We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with over attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Ranked #6 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is a reasonable distance from the airport in a reasonably quiet area. The hotel looks newish but is rather basic and describes itself as an Eco-friendly hotel which may be an excuse to remove luxuries!

Initially allocated a room on the second floor which was adequate in size but rather basic. It was an interconnected room and the walls must be paper thin as I was party to various telephone calls which for their clarity might as well been done in my room. After 2.5 hours of continuos calls I cracked and requested a change of room. This was accommodated without fuss and I got a similar but corner room on the first floor. The room has a queen size bed, (didn't look a kingsize), desk, chair, stool and table. Usual minibar and complimentary bottled water. The bathroom is small with no bath tub but a shower type wet area. Small wardrobe and limited drawer space. Flat screen tv with a reasonable range of English channels. Although this room was 4 floors above the night club you did get the throbbing through the walls and floor.

There is a swimming pool on the top floor which is adjacent to restaurant. The pool is small and there is no meaningful changing room, a few lockers in the toilets and a shower and seems to have been an after thought as 2 people in there and its full. The pool closes at 6.30 pm as the terrace becomes part of the restaurant. The terrace has views over Chennai but there is not much to see day or night.

The Chinese restaurant was ok with a reasonable choice of menu. There is also another restaurant on the rooftop but it has no cover and is very humid. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the lobby floor which was rather basic the food choice was poor with some fruits, cheese and pastries. There is a buffet selection but it is limited. Staff are all over you from the moment that you step in to the time you leave and it becomes too much at least for me. In my view such a level of attentiveness is just not required and does make the stay anymore pleasant.

The staff were very courteous and tried to be efficient but there are times that requests get lost in translation!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Traveller 1824,

Vanakkam !

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel.

We thank you for your detailed feedback about your stay at the hotel.

Your comments are valuable to us which help us to constantly introspect our system and procedure and help us in striving for a better product and service.

We value your continued patronage and assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Best Regards.

Swapna Nair
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 897 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is about half an hour away from the airport but be careful because there are 2 Raintree Hotels quite close. At St Mary's all the staff are very friendly & helpful.They could not do enough to please. The terrace bar on the roof has a great panoramic view of Chennai.

They say free internet but it's for one device and it's limited. Be careful of their minimum taxi charge which is for one hour. So my 4km taxi ride was expensive, but I'm Scots. Nevertheless the taxis are big & clean. The driver's are helpful & speak good English.

Despite my small moans I will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davebarpview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Davebarpview,

Vanakkam !

Thank you for having taken time out to post your review. It is indeed our immense pleasure to know that you had a satisfying experience at our hotel.

Your feedback is very motivating and encouraging. All my associates join me in thanking you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to your continued patronage in the future.

Best Regards,

Swapna Nair
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently, I visited your hotel with my family from Singapore.

The staff were polite and welcomed us with a open heart.

The ambience were superb and the entire place were kept clean as though it was opened yesterday.

We had stayed in Chennai with several hotel but this hotel is certainly mind bogling. It creates an impression that nobody wants to leave them.

My family will certainly visit your hotel whenever we pass by Chennai(India).

My heartfelt commendation goes to Swapna for being professional and discharging her duties with pride and honour.

Thank you to your entire team. We remain greatful.

Much appreciated,

V.Balu

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Balu V,

Vanakkam !

Thank you for sharing your experience through Tripadvisor.

Our team is delighted to note that we exceeded your expectations and that you will stay with us during all your visit to Chennai.

Your feedback motivates us to achieve greater heights of excellence.


The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to The Raintree, St.Mary's Road.

Best Regards,

Swapna Nair
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet street. A pleasure to be away from the noise and heavy traffic. Very well located and within easy reach of the major business centers, it is an ideal place to stay. The food was good, the fitness centre is a bit small, but well organised. The pool is lovely. Overall, a great place to stay, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureLoverNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear NatureLoverNewDelhi,

Vanakkam !

Thank you for your kind review, your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate us to continue to deliver a high level of service.

Look forward to welcoming you back again at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's Road

Best Regards,

Swapna Nair
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have stayed twice at the Raintree on St. Mary's on business and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chennai. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the buffets good and very extensive. It is within walking distance of other restaurants, shops and other hotels if you want to venture out for a walk.

The staff could not be more welcoming and helpful - especially the front desk staff. The leave a lasting impression on their visitors!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Chennai.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeeWeestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear PeeWeestravels,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Raintree Hotel St Mary's Road.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was here for two days in July for business. I prefered this hotel for its location. I was travelling with colleagues and vendors. All the rooms were decent and the breakfast was nice. The staff were courteous. This hotel has nothing fancy bit does not lack in the essentials. Toilets are slightly outdated but ok.

Very smooth and quick check in and check out..

All in all, value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PramodLunawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear PramodLunawat,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Raintree Hotel St Mary's Road.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

very clean excellent lunch buffet
top class
all was perfect
It doesn't look like an indian hotel harm but, we realy enjoyed our stay in this hotel as we knew that in Chennai hotels are not very good.
We''ll go back inthis hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonneel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Bonneel P,

Vanakkam!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Raintree Hotel St Mary's Road.

I am pleased to note that our services and facilities were to your satisfaction. Your positive feedback about the hotel is deeply appreciated and have been communicated to all the members of our team.

I thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of the best in service and hospitality.

Best regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,161 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,487 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
924 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,845 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Address: 120 St. Marys Road | Alwarpet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $64 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star hotel with 108 state-of-art rooms including 2 suites, swimming pool, gym and health spa. The best "Eco friendly" hotel in South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary`s Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Rain Tree Hotel
The Rain Tree Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing