We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oasis of Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #23 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Oasis of Calm”
Reviewed September 9, 2007

I stayed at this property 2 times in August and September, 2007. I stayed one night off the Club Floor and recommend the Club Floors on 17 and 18th floors. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed..beautiful wood, marble floors, refrigerators, hot water brewers, etc. The Club Floor Lounge and Restaurant are great and the breakfast is included. Ditto for the free, or included, round-trip transfer with the hotel car and driver from the airport. I used the hotel cars for day excursions. Car and drivers were excellent and reasonably priced. Southern Aromas restaurant is superb. Room Service was timely and tasty. I highly recommend the Club Floor which is only a small extra charge to the standard room. All, in all, an excellent value and a friendly hotel staff.
Katherine

  • Liked — Small, friendly, super clean with great staff...quiet oasis in busy Chennai
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mauiseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    354
    82
    22
    24
See reviews for
199
92
77
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Chennai is fast expanding south Indian city- the economy is doing well, we saw very few beggars. But the traffic, noise and pollution are really, really bad! The Residency Towers is in a really busy area, but is a haven form all the bustle. We found it clean, cool. The room was spacious, good beds, nice marbled bathroom. Efficient maid and laundry service. Very polite staff, helpful.
The breakfast buffet (included) is awesome!. There are 3 restaurants, we tried two- avoided the "Indo-Western" one. The Southern Aromas restaurant served very tasty food in a typical south Indian style. It maybe expensive by Indian standards, but there seemed to be a big crowd of local people (not staying at the hotel) who came in for lunch and dinner. We did not like to the loud music (rap style) coming from the second floor bar. I visited the bar, would avoid it. Dark, over-airconditioned and noisy. If you walk out of the hotel you are in raw& real India immediately! Can get an auto-rickshaw to go anywhere, if you are not the nervous sort.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IyerRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We stayed at Residency Towers, Chennai in early Feb 2007. We found it to be a haven in the madness that is Chennai!

The room (on the 23rd floor) was a good size - not overly cramped like some hotel rooms can be. The bathroom was clean and a good selection of toiletries provided.

We had a view of the road roundabout from our window - it was entertaining watching the traffic, especially at peak hour...amazing how the cars managed to dodge each other.

The front desk was always seemed to be busy while we were there. Despite this, the staff were patient. We witnessed one of the guests being extremely short with one of the staff but she managed to maintain her calm and stay polite.

Other staff (porters, tour desk, concierge) were all helpful and extremely courteous.

Breakfast was sumptuous. Amazing variety and delicious - especially the South Indian cuisine.

We had dinner at the in-house Southern Aromas restaurant on two occasions and immensely enjoyed the food both times. The maitre'd was very friendly - suggesting dishes that we'd enjoy. I thought it was a lovely gesture that they provide a string of jasmine for female diners to put in their hair. Service at the restaurant was prompt.

The Residency Towers is in a good location - not very far from the main shopping district.

All in all, I'd say it was a satisfactory stay...very good value. A big thumbs up!

  • Liked — location, food at Southern Aromas, breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We decided upon this hotel because of the good value rates and the good reviews on TA.

Unfortunately we were far from impressed by the service that we received; given the other reviews on TA, this may simply have been an unfortunate catologue of problems, however it seemed to us that the hotel was disorgansied (to be fair, possibly because they were busy with the womens cricket world cup).

When we arrived the hotel said that they only had a reservation for one person and that we had a single room, when I queried this and showed them the confirmation from the travel agent they went away to find their paperwork. The travel agent's confirmation tot he hotel clearly stated that the reservation was for two people. However, the hotel said that they did not have more double Club rooms and that we would have to have the single or a standard room.

After lengthy discussiosn we were assured that a double Club room had been found, though when we got to it it was had a very small double bed. We contactd reception who accepted that they had put us into the single room and that if we went out for the day they hoped to find us a double room (not very reassuring).

When we returned the hotel had found us a double Club room and we wre moved, though there were a few issues with the room (window open and unable to close until eventually resolved).

On the second day I called the business centre to ask what time they remained open until so that I could use the internet to perform on line check in for my flight, which was in the early hours of the enxt day. I was told that I would be able to use the internet until midnight. Having had dinner I went to use the internet (approx 10 pm) to be told that the business centre was not open. I asked if, in light of the previous assurances I could use a computer and was told no. I asked if there was somewhere locally , though was told there was not. Only after speaking to the manager was I allowed five minutes on the internet.

On checking out we were given a bill despite having pre-paid (which the hotel's own paperwork confirmed), additionally we were charged an additioanl fee for the 'additioanl' person in the room. Eventually the hotel accepted that they had been paid by the Travel Agent, though would not relent on the 'additioanl person'. Given that we had to reach the airport we had to pay it - leaving a very sour taste in our mouths.

On return I contacted the travel agent who assured us that they had paid (having requested) for two people. In light of the hotel's (erroneous) approach to the single / double occupancy issue on arrival I think it certain that the fault lay with the hotel and not the travel agent (Nivalink), who provided excellent service throghout our trip to India.

Sorry to go on for so long, anyway the rooms; the Club room was very comfortable, though quite old fashioned.

The Club Residency Lounge was a nice place to have breakfast and a drink (overlooking the city).

  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

A fine quality hotel in a good central location. I paid about £60 per night for double room overlooking the pool. Clean and comfortable and a choice of decent restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdpeanuts2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

In a city where star-hotel prices seem a little over the top, The Residency Towers is worth every rupee. Its right next to the super expensive GRT and is actually a better place to stay. Most attractive is their 24hr checkout, which means u get to stay for the whole day that you pay as opposed to getting conned into having to pay more regarless of when you check in. Also, its rather kitch with its art-deco features and there is a 24hr cafe that serves fantastic South Indian coffee. Fingers crossed that they dont rise their prices soon!

  • Liked — 24hr check out
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dudandrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

My husband and me (both 25) stayed at this hotel for one week at the beginning of December. We had a wonderful and pleasant stay!!
The hotel was very nice and new!! Very kind staff!!!
The room (a contemporary standard room on the 11th floor) was big, clean and well furnished. Its bath even had shower panel to separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom (which it’s not common in Indian hotels)!
I must tell you that in the moment you book, you can choose the kind of standard room you want: Victorian decoration, Elegant decoration or Contemporary decoration (all at the same prize, it depends on what you like more). There are also suites, of course.

The restaurants:
- Main Street is a buffet wonderful for having breakfast, which is our case was included in the price. You could have Indian breakfast or continental breakfast: we even ordered fried eggs!! For the rest of the meals you can also go to this buffet and have lunch or dinner at a good price-quality value.
- The Crown is a high quality restaurant on the roof-top of the hotel (floor 20th), where you can have dinner in a big and nice terrasse while somebody plays the piano for the guests. Wonderful!! Don’t miss the chance to eat there! Indian and continental food: you can find non-spicy meals!! Very good price-quality value! You need to book in advanced (if the reservation is for 2, the same day in the morning will be enough)!
- Bike & Barrel is another restaurant which also operates as a bar during the day (even during the night). You can have there all kind of meals, even Mexican (but in the Indian way!). You can also find non-spicy food.
- The Southern Aromas is a tipycal Indian vegetarian restaurant but we didn’t try it.

The room service:
At any time, you can order food from your room at a cheap price (I meant, comparing to prices you are charged in Europe for this kind of services). You can even order meals that are not in the menu you will find in your room. Service is very kind and educated.

Drinks:
Advice 1: Beer bottles are 600 mL
Advice 2: Eventhough food is much cheaper than in Europe, alcoholic drinks are as expensive as in Europe or more.

Swimming pool:
Always perfect and clean. Use for free. There was nobody during its opening hours because the hotels seems to be more oriented to business guest and of course, they have no time to go to the swimming pool during the day!

The regret: The travel office in the hotel. They try to steal you the money for a taxi all the time and they try to take advantatge of your hurry! Just get the phone number of the company “Fast Track” at the reception, order a taxi and you will have it on time and at a good price!

We would repeat our experience in Residency Towers for sure!!! Best hotel in Town also in opinion of our Indian friends residents in Chennai!

  • Liked — All
  • Disliked — the travel office:: they try steal you more money than necessary when you book a taxi
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Elna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#39 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
547 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
888 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#26 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Property: The Residency Towers
Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai
Residency Tower Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing