We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect less”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Ranked #18 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I would like to express my feedback here as I didn't receive any feedback form. (may be i will get an email sometime.) I stayed here for two days this week but was not up to the expectations of 4-star.

To start with, it was all good, food facilities, room was clean and good. Later I found AC control was NOT working when I wanted to increase the temperature. It was constant around 20degree C. Well it was night already, but still called, engineer came and closed the cooling valve as I wanted warm. But unfortunately it still didn't work out :( Second day again complained, but still the same someone tried his best while am out, again had same trouble after some hours for me. Surprisingly NO service callback to confirm issue is resolved.

Also NO carpets even in front of bathroom.

Food was excellent. (tried South-Indian only.)

Room Tip: Check the AC controller. Though it has control, it didn't work for me even after complaining TWI...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonjor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Bonjor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is noted and appreciated. First things first, I apologize for you not getting our departure email. We do not miss out on this and this is a one off incident. We will make sure that this does not happen again. I empathise with you for the inconvenience you faced due to the AC control. Please rest assured that this will be suitably addressed. Do accept my personal apologies for the lack of following up with you to resolve the issue. We are glad that you enjoyed our South Indian food. Do let us know if there is anything that we could do for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,239)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent a period of 3 days in early october Courtyard Marriott in Chennai.
Location: The hotel is located very close to the major hotspots in chennai and has easy accessbility by taxi or autos.
Ambience: This hotel has a beautiful fountain in its entrance and the overall structure of the place is very grand and well maintained.
Staff: The staff is very courteous and polite. They catered to all of our needs.
Rooms: The room is well designed and comfortable. Huge Beds and very comfortable pillows!
Food: We had a buffet breakfast included in our room package. It had good variety and they prepare many dishes on request( just the way you like!)
Value for Money: The rooms were very affordable for a marriott establishment and we got our moneys worth.

The hotel is equipped with all the facilities any marriott hotel has. We had a smooth and comfortable stay. Nothing to compain about. Thanks marriott for making it pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear eshabhoon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor. These words of encouragement mean a lot to us and I am sure will help us perform more and more each day. Your feedback on our service, rooms and food has been duly noted and I will make sure that it is passed on to the concerned team. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to having you back with us at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed with Courtyard Marriott in Ontorio which was pleasant years back. Recently I was put up in Marriott Chennai for just a day and it was very relaxing. The important thing which impressed me about their hospitality was the service and kindness of the staff. Wide spread of break fast options satisfy any person irrespective of their origin.

Room Tip: I was put up on the eigth floor and stay was noise less and relaxing
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbe_mohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Mohan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are extremely glad to know that you had a comfortable stay here and are impressed with our service. That is exactly what we are here for and I will make sure to pass on your appreciation to the people involved in making your stay a memorable one. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you now or in the future. Looking forward to having you back with us.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed in Courtyard Marriott Chennai again recently and still am pleased with my stay. Somehow, Courtyard Marriott manages to keep its level of service consistently excellent throughout my visit. The breakfast spread is fantastic...the staff is excellent,,,and graveyard shift staff still manages to put a smile.....

Room Tip: Ask for the local coffee at the entrance of the breakfast area...to die for!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Joey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor. We are extremely glad to know that you had a comfortable stay at the hotel. This review has put a big smile on my face and I shall be sure to pass this on to those who made it possible. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you now or in the future.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As I entered this hotel, I was hit by the sounds of cutlery from the all day dining just opposite the reception. Not a spacious lobby. The check in was ok. The rooms are of a good size. However, very poorly stocked with amenities and you need to keep calling in to house keeping to get them, which of course takes around 15min to get to you. The Italian place was fine, the ambience though spoiled by live cricket on tv! Overall a decent place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthVasudevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Mr. Siddharth Vasudevan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. We have noted your points on the amenities in the room. It would be great if you could let us know your preferences so that we could place the same in your room for all your future visits. Your feedback on Rhapsody has been noted. Please do let us know if there is anything we could be of assistance to you. Looking forward to having you back with us.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as I was in Chennai for business. Overall the hotel was decent. Clean rooms, food ok. There are 2 restaurants and one sandwich place. The food had some western options, but the overall menu was limited. However the (breakfast) staff was more than willing to make me something special if I wanted. I was on the executive package which gave me free internet which was perfect as I had to log on to do work outside of the office. The only negative I have is the air conditioning is hard to regulate in the room. If I lowered it, the mirrors/window would fog up from the humidity, I had to keep it on and the vent blew directly onto the desk/bed area.

It's a decent place for a business traveller, there was a business lounge which I went to once, it's small, has some food and drink, but it's more for relaxing than working. Good place to take a client.

This was my first trip to India and it was a bit startling to see all the major hotels have a gate for all cars coming in, where the taxi stops, turns off the engine and the trunk, hood and underneath are searched. Once cleared, able to proceed to the main entrance where your bags are put through an x-ray machine and each person is wanded. I learned this is from the bombings that occurred a few years ago.

Room Tip: Executive package, rooms on the 10th floor have access to the business lounge and free internet on t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear aabrams,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. Your feedback on the breakfast staff will be passed on to the concerned people. We have noted your discomfort with regulating the air con and rest assured that we are working on it. Please do let us know if we could be of any assistance to you, now or in the future. Looking forward to having you with us again.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Marriott experience has been good every time and so was it this time. The Hotel is located on Mount Road(Anna Salai) and is in the heart of the city. A very friendly staff and good food gave me no reason to complain.

However, the only negative thing was that since the hotel opens bang on the busy road and could get a little noisy(not in the rooms) in the lobby if you are meeting somebody for a discussion.

There's a Metro construction activity on the road in front of the hotel which could mean you would have to wade through bumper to bumper traffic to reach the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRTeam1, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Surmen,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback on the service and staff is highly appreciated and we will be sure to pass this on to them. Please do let us know in case of any assistance required from our end. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Ankush Sharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,161 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
873 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
924 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chennai

Address: 564 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600018, India (Formerly Courtyard Chennai, India)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#26 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#34 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $85 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into your home away from home at Courtyard by Marriott Chennai, a 4-star hotel in Chennai that offers a range of thoughtful amenities. We welcome you to stay with us, in the heart of the city's central business district. Our hotel is perfect for business travelers as well as for relaxing getaways. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai's stylish and modern rooms, suites, and apartments include flat-screen TVs, high-speed Internet access, and plush bedding, as well as marble bathrooms with bathtub/shower combinations. Additional hotel perks include a 24-hour fitness center and delicious on-site dining at our fantastic eateries. If you're planning an event in Chennai, you'll be delighted with our flexible meeting venues and state-of-the-art facilities and services, as well as our expert catering. And our unbeatable location, just 20 minutes from Chennai Airport and near the US Consulate as well as the city's IT and manufacturing hubs, makes getting where you need to go easy and stress-free. Courtyard by Marriott Chennai is a top choice among hotels in Chennai, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Courtyard Marriott Chennai
Marriott Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing