We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel in Chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Ranked #4 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very good hotel in Chennai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed 12 days in the raintree Hotel in Chennai . We had a two weeks Yoga Session nearby in the Krishnamacharia Yoga Mandiram.
Everything in this Hotelbwas excellent, a very friendly staff, very good and clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Klausi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The Raintree St. Mary's Road, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that we were able to satisfy all your needs, Thank you for appreciating our service and staffs. It will motivate them to give a better service.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    241
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
117
125
85
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stopped here for one night for business.
Suite was superb although I didn't get a chance to use the jacuzzi bath - the huge shower was more than enough though.
After a hard day of meetings and then travelling from Bangalore to Chennai, I needed a good sleep and the bed didn't let me down.
Breakfast was fantastic the next morning and really set me up for the day.
Can't wait until I stop again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Jane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The Raintree St. Mary's Road, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to know that the like our beds the hotel also did not let you down for a good stay, and i hope next time when you visit Chennai, you should have some time to spend and enjoy all the facilities in the hotel.

Please let us know as when your next visit brings you to Chennai and we are ready to serve you.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was in Chennai to attend a conference in the Sheraton and it was booked. I asked the organizers for some suggestion and they suggested the RainTree Hotel nearby on St. Mary's Road. I was able to arrange an airport pickup and enjoyed my three day stay there.
The food on the Terrace hotel was excellent as was the ambiance watching the city from the rooftop.
Service from the staff was very helpful and cordial. Morning breakfast had a nice variety of continental and typical South Indian options.
Overall it was a great stay for me and I hope to return again for another trip soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syedms25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The Raintree St. Mary's Road, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Its good to know that you had a comfortable stay with us while you are on your business trip and have enjoyed our services, Thank you for appreciation our restaurants and services provided, I am very happy to know that you liked our breakfast spread specially the South Indian specialities. These appreciations will be passed on to all our staffs and they will be happy and motivated to give you a comfortable stay every time.

I once again Thank you for you great feedback and looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

If your around in chennai for a business travel and looking for a great value for your money then this is it... Rain Tree, Anna Salai is the one I like the most of the both St. Mark Road & Anna Salai one.

The Hotel is just located at the center,almost equal for both Airport & Railway station. The rooms are nice and spacious. Some times is has problem because for some insects, but it is very taken care. I got great deal as a corporate discount along a complimentary Breakfast, One way Airport Transfer.

The service is good and cleanliness is good and the of course the food is great...

Good job, well done team...

Room Tip: Take a Main Road side view Room for nice view for the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayShanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The Raintree St. Mary's Road, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I understand that you have used both our hotels and they both have different atmosphere and different types of room categories and restaurant options. When it comes to service, cleanliness, hospitality both the hotel does not compromise and our main aim is to keep the guest satisfaction at the top. As you have rightly mentioned we are closer to the Airport and railway station and spacious rooms.

Service, Cleanliness, Hospitality and Guest satisfaction are our key to success and we will strive to keep the standards up as always.

I once again Thank you for you great feedback and looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards.

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Could be the best placesnd service you will get on your trip through the south of India. And by staying here you contribute to setting the trend for ECO sensitive top end and mid-range accommodation that India do desperately needs. Let's see if they can make it even better as to go for a sustainable, 0 carbon emission accommodation

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuyuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The Raintree St. Mary's Road, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Its a great pleasure for us to to see our guests understands our initiative and involvement in the Eco friendly practices we are having in the hotel. We have been getting lot of appreciations towards this effort and we will strive to make every effort to make it even stronger and better to make our environment a very friendly and pleasant one. At the same time thank you very much for your appreciations for our services rendered to you while you were staying with us.

I once again Thank you and looking forward to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I haven't stayed at the Raintree although friends who have done so had nothing but rave reviews to share. I did visit their rooftop restaurant for dinner recently. What a delight! The restaurant is right by the pool and the lighting has been tastefully done to bring out an elegant feel. The views are terrific and there's nothing like a cool Chennai breeze at night as you sip one of their signature cocktails or mocktails. The food was fantastic although service was a bit slow. No complains since we were in no rush to leave our table anyway!

Room Tip: I think this is a better location than the busier Anna Salai property. Travellers will find this nei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikramts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The RAINTREE ST. MARYS ROAD, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for posting an excellent comment to talk about our roof top restaurant, We will share all the compliments with regards to the decor, feel and the food, At the same time we will take your comment on the slow service and will put some training in place to make some corrections there to make your next visit a perfect one.

We look forward to welcome you soon at The Raintree St. Marys Road, Chennai.

With Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

nice place in chennai for business meet , nice hospitality by ceebros group , the restarunt was amazing , and the bar too. The hotel has a nice roof top restaurant with a good view of Chennai . this hotel was located in heart of the chennai city

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArunRajD, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam ! !

I personally Thank you for choosing your stay with us at The RAINTREE ST. MARYS ROAD, Chennai and also taking your valuable time for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for posting an excellent comment to talk about our location and the restaurants. As rightly mentioned by you we are at the heart of chennai city and closer to almost any business offices in chennai. Also a place where you can have your business meets or client dinners.

We look forward to welcome you soon at The Raintree St. Marys Road, Chennai.

Regards,

Arun Raj. D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#6 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Property: The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Address: 120 St. Marys Road | Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#35 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star hotel with 108 state-of-art rooms including 2 suites, swimming pool, gym and health spa. The best "Eco friendly" hotel in South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary`s Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Rain Tree Hotel
The Rain Tree Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing