We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #58 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I am a frequent visitor to Chennai & my favorite hotel for a comfortable & economical stay “ Hotel New Woodlands – Mailapur “ Ideally located @ 2km from Mount road , main business hub of Chennai. The hotel has a swimming pool, a temple, 2 restaurants and top of it all 10-12 beautiful cottages to enjoy the luxury of a comfortable stay. The breakfast is complementary . The Internet service though available is not free , but reasonably charged. They have a laundry & a saloon of their own besides 3-4 banquet & conference halls.
The rooms in the old building are not so good , so try booking in the new building or in cottage.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varmahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    159
    81
    21
    22
See reviews for
131
48
47
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Ideally located, has mix of traditional south indian culture and modern facilties. Most remarkable feature is the excellent services offered both in room dining & in the three resturants.
In my opinion this hotel is ideal venue for organising marriage function. They make it sure that every event is conducted with great timing, friendly approach & giving every guest a truly great experince.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rags26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I've stayed at New Woodlands too many times to count.

Located in Mylapore, a great area to get to know in Chennai, this hotel has rooms of all types and houses too tasty restaurants (one cheap/veg and one pricier, North Indian).

There's a pool (never used it) and rooms come with TV. There's a new business center where you can use internet and make copies.

Indians and foreigners frequent this place because it's good value. There are cheaper options and much, much pricier hotels in Chennai -- but this one gets my vote for best hotel in Chennai. I'd recommend booking in advance (see their website) as it is often very full.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We have stayed once again at this Hotel .Its a great place to arrive to after a flight from the U.K .We chose it originally because it is a Vegetarian Hotel.It has a great multi cuisine restaurant busy with locals.Choose your room as they do vary quite a bit. Its very secure and in its own grounds .The place is amazing with several weddings there each day and its more than likely you will be invited as a guest. Its on a street leading straight down to Marina Beach .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2011

If you are really interested in an exotic room with high-tech ambience and you want Non-vegetarian food, this hotel is not for you and you will never get Non-Veg food. This is an authentic south-indian vegetarian hotel (though it serves other cuisines). If you want the "Value-for-money" factor with all the basic & premium utilities, just go for this.

This is a very very decent hotel and one of the safest places to stay. This hotel is in the centre of the city and on one of the Main roads; you can walk to Marina beach or to Kapaleeswarar temple or City Centre mall or to Spencer call all within a stone's throw; This hotel suits matured young & mid-age couples, elderly, solo leisure & business travellers.

Please do an e-booking for all your hotel reservations and have that printed out. Please book an Executive A/c with balcony or if you can afford, go in for a Cottage. Call Kumar / Babu / Venkatesh in reservations for reconfirmation just before a day or two. When you want to travel to any part of Chennai from this hotel, please DON'T ENGAGE the auto-rickshaws which are standing just outside the hotel. They are culprits and they charge exhorbitant rates and sometimes they cheat you if you don't know the topography of Chennai. Always use a "Fast track" call taxi or ask for a good Call taxi network from the reception.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiva321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Once again, this was our usual December trip to Chennai. I was traveling with my cousin this time. As always, I had booked a deluxe AC room at the New Woodlands. The check-in upon arrival was very smooth and pleasant. And it is nice to see reception staff recognize you as a regular and extend extraordinary courtesy.
Our room was quite spacious and had been lately remodeled. It boasted a new LCD TV, dental and shaving kits, instant coffee packs and an electric kettle. The beds were nice and thick, and the blankets were actually light comforters. The room came with a buffet breakfast at the Krishna Restaurant with the usual Indian fare of Idlis (rice cakes), Vadais (deep fried lentil cakes), etc., as also toast, cereal and fruit salad in addition to coffee/tea. We paid a little more than INR 2600 for the room and I think that is a steal.
The service overall is excellent. Room service orders were delivered usually within 5 to 7 minutes of placing the order. Laundry was usually picked up in the morning and delivered later in the evening. The laundry charges were extremely reasonable. Room attendants are always very helpful. In this trip mine helped me pack and seal a cardboard box very nicely.
The hotel is very well located in the center of the city. The Music Academy is close and we could get to our concerts in the evening or the lectures in the morning after a few minutes’ walk.
The manager Mr. Babu continues to be an excellent host looking after the needs of his guests very efficiently. We spent a little more than $500 for six days stay that included laundry and some food. I would consider that fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pksubramanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Arrived here after a long flight for a 12 hour stay before moving on-the AC room I had booked wasn't available for some reason so I was dispatched to another room with fan which was cell like to say the least ( small window which didn't open) and about a 5 min walk at the other end of the massive complex but I was too tired to find somewhere else.Bed was the standard 5cm thick mattress and the shower was only giving out cold water.Long corridors and the constant slamming of doors was a real pain.The paperwork dept at the check in was astonishing even by indian standards and there seemed to be a constant stream of people checking in/out-this is a very big hotel.
Two plus points were a very good restaurant and a good travel agent onsite who sorted me a cab to the airport for 4 am the next morning which was punctual.
Located near a good shopping area but don't expect a relaxing stay,feels more like a military compound than a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
2.5 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#42 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#53 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#35 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
563 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
#26 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Woodlands Hotel

Property: New Woodlands Hotel
Address: 72-75,Dr.Radhakrishnan Road, | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel
Hotel New Woodlands
New Woodlands Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing