We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #18 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed just one night at the Courtyard on a recent business trip to Mumbai. While the hotel and the rooms are good on the whole, I felt they can do much better especially considering the Marriott brand name. This is an old property now rebadged as a Courtyard by Marriott so they certainly suffer from lack of space and amenities. The location is good for business travelers.
The service is great and certainly meets all expectations. The good part was I had got all that I had opted for while booking including a king size bed and early check in. I was disappointed with the food though. During my stay there was a pub food festival on which looked promising but unfortunately did not meet the mark. I had a shepherds pie which was very small in quantity and also not great in taste. I have had far better shepherds pie in restaurants in Bangalore.

From a pure business traveler perspective thought this hotel is quite ideal

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suvosinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear suvosinha ,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your feedback regarding the food is noted and be rest assured that the same would be addressed with the team immediately.

We assure you that your next stay will be a memorable one and you will continue to experience the home away from home feeling at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,241)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had to put up in this hotel as our usual stop Taj Club house was all booked for a wedding.

This is not up to the standards of Business Hotels leave apart 4 or 5 star.
Rude staff with no sense of hospitability, worn out washroom & miserable food in short sum it up.

Well never say never, but wish not to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrachetaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Piya10 ,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Avisor. We would like to apologize for the experience you faced while staying with us. It s totally unacceptable and we regret the entire experience.
We value feedback such as yours, as it gives a scope to improve and serve guest like you nothing but the best.The same has been taken up with our team and be rest assured that from our side we would do our best to ensure that your next stay with us would be truly memorable.

Shall you need any further assistance, please feel to contact me or my team.

Thank you!

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The hotel is located on an extremely busy and noisy road, however, the moment one enters the property the noise fades out. I had booked a Deluxe Executive Apartment which was spacious and tastefully done. The mattress was very disappointing though, old and not in level, it was uncomfortable. It creaked every time I would roll over at night. The bathroom was tiny and had spots on the floor, around the bathtub and ceiling. I was quite surprised at the mattress and bathroom condition. Additionally, there was no complimentary wi-fi which is unusual for a luxury/business hotel. Breakfast and dinner were included in my package making it worth the expensive tariff. The breakfast selection was wide and delicious and the staff was very helpful and courteous. The dinner at their restaurant Rhapsody was excellent and made for the perfect end to a busy day. I would have liked to give a five star rating to this hotel if not for the stiff neck and back I woke up with every morning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank NishaBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Nishabothra,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated. Please accept my apologies for not being able to provide you with a stay up to your expectations. Your feedback regarding the mattress and bathrooms is noted and be rest assured that the same would be addressed with the team immediately.

We assure you that your next stay will be a memorable one and you will continue to experience the home away from home feeling at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

A great hotel in Chennai that is almost a 5 star affair
But it lacks a garden, a pool , an open space which makes it a let down in a tropical city like Chennai: a gorgeous garden is easy to maintain if there is space... But no such space...
Rooms are spacious however and same are bathrooms

The food is great and especially the breakfast buffet has enormous variety... Fabulous
Small but functional gym
Nice steam room n jacuzzi

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrosisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear petrosisaak,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. . We really appreciate your kind words; it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. It inspires us to offer the best to our guests. As you rightly mentioned that we don't have the space for a pool, but we have other facilities at the property to make your stay comfotable and memorbale.

Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I am always a fan of marriott hotel, but was skeptical of this hotel, becasue of the location and was not sure what to expect. But surprising the hotes l was amazing, the rooms was very spacious, though i hate 2 separate beds in the room, which i didn't clarify at the time of checking. No doubt about the price, which is on the higher side for the personal traveller, but this hotel is mostly preferred by the business traveller as its in the city and connected to most of the office locations. Getting in and out of this hotel is a bit choas. Also getting an local transport outside of this hotel was a bit difficult, but you could always opt of AC taxi and they are much reasonable. The room has free wifi and it also offers free breakfast which was very good. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digant_thakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear digant_thakkar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It gives us great pleasure in knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is what we strive towards and we are glad that we are able to achieve that through you, every time! Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed there for a couple of days on a business trip. The room was quite large and convenient for the price paid. I especially liked the affordable food with a reasonable variety. You must remember however, as a part of the "Courtyard" group, this is not a luxury hotel per-se.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Dream W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Dream W ,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad that everything at the property was to your satisfaction and you had an enjoyable stay as that is of utmost importance to us.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back here.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed from November 17-20, 2013

Stayed for three days for a conference, and I am afraid that the construction of the metro in front is a real hassle for us because the bus cannot stop in front of our hotel (we have to walk to the street to get into our bus, and I am afraid that I did not see any assistance from the hotel to facilitate our smooth boarding, considering we are more than 50). The rooms are quite acceptable in terms of cleanliness and size but they charge for Wi-Fi, which is surprising because most hotels don't do that anymore (and it is quite expensive I say). Food is okay, yet they serve almost the same type of meal everyday except for dinner which is quite delicious (the dhosa served during breakfast is good though) and the staff is courteous and attentive. Overall, I appreciated the stay but it was not the highlight of our trip.

P.S. The keycards deactivate if you place them near mobile phones or credit cards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rehey121488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear rehey121488,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor - it is much appreciated. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the metro rail, your concern is duly noted and you can be assured that we are in regular communication with the metro and local authorities to ensure that at no point is there any compromise on safety, security and smooth operations. Your concern with reagrd to the keycards have also been noted and teh same will be addressed with the team.

We assure you that your next stay will be a memorable one and you will continue to experience the home away from home feeling at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,162 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
873 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,299 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
925 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing