We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is good. I stayed in a club room, and although the furniture looks a bit old the room was clean. The aircon is very strong which is nice since Chennai's temperature outside is a hot 36 degrees C. Free wifi is available in the room and throughout the hotel although when I was there on 17th April their server was down the whole day.

There is a good spread for the buffet breakfast including western and local Indian dishes.

I had booked through booking.com and the club room benefit comes with 2 way airport transfers.
However when I checked out the receptionist told me that it was only free for 1 way. After showing her the print out from booking.com and some insistence she gave me the complimentary
airport transfer.

All in not a bad option to stay in Chennai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 118_Sunny_118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and posting your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kindly accept my apologies for the non availability of the Internet on April 17th and the mix up on the airport transfers.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

648 - 654 of 940 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was in Chennai on Business and stayed there for 2 nights. The overall stay was quite comfortable. Here are the highlights.

Room - Excellent. No complaints.

Ambience - Old world charm. Nice and quiet.

Decor - Gothic, detailed, old world .... impressive.

Staff - Service oriented and smiling.

Location - Very good .. in T Nagar.

Restaurant - Good. Nice Buffet spread.

Pool - Nice and relaxing.

Cleanliness - Spot on.

I mean ... what more do you want. For a nice, quiet and comfortable stay you can book this hotel in Chennai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

April 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

12 Ladies had come in , we took our seats & the waiter tells us the time we are supposed to leave ...ridiculous ....IT ook half hr to clear the table & one hour to serve water ....as they were Sold out for dinner ...The Shameful part was not one table was occupied for Dinner . Since we were embarrassed we went to BIKES & Barrels ...we were clickiing pictures & from no where a Waiter comes & pull our phone from the Hand ...SHAME ON THE WAY YOU HAVE TREATED A LADY !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tanyakot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for highlighting your concern during your recent visit to the Main Street.

We have taken immediate corrective measures to ensure lapses do not reoccur.

On behalf of my team kindly accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

Regards
Amit Parashar
F&B Manager
7401201771

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been to their Very Famous Bike & Barrel -Pub 5 Years ago, what a wonderful Place It was..
Service was fantastic,Ambience was Great ,Food was very Good,
i Had Visited this Place on April 2013 , What a shabby it is Now, Terrible Maintenance Of the Place ,Poor Quality of Service & Food ,U could See a Total Dip of Entire Service,
Management Should Seriously Think About Their Property, Looking at other Competitiors, they should wake up..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saxenapune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

With ref. to your review on BnB.. we wish to make a clarification. We have always permitted our valued guests to use their cameras.. in fact very often our service team members are requested by guests to take their photographs and we always obliged.

I have investigated your complaints and your photographer friend was not stopped from taking photographs but only requested to step down from the sofa she was standing on... there was obviously some communication gap due to the background music.

At the BnB as in the entire hotel we follow stringent Maintenance / House keeping standards and hence, I am surprised at your feedback. I have all the same asked the hotel Housekeeper to look into your concerns, kindly feel free to call me for any further clarifications.

Yours sincerely

F&B Manager
Amit Parashar
7401201771

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, having been in Havelock Island for a month we decided to splash out on a little luxury in Chennai. The hotel is perfect location to the main part of the city of Chennai, about 30/40mins from the airport. It was very very grand, marble everywhere, absolutely beautiul craftmanship in this building. It offers 24/7 check in and out which is great because our flight was departing Chennai 04:00, hotel arranged our transfer to airport for us. The rooms are very grand and the bed soooo comfortable. The staff were very friendly enquiring about our time spent in India and speaking with us which was really nice! They were helpful when asking for directions to places etc.

There is room service, wake up calls, spa, gym and swimming pool (although make note that you are required to wear a full swimming costume in the pool not bikinis) however seeing as the pool was empty they did still allow me to use the pool. You get the sun on the pool during the day and there's very comfortable big bed loungers with hoods you can put up to protect you from the wind and to get some shade.

Great views over Chennai. Food was not spectacular but amazing they serve Beef!!! Also note that there is all kinds of taxes you pay, VAT, tax at 4.95% and then luxury tax also so the bill can add up!

Would definately recommend if your looking for luxury in the middle of a very busy and hectic city!! Would have loved to have stayed here for a few more days!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VixandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at the Residency Towers and perhaps I was more impressed the first time around. Everything was excellent - the staff, the cleanliness, the facilities and the breakfast buffet. It's located right near Pondi Bazaar and the sari shops in T Nagar. My only reason for downgrading to a 4-star review was my disappointment on checking out to find that they had charged me for an extra bed in our room (the room only had a small bed), when I had specifically booked a twin share room and was quoted a price months in advance. Fortunately though, they removed that charge when I took up the issue with them although I felt it was inappropriate to be charged like that in the first place. Otherwise, I definitely recommend this hotel for comfortable, reliable and clean accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nivedha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time and posting your valuable feedback on our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have briefed the Front Desk Manager on the issue highlighted and we are taking corrective measures. Kindly accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

We appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This Hotel is centrally located in Chennai. It is rerasonably proces Star Hotel. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The service is very good. Best thing about this hotel is it offers 24 hours check out. The staff in this hotel are very courteous and well informed. The food served across various restaurants are very delicious. They have a restaurant called main street, South Indian Restaurant called Southern Aroma and a roof top restaurant called Crown. The best place to have dinner is in the open in the roof top and you can see city landscape. The Director of this Hotel Mr Roop Chadda comes across as an extremely warm person and demonstrates hospitality. The only problem you may find here is mosquitos in the reception and the parking area in the evening.

Room Tip: Choose Club Room and you get complimentary airport transfers (worth about Rs.2,500)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adithyanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time and posting your positive & valuable feedback on our hotel in Trip Advisor.

We have taken corrective measures to combat the presence of mosquitoes in the hotel.

My team and I appreciate your compliments and we thank you for your support.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#26 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
622 reviews
T. Nagar
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
990 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#17 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,352 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
1,074 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > T. Nagar , Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $80 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Chennai
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing