We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent room, delicious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residency Towers
Ranked #25 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent room, delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

A superlative stay on our first night back in India! Check-in and reception was a little slow, but the room was so clean, spacious, and well appointed that a little tardiness was easy to overlook. The shower was precisely the right temperature and pressure.
After a great sleep on the comfortable bed and quality linen, we enjoyed the huge variety of Indian cuisine on offer at breakfast.
Staff were attentive to our needs and helpful in advising us where to buy Indian sim cards.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    346
    77
    21
    23
See reviews for
188
89
75
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights from 15 Dec and there were 10 of us. Another 5 joined on 22 Dec. What can I say? Great hotel with great service all around. We had some who were Jain and the restaurant went out of the way to have some Jain food for us daily at breakfast. We hosted a family dinner at the ballroom on Sat, 22 Dec and it was executed so very well. We experienced excellent hospitality from the Concierge, Front Desk, Banquets, Breakfast and Bars. Special commendation to the following staffs who made our stay memorable - Chef Sasi / Saravanan, Service Staffs Barani, De Souza, Front Office - Mahesh, Suresh, Sales & Banquet - Prabhakar, Pradeep, Concierge - Gabriel, Anthony, Nagaraj - Thank you all :) It was our first time at Residency and it was certainly an awesome experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Residency Towers is an excellent hotel with fantastic facilities and very helpful staff.

I stayed here for three nights after vacating my previous hotel early (as it was terrible). So I was delighted to find the Residency to be such a good hotel.

The swimming pool is good as is the bar on the first floor (the bike and barrel). The food in the hotel restaurant was good too.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. While it is a bit pricey, you certainly get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3nights. The hotel is not too far from the airport and offers shuttle service for about r 900. It is also quite close to tourist destinations like mylapor and marina beach.

Rooms are really comfortable and the bathroom pretty spacious. I liked the soap and shampoo they provide. The design of the room is quite nice as the one we stayed in has a Victorian theme. Their other rooms are quite nice too from the website and they are reflective of the actual room. The only complain I had was the light switch as it gets sticky. When that happens, the switches dont work. We encountered some problems with them but the hotel service was really good to rectify it. Dont get alarmed if the lights suddenly turn on by itself.

The overall service was really good as staff responded quick to requests. The tour desk downstairs offers good packages too, go to Mahabalipuram, its about 2hours away. And best of all, the different restaurants in the hotel offer really good food at affordable prices. And one of them is 24 hours. Oh, and the hotel also has a 24 hour check in service meaning you can arrive at anytime.

Awesome hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking your time and posting such a fabulous review of our hotel, The Residency Towers on Trip Advisor.

I have noted your observations on the room switches and we are taking corrective measures. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced.

I appreciate your support and look forward to your return.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Residency Towers in Chennai for ten nights in December 2012. The standard of service is excellent. All staff were wonderful. The hotel restaurants have extensive menus and the food is of a very standard. My friends and I had wonderful experiences at all restaurants, particularly the Club restaurant and the Southern Aromas, Southern Indian restaurant. The counter staff and the concierge and travel desk staff were also very helpful. The household and laundry staff were also wonderful. And the smiles were impressive. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. This was my second stay at the Residency Towers and I will definitely return. I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, select one of the executive rooms. This comes with a free breakfast in the Cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed there for 2 days during Christmas with my family and it was just fantastic. The service was remarkable and staff were so kind. The breakfast was excellent and there were lot to choose from. The travel desk is bit expensive, but shouldn't complaint since most hotel of this class do the same.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vgsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We at ‘The Residency Towers’ truly value your positive feedback posted on Trip Advisor and we do hope you shall give us an opportunity to look after you on your future visits to Chennai.


ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sivakasi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for the new year. We stayed in the standard room and it was oh so spacious and pleasantly furnished. Wifi was excellent throughout the hotel and the food oh my god the food. Firstly the breakfast (main street) is the most comprehensive breakfast spread i have ever had and that includes 5 star hotels. The taste and quality in each item was superb. Hats off to the staff for helping out the customers even in a buffet. In addition i had dinner at southern aromas which was pretty good but liquor smell spoiled the ambience, still the food was excellent. Also had lunch at main street, was unable to stuff more than i could but i sooo wanted to eat more. The spread was that tempting. One last thing abt the food, i attended the new year gala dinner over there and they had everything from crabs, appam, pasta and etc. It was too good, again the best i have ever had.

Coming to the room quotient, i stayed in the 16th floor and stayed in a standard room since i didnt expect to be in the room for a long time. However the room was very spacious and quite fit to be called deluxe. In addition there is a nice touch by the hotel when wherever you call over the phone they attend your call by calling you by your name. Its a small touch but it adds to the overall experience. Room service was also top notch, they even sweetened the deal by not charging for milk since it was for my baby.

Overall it was an awesome stay with no negatives at all. If i was to nitpick then i guess i could say that there were no good facilities for the chauffeurs as i had to send my chauffer somewhere else to get ready for the day. Its not a deal breaker but it would be nice if they could offer minor facilities. Anyways Kudos to the entire team management. Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Choose higher rooms as they provide a nice view . . i stayed on the 16th floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giridharan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOWERSChennai, Manager at The Residency Towers, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time and posting your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I shall convey your compliments to my team.

I have noted your observations on the Southern Aromas and facilities for drivers and we are taking corrective measures.

I thank you for your support and look forward to your return.

Wishing you a Happy New Year.

With Warm Regards

ROOP CHADDA
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#13 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency Towers

Property: The Residency Towers
Address: 115 Sir Thyagaraya Road & North Boag Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Residency Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residency Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
The Residency Hotel
Residency Tower Chennai
Residency Tower Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing