We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel - an Oasis!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Chennai
Ranked #20 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel - an Oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hard to fault this hotel, it is excellent. The room was very good apart from the hotel is surrounded by slums but that is India. We were in Rm 726 which was excellent, very quiet. The food was excellent and the buffet dinner at R2260 for 2 people takes a lot of beating - good selection. Two glasses of red wine and a bottle of Kingfisher beer R1860. The local plonk is okay, imported wines for some reason in India are very expensive. Just be conscious that you could add say 25 - 30% to your bill for taxes on anything.
My wife and I had a massage from 'Callander', (ask for him) 45 minutes R1650, brilliant, just leave your modesty at the door and enjoy the experience, he is a professional and you will not regret it.
You can hire the hotel car and driver for 2 hours for R950, 4 hours R2050. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, a pleasure to stay at this hotel, highly recommend!
Chennai is very safe and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 726 was great and towards the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear John491,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotle on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words; it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement. It inspires us to offer the best to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Courtyard by Marriott Chennai.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    422
    147
    49
    24
See reviews for
183
84
92
647
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would say its a good business hotel, where all you would do is retire at the end of the day! The rooms are quite clean and nice... but nothing premium and no wow factor actually.... I would say that there is a great scope for improvement considering the Marriott Brand!!! Remove the Brand and its a good place... but keeping in mind the Brand... you would expect more!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coonal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear coonal999,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip advisor. We hope you had a comfortable stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it motivates us to push ourselves more and serve our guests better with each passing day. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here in Dec 2012 for 3 nights. Booked 2 rooms, one for myself and the other for my parents. As a platinum, there was no upgrade, all I was told was I can get 250 points per stay and that was it. Rooms were of decent size but there is nothing much to speak about in terms of amenities or platinum elite recognition in the hotel. Since the location is prime location and also the hotel looks decent. I may stay again If don't get other hotels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Black H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Black H,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused, your feedback is noted and you can be rest assured that I will addressed immediately to the concerned.
We hope that your stay was a pleasant one on the whole and if there is anything that we can do, please do feel free to let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back again and thanks once again for bringing this to our attention.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

An excellent place to spend your vacation. Best service and ambience. Service match the world class..

Me and family are satisfied with the value we have received for the money we spend. This would be the first choice when we are Chennai bound next time...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameson J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Jameson J,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are extremely happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Your kind words of appreciation have indeed brought a huge smile on our face.It is always our intention to serve you best for what it is worth.
Looking forward to welocming you again at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I picked this hotel based on reviews and the Courtyard Marriott brand name, but I was a little disappointed. The room was decent but the towels were not clean and we ended up using our own towels which we carry for such situations. All the towels were light brown and after paying Rs.6500 per day, I expected a lot better. The condition of the towels were no better on the second day when the towels were replaced, and one of the hand towels had a lipstick stain on them.

The location is pretty good - it is on Anna Salai (Mount Road) but for some strange reason many of the the taxi companies/drivers and auto drivers did not recognise the hotel name and asked for the address/location.

We ate only meal at the Italian restaurant Rhapsody and the food was average but pricey. Service was a little slow too.

Security was high at this hotel. Your bags go through an airport style baggage scanner and you are screened with a metal detector each time. It looked liked they also had a couple of sniffer dogs at the gate checking vehicles each time.

I would probably try some other hotel if I went back to Chennai again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelBug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear GR- India,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your detailed feedback, as it gives us more scope to learn and serve you better in the future. We would like to apologize for the experience you faced while staying with us. Please be rest assured that your feed back will be addressed with immediate effect and the same will be passed on to the team. Feedback like this motivates us to push ourselves more and serve our guests better with each passing day. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My first visit to Chennai - chose this hotel based on reviews and close proximity where I had an appointment.
The hotel didnt disappoint – certainly lived up to my expectations. We arrived after midnight, and was attended to quickly – check in was a breeze. I had booked a package which included transfers, so I made the booking for the transfer to be ready the next morning. Upon arrival at the lobby, the lighting and ambience, somehow, made me felt really welcomed.
The room was spacious, with good blend of modern and traditional deco. It was clean and pleasant, equipped with all the usual amenities. It has wooden flooring. The bathroom size was reasonable, with generous sized bathtub. Toiletries were provided. I particularly liked the replacement towel – it was folded to reflect the head of an elephant.
The breakfast buffet was great, although I did notice that during our 3 days stay, the spread was the same for all those mornings. Perhaps maybe the chef could have some changes to the spread by introducing other dishes. The tea was especially nice, brewed when you order one.
Lastly, is the staff ... they were all very helpful and attend to our request very promptly. For example, in our room, we had only 1 pair of slippers. We requested for another pair, and it was delivered within 10 minutes or so, and that was about 2 am. Our driver was also particularly helpful, driving us to the appointment location, and later to some shopping complexes and restaurant. He even called the restaurant to make a dinner booking for us.
I think the best part of our stay is the staff looking into our needs, special mention to our driver, Chandran.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the road - perhaps a bit better view than the side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mcbrain,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor.We are very happy to know that you had a very comfortable stay with us. Thank you very much for your very detailed review of our hotel. We would inform the F & B team and our chef's about your feedback. We really appreciate your kind words, it means so much to us to get such great acknowledgement, It inspires us to offer the best to all our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to Courtyard by Marriott, Chennai.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We really were not in this hotel long enough for me to give a serious opinion. Our biggest problem was, that, after travelling for hours and hours from North America and arriving at 3 am - they had messed up our room. We are travelling companions and are very specific that we need twin beds - they gave us a Queen. They were duly apologetic but by the time they sorted it out by moving us to a bigger room and bring in a cot - it was hardly worth going to bed!
The room and bathroom were just fine and the buffet breakfast was good.
When you travel abroad the best thing is to park your normal expectations and keep reminding yourself where you are - vive la difference! There are always bumps when you travel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HitTheRoadJack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard Chennai, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear HitTheRoadJack44,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback; this will surely help us serve you better. We apologize for the inconvenience caused while you were staying with us. Please do get in touch and let us know how we could be of assistance and assure you of our best for all your future visits. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Sharma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#32 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
The Park Chennai
#54 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chennai

Property: Courtyard Chennai
Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home in Chennai! We welcome you with 4-star hotel accommodations and a range of thoughtful amenities here at the Courtyard Chennai. Situated in the heart of the city's central business district, our hotel is perfect for business travelers, as well as relaxing getaways. Stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at one of our several eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate, as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing