We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“udipi food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #57 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“udipi food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I like this hotel because , it is a vegetarian hotel where you get hygenic , tasty and udipi food. Best food is its thali. Masala dosa and filter coffee is excellent.excellent ambience. room service is very good. you can even get taxi service. polite workers. During music festival it is thebest place . it is close to many sabhas. thank u all the people who work for woodlands

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swapna373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    158
    79
    21
    22
See reviews for
126
48
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Accommodation had been arranged at this hotel for a family gathering (and was not chosen by me!).
First, the positives:
1) Excellent location - bang in the middle of Chennai city
2) Not your usual hotel - a sprawling hotel with old style buildings in the middle of a city , it has a lot of character.
3) Good vegetarian south Indian food
Now the not so good part:
1) No 24 hour hot water supply - its only available for a few hours in the morning and again for a few hours in the evening. Given that the rooms weren't exactly cheap, the least they could have done was provided 24 hours hot water supply.
2) Constant construction work - someone was working right outside our room all through the day (especially the afternoon) and repeated requests didn't make them stop. Was way to noisy
3) Very basic room with almost zero amenities - while the room was clean, the towels were frayed, there were hardly any amenities in the room (eg. a hot water kettle or bottled water).

Am sure there will be several other conveniently located business hotels in Chennai city that provide much better facilities and rooms for the same tariff. Would recommend that you look around for better options!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

why this hotel is the best for me?...its a CLASSIC hotel with such a great space & sanity that it is unparallel...

Woodlands is a VEGETERIAN hotel...their south indian food is supposed to be the best & traditionally unchaged even till date- I have seen that RICE & sambar is still cooked here on fire wood the reason they say is the taste on FIRE WOOD cooked food is always the best & sure it is in woodlands too.

Rooms are huge spacious- it may not be that JAZZY as in 5 stars but it has all that i need. as you see its not for the FUSSY.

WOODLANDS is a highly traditional hotel, location is in MYLAPORE that is the CULTURAL hub of CHENNAI...should people have some tatse for TRADITION than trust me go blind with woodllands. Lot of Music sabhas like Narada gana sabha & the music accdemy are from walkable distance so do give a carnatic music, so go get a music treat for yourself too.

TRADITION in the sense- if you booze & drink here you will be kicked thas what I really wanted as I hate alchohal- so you see there is no other heaven to me than woodlads-

Thank you Mr BABU the GM who has been religiouly working hard on with the property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSAM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

In the US, this would definitely be a 1 star hotel, which is why I always look for 4 plus star hotels when traveling abroad. This is not meant for the US traveler expecting a 3 star, you will be sorely disappointed. The food at the restaurants is excellent, but the accommodation is barely passable. One morning both the hot and cold water were spewing boiling hot water. The wifi didn't work for the majority of time we were there. Hotel is in sore need of upkeep. After a few days we switched to the Accord Metropolitan, which wasn't much more expensive, but definitely much much better. As a general rule, when traveling abroad, a 3 star hotel is equivalent to a US 1.5 star or less.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkumar03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Manipal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This visit was for a family function and the choice of the hotel was by convenience. The event I was to attend was to be in the same hotel. This is a no frills, bare minimum. budget hotel. Large, sprawling land area in the middle of the city. May be ideal for overnight stay but definitely nothing longer. The breakfast buffet is deliciously South Indian and vegetarian.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

New Woodland is just an average hotel and it's not recommended if you want to stay more than a day. Just to relax for one day, you can opt this hotel. The service and room cleanness is below average. If you're planning to stay more than a day, better opt other three star hotels, not this one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BijuNilgiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in an AC Deluxe Room. The hotel is excellently located in the heart of Chennai - very close to Marina beach, US embassy, Nungambakkam and City Centre Mall. Unlike other hotels on Radhakrishnan Salai that are located practically on the road, New Woodlands has its own grounds over which the rooms are spread out and so one is not bothered by sounds of traffic. The rooms are clean and the hotel provides a range of toiletries. Wifi is available and complimentary. So is breakfast. Room service is quick. They also have a swimming pool which we did not check out.

The hotel has two restaurants Krishna and Vrindavan. Service in the latter is very poor. Both restaurants serve south Indian fare so I would recommend Krishna over Vrindavan.

The hotel is an excellent budget option in Chennai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
2.5 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
319 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#37 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
542 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Woodlands Hotel

Property: New Woodlands Hotel
Address: 72-75,Dr.Radhakrishnan Road, | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your New Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel Chennai
Hotel New Woodlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing