We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good potential but let down by the small details” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Marina Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Marina Towers
Ranked #144 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good potential but let down by the small details”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My father and I shared a Suite in this hotel from 15th to 18th November 2012.

The suite was huge. However, the bathroom was badly designed. The button to flush the toilet was wierd and I got my finger stuck in it quite badly.

When we checked in, they said the room wasnt ready and made us wait for 15 minutes. This was after a long road journey from Bangalore.

On the second day, they didnt bother cleaning the room or bathroom. Only when my father made a fuss did they clean it. On the plus side, the manager did send a plate of fruits as an apologetic gesture.

The third day, they cleaned the room but didnt give any towels. We had to call them and ask for it.

They gave only 2 small bottles of water per day. Any extra water was charged at Rs. 80/- per bottle. Atrocious pricing. It's just goddamn drinking water. I hate it when hotels rip off their "guests" by charging so much for drinking water.

The bed was too soft and I wasnt able to get comfortable at all.

All in all, we werent too happy with the hotel and will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikhilBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash C, Manager at Comfort Inn Marina Towers, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
We take pride in offering our world class products and services to a varied discerning clientele and the same has won the appreciation of many guests as they have shared in this portal. It is very unfortunate that you did not feel the same and had to experience some inconveniences during your stay. We sincerely apologize for the same and wish to assure you that we have taken all the right measures to ensure that your next stay with us going to be a truly memorable one and that is our promise.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    53
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
13
20
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cochin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Excellent location, their restaurant is knocking. Daily buffet menu is superb.
How ever at the front office, i hope they are not going to loose any thing if they are more polite.
Hotel's rented taxi driver who droped me till airport tried to charge a 50bugs extra saying that it's the parking fees for the airport. Reader's please note; there is no charges for drop n go in the airport.
Renovation is still in process but was not disturbing me.
Check out at 0400hrs was not smooth at all.
Date of stay 27-28/ nov 12. Room-209.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anujaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prakash C, Manager at Comfort Inn Marina Towers, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time post a review. We thank you for appreciating the cuisine and services of our restaurants and we shall convey your appreciation to the team. We also sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had to go through during your check out. This is not our usual standard and we assure you that we have taken all measures to avoid recurrence of such experiences. We truly hope you will continue to stay with us to see some pleasant changes and put a smile back on your face.
Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

PROS
1.Awesome location - 1.5 kms from the Chennai Central railway station.A bit far from the airport though.At a traffic circle.But no noise at all.Doesnt feel like you are so close to the market and the station
2.Breakfast - Too good.Probably because it was simple and practical.Generous spread laid out at your disposal.I missed cheese though.
3.Rooms - Really spacious,not hen coops you find in most metros in the cities.You probably will have to turn up the TV volume to actually hear it.That big rooms.
4.Service - Quick,responsive,smiling.My room was ready in 5 mins when i reached.Check out was smooth and hassle-free

CONS
The autorickshaw drivers are conartists.Rs 80/- for 1.5 kms of travel.
Airport drop fares arranged by hotel is too expensive.Opt for Fast Track cab services.Be aware that the cab might take more than an hour to arrive.
They are changing to be a part of Ramada.Hope it doesnt get out of pocket range...

Overall
I will definitely go back to Marina Towers when in Chennai

Room Tip: The higher the floor,the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniruddha_Anavkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

First of all I had no idea the property was being renovated. On the other hand I got a large renovated room where everything worked. The bathroom was less renovated and various things didn't work. One big plus - I checked thoroughly - is the use of LED lighting in the room without exception so this property is making a realistic effort regarding environmental awareness. I had a renovated room that was large and comfortable. The property has a high quality internet connection and that always makes me happy. The staff were friendly and helpful and they managed to ask the right type of questions at the right time so they have had some training too it would seem. The location of the hotel is very convenient all round - between Egmore station and the very visible New Secretariat building nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The property is worth staying. Stayed few months back, but this time found lot of changes. Breakfast buffet got nice spread. Staff was very polite and very courteous in dining room. But got disturbed because of renovation work.
Since my stay was for a short duration, and overall stay was very good and looking forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delhirini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We friends went there for a dinner during September, 2012. The food that was displayed for the Buffet was fine, but for the money we paid, the choices were very limited. Can you imagine having just one non-vegetarian dish and just one non-veg kabab type of thing in your buffet where you pay over Rs.575/-?
The people who started to serve us as very courteous and "were there" for us but as time went and as people started coming in, it was difficult to find a waiter!!!
Ambiance is very good but noisy (well, even we made a lot of noise!)

If you are planning to go there in search of good and variety of food, then please avoid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaji_vk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Hotel is undergoing through renovation, hopefully sold to some one. I found worm in food, photo attached and I paid for the food after finding it (I have invoice). Rooms are full of dust. This is the latest review (OCTOBER 2012).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandipsroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#86 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Nungambakkam
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ramada Chennai Egmore
#33 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#246 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pandian
#69 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#22 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#65 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Marina Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Marina Towers

Property: Comfort Inn Marina Towers
Address: 2A Comfort Inn Marina Towers Chennai Ponniamman Koil Street | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Marina Towers Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Comfort Inn Marina Hotel
Chennai Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing