We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything in your hand's reach @ Residency Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #25 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything in your hand's reach @ Residency Towers”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

locational advantages... walk to all kinds of shopping on the pondy bazar, drive to airport in 20 min, walk to a suburban train or a local bu service.
Value for money: Wonderful ambiance, good food, courteous staff, lovely banquiets and an inviting bar

Room Tip: Choose the pool side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    351
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
197
90
76
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location is good; some small shopping area are there nearby in walking distance; you'd have KFC and Pizza Hut in very near walking distance, specially in case when you are in a dilemma about food and you don't want to experiment; as it happened with us. The room size, furniture, wi-fi, amenities, AC, ambience, toilet facility, etc were okay. We asked for non-smoking floor and we got one. We ordered room service for lunch one day; the food was tasty, price was justified, good quantity, nicely presented; further the Room Service helped us a lot over phone while deciding what to order. Breakfast range of food was very very good. But the timing starts from 7am which should have been from 6am or from 630am as we have seen in many other hotels abroad; the day we were leaving for home in the morning & we were in a hurry to start for airport, we appeared dot on time at 7am in the breakfast hall, whereas we found them to be assorting different breakfast items till 730-745 am! That was quite surprising, as we found in other hotels in many other countries that when they start breakfast they start in complete preparation. The hotel has 24 hour check-in & check-out facility, which is good. But the evening we arrived, the receptionist kept us waiting for approx 20-25 minutes before the room was ready (we gave booking through agoda.com). This wait was really annoying for us. This hotel is quite busy and popular as it seemed to us, but that shouldn't make them let boarders wait too long for check-in! Another thing I must mention here, is DO NOT TAKE HOTEL TAXI. On the second day of our visit we went to a nearby place just besides City Centre; and we were in a hurry hence took hotel taxi which cost us Rs 580; whereas while coming back from that place we phoned for taxi (NTK Taxi Service), which ran on meter & took Rs 120 back to hotel! We knew Hotel Taxi to be expensive but we didn't expect it to be that expensive! The Hotel's walk-way for exit and entry was not actually right for walk. Since the hotel is situated higher than road level, it had drive ways which slant up to the hotel on one side and goes down to the road on the other side; plus they were made of cobble stones. So, when we were walking down in the evenings for window shopping and dinner; we, specially I faced fall risk and found it difficult to walk down & up. However, overall I would say this hotel is value for money.

Room Tip: Take non-smoking floor which starts from 11th floor onwards to top
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shagufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for posting your constructive review on 'Trip Advisor'.

I have taken corrective measures on the issues highlighted. Please do accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is good. I stayed in a club room, and although the furniture looks a bit old the room was clean. The aircon is very strong which is nice since Chennai's temperature outside is a hot 36 degrees C. Free wifi is available in the room and throughout the hotel although when I was there on 17th April their server was down the whole day.

There is a good spread for the buffet breakfast including western and local Indian dishes.

I had booked through booking.com and the club room benefit comes with 2 way airport transfers.
However when I checked out the receptionist told me that it was only free for 1 way. After showing her the print out from booking.com and some insistence she gave me the complimentary
airport transfer.

All in not a bad option to stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 118_Sunny_118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and posting your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindly accept my apologies for the non availability of the Internet on April 17th and the mix up on the airport transfers.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Chennai on Business and stayed there for 2 nights. The overall stay was quite comfortable. Here are the highlights.

Room - Excellent. No complaints.

Ambience - Old world charm. Nice and quiet.

Decor - Gothic, detailed, old world .... impressive.

Staff - Service oriented and smiling.

Location - Very good .. in T Nagar.

Restaurant - Good. Nice Buffet spread.

Pool - Nice and relaxing.

Cleanliness - Spot on.

I mean ... what more do you want. For a nice, quiet and comfortable stay you can book this hotel in Chennai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

12 Ladies had come in , we took our seats & the waiter tells us the time we are supposed to leave ...ridiculous ....IT ook half hr to clear the table & one hour to serve water ....as they were Sold out for dinner ...The Shameful part was not one table was occupied for Dinner . Since we were embarrassed we went to BIKES & Barrels ...we were clickiing pictures & from no where a Waiter comes & pull our phone from the Hand ...SHAME ON THE WAY YOU HAVE TREATED A LADY !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tanyakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for highlighting your concern during your recent visit to the Main Street.

We have taken immediate corrective measures to ensure lapses do not reoccur.

On behalf of my team kindly accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

Regards
Amit Parashar
F&B Manager
7401201771
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been to their Very Famous Bike & Barrel -Pub 5 Years ago, what a wonderful Place It was..
Service was fantastic,Ambience was Great ,Food was very Good,
i Had Visited this Place on April 2013 , What a shabby it is Now, Terrible Maintenance Of the Place ,Poor Quality of Service & Food ,U could See a Total Dip of Entire Service,
Management Should Seriously Think About Their Property, Looking at other Competitiors, they should wake up..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saxenapune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

With ref. to your review on BnB.. we wish to make a clarification. We have always permitted our valued guests to use their cameras.. in fact very often our service team members are requested by guests to take their photographs and we always obliged.

I have investigated your complaints and your photographer friend was not stopped from taking photographs but only requested to step down from the sofa she was standing on... there was obviously some communication gap due to the background music.

At the BnB as in the entire hotel we follow stringent Maintenance / House keeping standards and hence, I am surprised at your feedback. I have all the same asked the hotel Housekeeper to look into your concerns, kindly feel free to call me for any further clarifications.

Yours sincerely

F&B Manager
Amit Parashar
7401201771
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, having been in Havelock Island for a month we decided to splash out on a little luxury in Chennai. The hotel is perfect location to the main part of the city of Chennai, about 30/40mins from the airport. It was very very grand, marble everywhere, absolutely beautiul craftmanship in this building. It offers 24/7 check in and out which is great because our flight was departing Chennai 04:00, hotel arranged our transfer to airport for us. The rooms are very grand and the bed soooo comfortable. The staff were very friendly enquiring about our time spent in India and speaking with us which was really nice! They were helpful when asking for directions to places etc.

There is room service, wake up calls, spa, gym and swimming pool (although make note that you are required to wear a full swimming costume in the pool not bikinis) however seeing as the pool was empty they did still allow me to use the pool. You get the sun on the pool during the day and there's very comfortable big bed loungers with hoods you can put up to protect you from the wind and to get some shade.

Great views over Chennai. Food was not spectacular but amazing they serve Beef!!! Also note that there is all kinds of taxes you pay, VAT, tax at 4.95% and then luxury tax also so the bill can add up!

Would definately recommend if your looking for luxury in the middle of a very busy and hectic city!! Would have loved to have stayed here for a few more days!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#39 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
542 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,126 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#31 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
863 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,165 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Property: The Residency Towers
Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai
Residency Tower Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing