We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket And Comfortable Settings, Suitable For Business Conferences” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Chennai
Ranked #21 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Upmarket And Comfortable Settings, Suitable For Business Conferences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Introduction
Beneath an unassuming and plain exterior facade is hidden a modern and sophisticated business hotel, with efficient and poilte service, good food, and comfortable rooms. The 4-star Courtyard By Marriott is positioned as a business travel hotel, with mid-range pricing, comfortable and spacious rooms, and free internet access. While Courtyard By Marriott primarily caters to business travellers, it's also suitable for families, though the amenities are rather lacking.


Ambience
While the exterior of Courtyard By Marriott is plain, with not much distinctive features, the interior is nicely designed. Decor and ambience reflects the chic sophistication of a business centre, with warm colours, clean lines, and a neat layout. However, I did find it irritating that the main reception desk as well as 1 lift were partially blocked by pillars.


Room
The Deluxe Room in Courtyard By Marriott is spacious and comfortably furnished, with a 25-inch LCD TV, sofa, work desk, marble bathtub, 2 large single beds, and free broadband internet access or free wi-fi. While the view is rather lacking, I like that the bathroom is clean and fully equipped, and the floor length mirror near the door added to the overall ambience.


Food
The Paprika Coffee House in Courtyard By Marriott has good food, and a choice of a buffet spread or ala-carte. While the buffet spread has quite a range of options, the ala-carte menu is rather limited. The food here is tasty and well-prepared, although I find that the Indian dishes tend to be much better than the Western or Asian dishes. Paprika Coffee House is also the place for the food for room service is prepared, and the menu for room service is the same limited ala-carte menu. I also like that they are open 24 hours daily.


Service
I like the professional and efficient service at Courtyard By Marriott. Staff are friendly, polite, helpful and carry out requests quickly. They make the effort to ensure that your stay at Courtyard By Marriott is as comfortable as possible.


Facilities & Activities
Courtyard By Marriott is designed for business, as such, they have plentiful conference and meeting rooms available, some of which are used to host a weekly bazaar. The health club gym has adequate equipment for working out, and the spa offers a wide range of massage and beauty services. But beyond this, there isn't much facilities in Courtyard By Marriott... And it has no swimming pool. Activities for families are also minimal, but the central location of Courtyard By Marriott means it's quite convienent and accessible to travel to nearby shopping malls or tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RunningMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear RunningMan83,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and the services and facilities offered were to your satisfaction. We appreciate your detaied feedback such as yours,as it motivates the entire team at the Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai to strive towards excellence.
Please do not hesitate to let me know if we can be of any assistance in future.Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    423
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
184
85
92
649
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nothing special about this hotel. Way out of the city and cut off from the world. Poor choice of food - hardly any choice in fact .They definitely need to look into the menu.
Horrible music playing all over- trance like and hypnotic.
The staff are friendly and try and be helpful- especially the girl at the reception and the people in the restaurant.
If your room overlooks the pool if not your stuck with nothing to see except a dirty vacant plaot of land .
Tip- redo your foyer and get a bigger more impressive reception counter- the present one looks like a bus ticket window - its far too small for a hotel
For goodness sake don't try a DOSA- its insipid !.

Room Tip: Higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 295424Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear 295424Mike,

Thank you for your feedback, we are a bit confused reading both your reviews. Yesterday you sent us a review appreciating our hotel. With regard t our hotel's location, we are located in the center of the city and we do not have a pool on property. We would like to know if this review is also for our hotel.
Would appreciate if you could clarify the same. Please let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now and in the future. Kindly feel free to contact us at any time at : 044-66764000

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a 2 day business trip and the hotel was definitely worth it. Very clean, good tasty food and excellent service.
I must say that the staff made all the difference especially those in the lobby and the main restaurant where we ate daily.
The young hostess and the waiters etc were all very friendly and helpful . So also the people who helped us in the business suite . They were attentive and so approachable- always willing to help .
Even the door man and the people who checked luggage did their duty with a smile.
We loved the music of the girl who sang during the Sunday brunch - lovely voice and great choice of songs.
What was bad however was the repetitive trance music playing all over in the hotel . It got irritating to the point of frustration - I felt it was hypnotic .
Overall a good experience and I WILL STAY THERE IF IN CHENNAI AGAIN

Room Tip: The higher the better- south side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 295424Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear 295424Mike,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us and our services and facilities offered were to your satisfaction. Thank you for your valuable feedback, it motivates our entire team at Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai to strive towards excellence.
Your kind words of appreciation will be conveyed to the team.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was wonderful! It was my first trip to India and I tagged along with friends who were there for work. The hotel itself is very nice and centrally located in Chennai. The entire staff was top notch, very efficient and polite; everyone from the general manager to the woman performing the security scan was interested in how my stay was going. There are two restaurants, both with great food and ambiance. The housekeeping staff was quietly efficient.
All of this would have made for an excellent stay, but what really sets them apart from other hotels is their assistance when I lost my passport. Everyone jumped in to help me and the security staff, in particular, went above and beyond the call of duty, staying with me until my documentation was in order. I will be forever grateful for this.
This type of unparalleled service is very impressive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Katherine C

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation have in deed brought a huge smile on all our faces.
Please let us know if we could be of any assistance to you in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai!

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located on Anna Salai which is one of the main roads from the airport into the city. The taxi journey from the airport takes about 30 minutes (avoid expensive hotel transfer and use pre paid taxi from airport for Rs500). The security checks at the hotel entance are tight (airport style) but quick and made me feel very safe.

My executive suite was very spacious, well equipped (TV, kettle, quiet aircon, reliable wifi) and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable. My room came with access to the lounge on the 10th floor where a selection of good quality food and drinks was offered for free every evening from 5:30pm.

The breakfast was the icing on the cake. There were serval Western and local specialities including the best Dosa I had in all of India, delicious local coffee and tea made to order, fresh fruit and juices.

The staff were very friendly and efficient, in particular Vicky from reception and Murali Welan and the Dosa chef from the kitchen. Thank you for making this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SchwarzwaldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mehrangarh_Fort,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate the feedback.

We are pleased to know that the services and facilities offered were to your satisfaction. It is feedback such as yours, which motivates the entire team at the Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai to strive towards excellence.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cane Garden Bay, null, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was in Chennai on business the hotel was everything I needed. The staff was excellent from my driver the head chef to house kepping. Loved my room and the service. The downsides were the location and The spa. It had good ambiance but the services were more suited to a 2 star resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChevoneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Chevone T,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words, it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed there for 3 night. It was my first time in India so I can't compare to other similar hotels in that area but it was great stay. All staff were friendly and helpful. Rich breakfast and great food at dinner in both restaurants. Room was nice and comfortable.
The free transportation service from/to airport and office was also very convenient. Most drivers were very friendly and arrived on time, the only drawback is that sometimes they were a little bit pushy on suggesting to take you to tourist shops where they probably get a commission from the place (but I guess this happens all over India).
I will recommend this hotel to anyone who visit the city for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shlomob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear shlomob1,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.. We really appreciate your kind words, it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. Your valuable feedback about our food and service would be passed on to the team. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#31 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Park Chennai
#54 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chennai

Property: Courtyard Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home in Chennai! We welcome you with 4-star hotel accommodations and a range of thoughtful amenities here at the Courtyard Chennai. Situated in the heart of the city's central business district, our hotel is perfect for business travelers, as well as relaxing getaways. Stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at one of our several eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate, as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing