We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Ranked #6 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in a busy city”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Wonderful and quiet hotel in a busy city.
The rooms are clean and comfortable.
The staff cannot do enough for you, at reception or in the restaurant.
The lady duty manager was a mine of information about Chennai.
Contrary to another statement, we arrived before check in time and the
staff gave us our room straight away because the hotel was not full.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanae54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    248
    41
    17
    6
See reviews for
122
127
87
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Hotel is a blend of amenities clubbed with good class service, An overall great experience. Everyone including the staff meeting you at the car wears a genuine smile, a rarity these days. Great eateries in the hotel. Classy Roof top restaurant, and more over the bearers at the Restaurants offer the right advice to the diners and ultimately good treat. Very classy hotel with elegant interiors. Very courteous and helpful staff. Good place to have business conferences. A good place to stay for the business traveller.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuriousJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I have stayed in Raintree Hotel in Chennai a number of times over the last few years, my last trip being in September 2010. Each time, I am struck by the very good quality of service, the room decor, cleanliness and facillities. The decor is trendy , stylish, understated and comfortable. The hotel also is eco-friendly and I like the fact that the hotel cares about the environment. I was travelling on work and the good room makes one relax after a long day at work. It offers good services for business travellers. The food in the room service was also very good and the service by the room service staff was friendly and warm. The housekeeping staff is also very efficient. Breakfast is served in the coffee shop at the lobby level with a wide variety for different palletes. Overall, a very good experience. I have stayed in other hotels in Chennai, but by far Raintree is the best. I wish they had similar hotels in other cities.

Renuka

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulcity14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The hotel is very good and the services are also very good. The buffet breakfast is very tasty. There are very good variety of Indian and Continantal food available in the buffet. The only thing I found miss is No Bath Tub in the Deluxe Room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitingupta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Raintree has everything a traveller needs. It is a great blend of comfort, amenities, and great service without being over the top. (The Sheraton is 2 blocks away if you want the grand hotel experience and the price that comes with it). I greatly enjoyed my stay here, in large measure because the staff is unfailingly accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentSmithDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I spent 8 days at the Raintree and was sad to be leaving. I was both staying and having meetings here for the week. The service was impeccable in all areas - banqueting, restaurants and housekeeping. I felt truly looked after. The food was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel to those travelling to Chennai. Thank you to everyone that made my first visit to India so comfortable and easy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London. UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Reading other reviews I was expecting an amazing experience. I stayed here 9 days on a business trip so got to know the hotel pretty well. Room was a decent size with lovely wood floors and a great bathroom. However, it always smelt slightly musty (as did other rooms) and some design aspects (such as tight spacing between desk and wall) were odd.

Rooftop bar and restaurant was the highlight, though choice got tired after a while and there aren't many that other places in the area to eat.

Staff were generally helpful but could be hit and miss at breakfast. Lastly and most weirdly I was presented with an interim bill because my account had grown so large. Bad move, as made me realise how much I was spending and prompted me to move somewhere cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,129 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,361 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
867 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
2,649 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Property: The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Address: 120 St. Marys Road | Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#38 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star hotel with 108 state-of-art rooms including 2 suites, swimming pool, gym and health spa. The best "Eco friendly" hotel in South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary`s Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Rain Tree Hotel
The Rain Tree Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing