clean and seemed well maintained.

Facilities: Room service was a bit slow and house keeping response was poor.

Food: Only veg and slightly expensive when ordered to the room. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous though.

Check-Out: Prompt and was done in 5 minutes

It may not be the best but for the money charged it was definitely more than what we hoped for. I would definitely recommend this for others who want to have a short stay in center of Chennai.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavour to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.My local collegue had recommended this hotel which has only vegetarian food cooked & served,& I also got a good deal thru' a travel portal.I found it has an Excellent location ,nice elevation,cordial & caring staff.,Good pure vegetarian breakfast.I feel that it is certainly value for money by Chennai's prevailing hotel tariff .I would like to come & stay again.

Room Tip: take the room with window facing the rear side of the hotel at the highest level,for even better si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravindev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavour to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and good facilities on offer at The Deccan Plaza; we thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Deccan Plaza, Chennai.

Stay well,

John Irudhaya Raj.M
Front Office Manager
fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Where should I start.

The 15 minutes it took to check me in, or the 45 minutes it took for the front desk to check in my friends? the two beers I ordered from room service, one was delivered with out a bottle opener. The second came 15 minutes later. the coke that went undelivered for 15 minutes in their restaurant. The internet wifi they were charging for that neither me nor my friend could log onto.

My favorite though was the noxious fumes. the hotel decided to renovate some of the floors yet still rent out the rooms. When we check in, half a dozen workers buzzed in the hallways near 8pm. they were painting the halls, but not with traditional paint, but some sort of noxious varnish.

We asked for the manger to come up to the room. Very nice and pleasant, but added no value. We explained that the fumes were causing headaches. he directed the workers to cease their work, ehich they did at 9pm. Of course, they were back at their jobs at 9am the next morning.

the same manager checked me out the next day, and said he "looked forward to seeing us again".

I shook my head in bewilderment. I then reviewed all of the challnges we entertained at his hotel and asked him why in the world why would we ever come back to his hotel again.

h

Room Tip: dont stay at this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rmgsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deccanchennai, Front Office Manager at Regenta Central Deccan, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Hotel Deccan Plaza!!!

It was both our privilege and pleasure to have you staying with us during your recent visit to Chennai.

Firstly we accept our sincere apologies for being unable to meet up to your expectations during your stay with us. We deeply regret for the inconvenience caused to you in our services pointed like needs improvement of our (complaints). At the same time I am grateful to you for having pointed out the lapse in our services.

Based on the nature of your feedback, we shall rectify the problems soon and we are confident of delivering the service standard that you are accustomed to. Such feedback from discerning guests like you gives us valuable insight in improving our services and facilities.

We at Hotel Deccan Plaza sincerely look forward to your stay with us. We do hope this highly irregular experience will not deprive us at your continuous patronage.

With Warm Regards,

John Irudhaya Raj. M
Front Office Manager
Email: fom@deccanhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.5 mi away
Raj Park Chennai
Raj Park Chennai
#81 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Sabari
Quality Inn Sabari
#61 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#37 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
542 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Park Chennai
The Park Chennai
#47 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,525 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ambica Empire
Ambica Empire
#131 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regenta Central Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regenta Central Deccan

Property: Regenta Central Deccan
Address: 36 Royapettah High Road, Chennai (Madras) 600014, India (Formerly Deccan Plaza Hotels)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regenta Central Deccan 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regenta Central Deccan is a unique, excellently appointed hotel situated in perhaps the most central part of the sprawling city of Chennai. The hotel is very close to US Consulate,The hotel offers an excellent vantage point for holiday, business or professional stay. With 93 well-appointed rooms' spreads on 9 floors, courteous staff with well-known southern hospitality and one restaurant with delicious, fresh food, Deccan will make your stay as comfortable and memorable one. Banquet and convention Banquet and convention halls are Ajanta, Ellora, Royal, Majestic and Designate Board Room magnificently designed banquet halls and a board room with seating capacities ranging from 15 to 1000 pax. Acoustically excellent designs, with lavishly appointed interiors, Deccan has held several noteworthy events in these halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regenta Central Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Deccan Plaza Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Chennai Days Inn
Deccan Plaza Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing