We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "closet" 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #23 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A "closet" 5-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Chennai's Residency Towers has comfortable rooms,excellent restaurants and a watering hole for travellers to swap stories in a friendly ambience.Combine that with a great gym and bookstore and you have a 5-star experience where you dont expect it.Which is way better than 4-star (or worse) service at a declared 5-star facility. There are "covert" 5-stars just as there are overt 5-stars,and the Towers ( dont forget the rooftop restaurant) qualifies. The south of India is in its distinctive culture refined but understated,and this hotel fits into such a chemistry

Room Tip: Get a room with a view,it's grand at night when the dust and bustle get covered up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    345
    77
    21
    23
See reviews for
188
88
75
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good points -- Very neat rooms, warm people, free wifi. They do serve a delicious south indian thali(room service)access to gym/pool and 24/7 restaurant is a plus.

Not so good -- Unfortunately, the hotel has a weird, old building stink!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuradha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on 'Trip Advisor'

I have made a note on your feedback and have briefed the Hotel House Keeper on your observations and we are taking corrective measures.

Please do accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

We thank you for your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

locational advantages... walk to all kinds of shopping on the pondy bazar, drive to airport in 20 min, walk to a suburban train or a local bu service.
Value for money: Wonderful ambiance, good food, courteous staff, lovely banquiets and an inviting bar

Room Tip: Choose the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location is good; some small shopping area are there nearby in walking distance; you'd have KFC and Pizza Hut in very near walking distance, specially in case when you are in a dilemma about food and you don't want to experiment; as it happened with us. The room size, furniture, wi-fi, amenities, AC, ambience, toilet facility, etc were okay. We asked for non-smoking floor and we got one. We ordered room service for lunch one day; the food was tasty, price was justified, good quantity, nicely presented; further the Room Service helped us a lot over phone while deciding what to order. Breakfast range of food was very very good. But the timing starts from 7am which should have been from 6am or from 630am as we have seen in many other hotels abroad; the day we were leaving for home in the morning & we were in a hurry to start for airport, we appeared dot on time at 7am in the breakfast hall, whereas we found them to be assorting different breakfast items till 730-745 am! That was quite surprising, as we found in other hotels in many other countries that when they start breakfast they start in complete preparation. The hotel has 24 hour check-in & check-out facility, which is good. But the evening we arrived, the receptionist kept us waiting for approx 20-25 minutes before the room was ready (we gave booking through agoda.com). This wait was really annoying for us. This hotel is quite busy and popular as it seemed to us, but that shouldn't make them let boarders wait too long for check-in! Another thing I must mention here, is DO NOT TAKE HOTEL TAXI. On the second day of our visit we went to a nearby place just besides City Centre; and we were in a hurry hence took hotel taxi which cost us Rs 580; whereas while coming back from that place we phoned for taxi (NTK Taxi Service), which ran on meter & took Rs 120 back to hotel! We knew Hotel Taxi to be expensive but we didn't expect it to be that expensive! The Hotel's walk-way for exit and entry was not actually right for walk. Since the hotel is situated higher than road level, it had drive ways which slant up to the hotel on one side and goes down to the road on the other side; plus they were made of cobble stones. So, when we were walking down in the evenings for window shopping and dinner; we, specially I faced fall risk and found it difficult to walk down & up. However, overall I would say this hotel is value for money.

Room Tip: Take non-smoking floor which starts from 11th floor onwards to top
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for posting your constructive review on 'Trip Advisor'.

I have taken corrective measures on the issues highlighted. Please do accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is good. I stayed in a club room, and although the furniture looks a bit old the room was clean. The aircon is very strong which is nice since Chennai's temperature outside is a hot 36 degrees C. Free wifi is available in the room and throughout the hotel although when I was there on 17th April their server was down the whole day.

There is a good spread for the buffet breakfast including western and local Indian dishes.

I had booked through booking.com and the club room benefit comes with 2 way airport transfers.
However when I checked out the receptionist told me that it was only free for 1 way. After showing her the print out from booking.com and some insistence she gave me the complimentary
airport transfer.

All in not a bad option to stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118_Sunny_118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and posting your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindly accept my apologies for the non availability of the Internet on April 17th and the mix up on the airport transfers.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Chennai on Business and stayed there for 2 nights. The overall stay was quite comfortable. Here are the highlights.

Room - Excellent. No complaints.

Ambience - Old world charm. Nice and quiet.

Decor - Gothic, detailed, old world .... impressive.

Staff - Service oriented and smiling.

Location - Very good .. in T Nagar.

Restaurant - Good. Nice Buffet spread.

Pool - Nice and relaxing.

Cleanliness - Spot on.

I mean ... what more do you want. For a nice, quiet and comfortable stay you can book this hotel in Chennai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

12 Ladies had come in , we took our seats & the waiter tells us the time we are supposed to leave ...ridiculous ....IT ook half hr to clear the table & one hour to serve water ....as they were Sold out for dinner ...The Shameful part was not one table was occupied for Dinner . Since we were embarrassed we went to BIKES & Barrels ...we were clickiing pictures & from no where a Waiter comes & pull our phone from the Hand ...SHAME ON THE WAY YOU HAVE TREATED A LADY !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanyakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for highlighting your concern during your recent visit to the Main Street.

We have taken immediate corrective measures to ensure lapses do not reoccur.

On behalf of my team kindly accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

Regards
Amit Parashar
F&B Manager
7401201771
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Property: The Residency Towers
Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Chennai
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing