We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #19 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at Courtyard Marriott, Chennai.
The staff were cheerful & prompt.
The check-in is a breeze
The internet connection speed was impressive; totally helped me close some of my work deliverables on time. This is high value for me for a business stay!!

I would say there are few areas which could be improved
•Basic toilet supplies – I had to call the “at your service” for tooth paste & shower cap. They promptly delivered within few mins, but I would think a hotel of this stature need to have all of this readily available upfront & should not have the customer request for it.
•Ordered Puliogare for lunch – this was provided with papad & garlic pickle. Firstly, since this item is dry item – I would have preferred either a chutney or curds for accompaniment. Also garlic pickle; that is not a good idea. We should stay with basic flavors – lemon / mango / tomato – garlic is pushing too far. Not many people appreciate pungent flavors for lunch.

Having said this, I would still recommend this place to my colleagues/friends for a business stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhumathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Madhumathi,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and your kind words; it means so much to get a great acknowledgement. Your feedback will surey be conveyed to our team. Kindly let us know if we could be of any assistance to you in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again to Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    446
    156
    49
    26
See reviews for
206
95
96
723
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a day on a trip to chennai - pretty impressed with the facility and the service.Check-in was quick.I had requested for a room at the highest possible floor while booking online and i got one at the top floor with a good view.Room was excellent - spacious and clean.Had also requested for a early check-in which was also taken care off.From the check-in till check out everything was just perfect.Room service was good - though we had to call the guest services twice to clear the plates after our dinner was done.Breakfast buffet at the Paprika was awesome - nice spread.

Did not get a chance to use the gymnasium or the health club facilities as we were there only for a day but would definitely try next time around.Wi-fi internet service was good with no interruptions unlike some of the other hotels where i have not been too happy with the wi-fi services offered as there are always interruptions but here - it was perfect.

Overall a good place to stay and is located at a prime location in chennai. I recommend !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Ajay1210,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation have indeed brought a huge smile on our face.It is always our intention to serve you best for what it is worth.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel, it was pleasant, they had provided us with a big room, executive lounge access, good food & breakfast, with daily newspaper and what not. The restuarant was pax excellence served by their personnel Mr.Ramalingam and Mr.Christopher and Mr.Devandru Naik taking care of us on daily basis, serving our taste and food.

Our Special thanks to Mr.Ankush Sharma, General Manager and to Ms.Amrit, who had taken specail care of us during our stay and to Mr.Ganesh at the Front Desk.

We strongly recommend who visits Chennai to stay at this esteemed hotel, well organised and well served.

Room Tip: Corner suites/rooms are the best to have a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHAMEDASLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Mohamdaslam,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to know that you had a very comfotable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words; it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. It inspires us to offer the best to our guests. We will surely convey your feedback to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Location: Anna Salai

Room: The deluxe room is comfortable for 2 people. Not too many freebie frills in the room - unlike Lemon Tree hotels (at similar prices). Bathroom didn’t offer a comb or toothbrush, which I consider as mandatory products offered in hotels these days. Liked the TV - was able to plug in my hard drive and watch my Music DVDs. :) Overall nothing much to write home about, except TripAdvisor!

Service: Front desk was very prompt and courteous. Check-in took a few minutes. The restaurant staff was very warm and friendly.

Food: Order room service - Saffron Risotto was not good but the Fish and Sweet Potatoes was excellent. Additional tax came to about 10% of the food bill. The morning buffet spread in the Paprika restaurant was good.

Sore point: Luxury tax was nearly 18% of the room charge with an addition 7.42% Service Charge which really inflated the initial cost.

Overall: Good stay for an emergency situation. Will I recommend this to travelers? Yes.

Room Tip: Higher floor with the rooms facing the side opposite to the main road would give a much quieter stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ace_Victorious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Aveian,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your detailed feedback, as it gives us more scope to learn and serve you better in the future. Your point on the basic neccesities in the bathroom have been noted and the same would be addressed to the team. We would also give your valuabe feedback to our chef's and the team. Please let us know if we could be of any assistanace to you now and in future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a short review for a very short stay. I had a late flight arriving into Chennai and checked-in after midnight and checked out again by 9:00am the next morning.

My brief experience was very pleasant. The free airport transfer was reliable, the room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the internet was fast and the staff were courteous and efficient.

I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manasicaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear manasicaje,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it motivates us deliver and serve the best to every guest with each passing day. Please do let us know if we can be of any assistance to you.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hard to fault this hotel, it is excellent. The room was very good apart from the hotel is surrounded by slums but that is India. We were in Rm 726 which was excellent, very quiet. The food was excellent and the buffet dinner at R2260 for 2 people takes a lot of beating - good selection. Two glasses of red wine and a bottle of Kingfisher beer R1860. The local plonk is okay, imported wines for some reason in India are very expensive. Just be conscious that you could add say 25 - 30% to your bill for taxes on anything.
My wife and I had a massage from 'Callander', (ask for him) 45 minutes R1650, brilliant, just leave your modesty at the door and enjoy the experience, he is a professional and you will not regret it.
You can hire the hotel car and driver for 2 hours for R950, 4 hours R2050. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, a pleasure to stay at this hotel, highly recommend!
Chennai is very safe and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 726 was great and towards the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear John491,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotle on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words; it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. It inspires us to offer the best to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would say its a good business hotel, where all you would do is retire at the end of the day! The rooms are quite clean and nice... but nothing premium and no wow factor actually.... I would say that there is a great scope for improvement considering the Marriott Brand!!! Remove the Brand and its a good place... but keeping in mind the Brand... you would expect more!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coonal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear coonal999,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. We hope you had a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it motivates us to push ourselves more and serve our guests better with each passing day. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,248 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
847 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
889 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing