We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #23 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I spent one night at the Residency Tower and it is a decent business hotel. Apparently there are two types of rooms... older & modern. We requested a more modern room and it had all the comforts one expects from a business hotel. The room is decently sized and outside of the bed, has a seating area and desk. The bathroom is modern and comes with all the amenities one needs.

Good value for money when traveling on business.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    345
    77
    21
    23
See reviews for
188
88
75
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I have made frequent visits to Chennai since last 20 years. However, the recent visit from 5 Jul and 13 Jul 13 would be the most enjoyable and pleasant stay. This is all because we stayed in "The Residency Towers" in Chennai.

Right from the top management to the bell boy, each and everyone in the hotel were so courteous, helpful, approachable, humble and above all, they were always full of smile. Our initial plan was to travel to other parts of India but the comfort, coziness, and the service rendered by the hotel were simply great that we decided to stay in the hotel for the entire trip just relaxing.

All the staff in the hotel were extremely good but there were 3 who out-shined and made our stay great. They are Pravin, the Associate Manager, Kumaraswamy at the banquet, Gabriel the Supervisor. They were at our service at split of seconds whenever we required any kind of help.

My family and I have decided that "The Residency Towers" in Chennai will be our permanent Residence whenever we land in Chennai.

Keep up your great service.

Vijayeswari Vijanarayan

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vvijay0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My Team and I are delighted to read your extremely positive review of 'The Residency Towers' Hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have conveyed your compliments to my colleagues and they are pleased to receive this recognition.

We appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am not sure about the rooms and stay about the Residency towers. I hope it is good from what I have heard of from my friends. However, this review is about the restaurant called Main Street in Residency Towers.

We planned for team dinner and first came in my mind is Residency Towers Main Street. When I called them to book for dinner, the restaurant manager told me that they wont accept booking if the number of people is more than 20 so he suggested me to take banquet hall for us since we are around 50 people. The problem in booking banquet hall is that we need to pay extra tax and the food menu is very limited. I tried to convince them to book tables in main restaurant but they were not willing to book and keep insisting to get banquet hall. :(

Being a five star hotel and having that big restaurant am not sure why they are not taking booking for 50 people. I was very much disappointed and decided to go with some other restaurants in the city.

I searched for some email or contact person (higher level) but their website doesnt have contact information at all. Very bad.

Conclusion: If you are looking for team or family get together or dinner in Main street and if you are more than 20 people, you better go for some other restaurants or you will end up in paying more money for very limited food menu.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PrabuShanmugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Mr.Shanmugam,

We refer to your review on the 'Main Street' posted on Trip Advisor.

At the Main Street, we have placed a cap on large groups, as we have earlier received negative feedback from fellow diners as well as encountered operational difficulties. In view of these constraints we recommend the banquet halls for groups over 25 guests.

Our website has the hotel contact details and mails addressed to the General Manager and are responded to within the hour.

I do hope we would have the pleasure of your return. Kindly feel free to contact me for any assistance.

With Best Regards

Amit Parashar
Sr.F N B Manager
cell: 7401201771
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

very convenient, good location, near shopping and all. Rooms are reasonable, food is excellent and service fair enough. Surprisingly you do not get Taxi at the Hotel gate, learnt it hard way when trying to get back to the Airport, learnt that you should have booked some Taxi operator well in advance or you take Hotel drop services which is about 5 times to cost of usual taxi (1500 Rs. for a 300 Rs. usual fare)

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I would like to thank you for your positive review of 'The Residency Towers' on Trip Advisor.

The public taxi services in Chennai are available only at the airport / train station and in the alternative, would be requesting the hotel reception for a private taxi which can be arranged from 'Fast Track' with a notice period of 60 minutes.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirunelveli, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Awesome place for a Romantic & Warm evening for one who wants to gift their loved one.

Service & Staff were very courteous & helpful & Well trained & professional

One must never miss this wonderful place

Room Tip: ask for Deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinaysenthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My 1st trip to Chennai and it was truly wonderful! I had gone with two other girlfriends. It was a short 3 nites 4 days trip and honestly wish we had more time. The last 2 days we spent at this hotel. Its a good hotel with fantastic location. Breakfast spread...the south indian platters were amazing! So much so that we called up the chef for his tips on making the Kichiri dish. Dosas and idlies were good, sponge soft and simply wunda-bar. There is also a disco/lounge if you like,however we decided to skip it. The only set back would be the mossy smell of the carpet. The bathroom was lovely and spacious. Would I go back...for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for posting such a wonderful review of The Residency Towers Hotel on Trip Advisor. My team appreciates your support and generosity.

I have briefed the Hotel Housekeeper on your observations and we are taking corrective measures.

We look forward to your support.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

my husband and i recently stayed at this property, we found the staff to be a breath of fresh air with their outstanding customer service and attention to detail.The room and the facilities definately provide everything for a comfortable and relaxing stay. The breakfast was fantastic and we definately did not go hungry, also the atmosphere and our meal in the restaurant was a lovely experience.we will definately return to this Hotel if were are to return in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Property: The Residency Towers
Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Chennai
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing