We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Ranked #5 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
“My Home Away from Home”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

what a wonderful experience I had! I stayed for a month there during the December Margazhi Season. Every bit of my stay was memorable. My Room was Mint Clean, and Always Well-made and kept welcoming. From the hot morning filter coffee (which I don't drink by the way) to the wafting aromas of the various exotic foods, such as Dosas, Idlis, Oothappams, Vadais and hot sambars and clean chutneys to so much more. The staff members are extra, extra special with their wide smiles and ever springing service-oriented mentality. I was a bit sick toward the end of my trip, and I remember feeling sorry for myself when the duty manager and the hotel doctor and so many walked in to attend to me and ask me questions like 'mother hens' and making sure that I had all the comfortable things I needed and wanted.

This was my best experience of a hotel. A place that makes itself personal and treats you like a family member. I will cherish this experience forever and will hopefully return and revive and relive all these experiences. Vishal_

Room Tip: Just go for the Deluxe Rooms and they are as good as the Club or Suites. For non-smokers they are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam !!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback on your experience at The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road. We are immensely pleased to learn that you had a successful December Margazhi Season in Chennai and enjoyed your stay with us. We much appreciate your recommendation of our hotel to other readers this gives us plenty to cheer about our efforts and services.

We are confident that you will continue to be a frequent stayer at The Raintree, St. Mary’s Road.
From all the team at the hotel we wish you a Happy New Year 2013.

Best Regards

RG

Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    253
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
127
127
91
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Absolutely loved the hotel. Great staff, nice rooms, and a rooftop swimming pool & restaurant with amazing food & staff. Perfect stay. On Christmas Eve we even had a complimentary lovely Christmas pudding delivered to our room. Very thoughtful. Only possible complaint was an uncomfortable mattress.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Vanakkam ! !

Thank you for choosing The RAINTREE, St. Mary's Road for your stay and spending your precious time in sharing your feedback on Trip Adivsor. It is so encouraging to receive such amazing compliments from you. I would most certainly share your feedback with our team members and we are confident that this will motivate them to stay focussed and consistent at all times.
we are concerned to note you did not like the comfort levels of the mattress in your room, it will be our endeavour to find a solution to this problem. May you think of any details on how it could be improved please do share on an email to me at gm.stmarys@raintreehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you soon at The Raintree, St. Mary's Road, Chennai.
From all the team at the hotel we wish you a Happy New Year 2013.

Best Regards

RG

Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were very excited to stay at The Rain Tree. Staff was very helpful, and the rooms were great. The food was also excellent. We were very satisfied with the breakfast buffet. It's unfortunate though that there was construction / drilling / repairs on going during our stay, as it really took away from the wonderful experience. I was woken up by hammering sounds... Also, I wanted to avail of the spa services but the spa is also under renovation. I also couldn't use the pool because it was being treated :( too bad. If not for these, I would have rated this hotel 5 stars.

Room Tip: I was a little disappointed with our double bed, which was just two beds put together. Ask for a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiMaiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam !

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at The Raintree, St. Mary's Road. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you stay with us.

It was quite unfortunate that you suffered when we were doing some upgradation of the hotel hot water pipelines and annual maintenance of the swimming pool we apologize that the stay did not meet your expectations.

We also regret that you were not given the options to use the Spa outside the hotel, as ours is non- functional. We would suggest our guests to use the Spa at our sister property which is a 10 minute car ride from the hotel the transfers cost are borne by us.

In closing we would urge you not to judge us solely based on your mixed experiences on this visit and look forward to welcome you back and make your stay a memorable one.

You may write to me at gm.stmarys@raintreehotels.com for your continued patronage of The Raintree, St. Mary's Road and I will personally facilitate your stay.

Best Regards,
RG
Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Chap Chay is the chinese-thai restaurant in Raintree Hotels. Recently we went for a family dinner there and the food was just awesome!! Their lotus shoot starters are really tasty and so are the dimsums. The thai food was spicier than we would've liked but the staff was very courteous and got the dishes moderated to our liking. Overall, pricing was as one would expect from a good restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Vanakkam !!

We are delighted with your review on Chap Choy our Asian Stir fry speciality restaurant at The Raintree St Mary's, your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate us to continue to deliver a high level of service. we are concerned that you were unable to choose the level of spice or chillies needed for the Thai dish you ordered and we will correct our process to ensure this preference is taken from our guests. Thank you once again for mentioning this for not your feedback we would not known of this issue.

Look forward to welcoming you back again at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's Road

Best Regards,
RG
Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 days during a recent business trip to Chennai.

This hotel had everything one would want in a business hotel
- clean modern rooms
- wifi
- restaurants within the hotel

But in addition to this the hotel service staff are extremely helpful. The Cable wasn't working and it was fixed in under 10 mins. Room service was prompt and even went the extra mile to make things that weren't on the Room Service menu.

There are 3 restaurants at the hotel which make it perfect to have a quick dinner after a long day.

Room Tip: At the Asian restaurant ensure you are clear the level of spicy you like as some of the food can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGJ1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
* Vanakkam !!

Appreciate very much the review you posted of your 3 day stay at The Raintree St Marys on Trip Advisor, we are much thrilled on learning of your enjoyable stay with us.

You have shown unmistakable benovalence to express to your happiness at the Cable on the in-room Television been corrected to your liking. we are extremely encouraged to know that we have delivered efficient service.

just in closing would like to add that in addition to the three restaurants that you mentioned we also have a great lounge and night club HAVANA which you could check out on your next stay as this place could be the perfect place to unwind, enjoy great food and beverages.

Wish you a fantastic year 2013 and look forward to see you soon at The Raintree, St. Mary's Road.

Best Regards,
RG
Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager


* Vanakkam !! means greetings in tamil language
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and really enjoyed it each time. The rooms are great, clean and comfortable. The staff are pleasant and helpful. the food in all of the restaurants is great - a super buffet for dinner, for example. However I reaaly enjoy the breakfasts - with a wonderful and large selection of items - a great start to the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajeshGM, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Vanakkam ! !

Thank you for choosing The RAINTREE, St. Mary's Road for your stay and spending your precious time in sharing your feedback on Trip Adivsor. It is so encouraging to receive such amazing compliments from you. I would most certainly share your feedback on our team's positive attitude with all our team members and we are confident that this will motivate them to stay focussed and consistent at all times.
Our concept on the Food has been to keep it fresh, simple and innovative. You are quite right in mentioning about the fabulous buffet spreads we do for our guests especially for Breakfast, especially keeping in view of the fact its the most important meal of the day and some of our guests do not eat outside during the day and come back in the evening to relish more from our restaurants.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon at The Raintree, St. Mary's Road, Chennai.
From all the team at the hotel we wish you a Happy New Year 2013.

Best Regards

RG

Rajesh Gopalakrishnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,154 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
999 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#6 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
905 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,776 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Property: The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Address: 120 St. Marys Road | Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#30 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star hotel with 108 state-of-art rooms including 2 suites, swimming pool, gym and health spa. The best "Eco friendly" hotel in South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary`s Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Rain Tree Hotel
The Rain Tree Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing