We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #18 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I've always loved staying at this hotel due to the service received. Again I wasn't disappointed; the staff take the trouble right from checkin till departure to make sure you're comfortable and well taken care of.

Breakfast is always pleasant due to the customized service.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the right of the elevator are larger than on the opposite side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Serinaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was in Chennai for Business for a day and decided to stay with Marriott. The overall stay was fine but there was some kind of commotion at night so I cannot say that i had a good sleep.

I had the food from the in-house Deli and i was really yum ;-)

Also the staff was very friendly and helpful, just a point to remember do not take Hotel cabs for travel as they are super expensive coz Meru took Rs 500/- from Airport to Hotel where as on my way back hotel cab was for Rs 1700/-

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DikshaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed the meal at the deli.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your future visit to the city.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I would rate the Courtyard in Chennai as the worst hotel I stayed at in a month traveling in India. The hotel was very run down and the room very basic. Both the room and much of the hotel smelled musty. The room felt damp and moldy. If I did not keep the air running and freeze to death then I had to deal with the smell of the room. Check in was a frustrating mess. My room overlooked a cooling tower or some sort of hotel machinery immediately outside of my window and a slum in the distance so I had to keep the curtains closed. There was construction in the hotel and construction outside of the hotel making access a nightmare. The food was average at best. I have gold level status with Marriott, but did not receive any of the benefits, and after this visit decided to avoid these hotels in India. The only positive thing I can say (and a big positive) is that the service was excellent. The staff really did a great job and tried their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They recommended and explained food at the overpriced buffet and later when I got sick (probably from breathing all that toxic air) and didn’t want to eat anymore they even fixed me up some sort of liquid concoction as a natural remedy. It was very sweet and kind.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am happy to note that the team lived up to your high expectation to provide you with service standards on par with the best in the industry. I have taken up your concerns with the team and we are sure to take steps to ensure we are able to provide you with standards consistent with the Courtyards worldwide.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was my first visit at courtyard marriott at Chennai .
Spacious rooms and wifi connectivty is good .
Beccause of the Metro work it becomes difficult to get in and out of the hotel at peak hours .
Breakfast has also variety of the food which one can explore

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikasr007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive words on tripadvisor. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I lived in Chennai for almost 5 years and during 2 years I almost lived in this hotel. They were at that point of time (2008) one of the best international hotels available in the city. The only piece that always was missing was the swimming pool. The rest is a good hotel with with good restaurants and rooms are standard like any other courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epeniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here when we went for a weekend to Chennai, the service was really nice and comfortable. Friendly staff. The food was not very great, just average. Otherwise a good stop over. Used the spa and very relaxing, we stayed in the executive suite with access to the lounge and we sure were spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArchNTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am happy that you had a pleasant stay at the hotel and liked the services at the spa. I have shared your feedback with chef about the food. In case you are in Chennai anytime till 20th July 2014, do try out our Awadhi food festival with chef Yunus Khan.

Regards

Prakash Jayadevan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Right from the moment you walk into the hotel till you say the final goodbye, you cannot escape the warmth and friendliness of everyone at the Courtyard. Add to that the nice food, the efficient service, etc., and Courtyard easily finds a place in the list of hotels where you receive more than you had bargained for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitabh_Varma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash J, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know that the team took care of you during your stay. I hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Regards

Prakash
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,161 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
873 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
924 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $85 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing