We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Anchor
Ranked #181 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

the hotel is located in the heart of chennai at mylapore,it is easily accessible.The rooms are good and tariff is reasonable.restaurant is available.service is good.It is suitable for staying with family.The Marina beach located nearby.overall i enjoyed my stay in the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjanManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, General Manager at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable review sir :-)

Regards,

Senthil Kumar
Business Head
Hotel Anchor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Coming from Paris, for business purpose, I stayed in Anchor Hotel for two nights. It has been my best experience in a big indian city for this category of hotels. All my requirements were met: rooms and bathrooms sparkly clean, spacious and full of natural light (at least in my room) safety ensured and very polite and extremely helpful team. I definitely will use it as my base whenever I have to stay in Chennai

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verynice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, General Manager at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable review ma'am!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been staying at this property since 1995 when it was under the Nilgiris management, and have found it to be Good Value for Money even today.

There have been some small problems when the new management was taking over, and some of these still need to be sorted out - like restaurant not operational, some bathrooms are not fully renovated.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is completely furnished - especially the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amulyapandit58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, General Manager at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your valuable review about our hotel.
Will rectify all the issues that you listed ASAP.

Regards,
Senthil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were a little worried about staying in Chennai as we were first time visitors and weren't accustomed with the language there.

But Anchor Hotel was soo warm and accomodative, their staff even helped us to go around the city without any inconvenience.

We have found our home in Chennai. Thanks Anchor Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrcognoscente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable review :-)
Please do visit us again to serve you:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at hotel anchor for 1 day & it was superb. The price is economical and perfectly suits for family. Would come back again. The hotel has got best deluxe rooms and is located at the heart of the city. We have the best happening pub beside and also malls very close by.
Overall I would rate 4.3/5 and happily suggest my friends to try out this space.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bharath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for your valuable review about us :-) Please do visit again:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is the best hotel in Chennai It was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely want to come back. I enjoyed every moment spent here. The ambiance of this property is superb ..The food served here is awesome and the staffs are very professional... I would suggest everyone to visit this place of you are in Chennai ..!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhushan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thanks for your review :-) Please do visit again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My stay in Chennai will always be Anchor. it's facilities and amenities are marvellous with homely atmosphere and excellent room service - staffs are very friendly and polite. easily accessible location in the heart of Chennai. Forgot to say about the pub, Anchor has an excellent pub. The food is so good.
24x7 call taxi cab assistance available which was very useful at odd times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugumarbalachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for the review :-) Please do visit again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
New Woodlands Hotel
#53 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Shelter Hotel
#179 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Hotel Oriental Inn
#204 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Executive Comfort UNA Xpress Myl...
#133 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Nungambakkam
Treebo Hive
Treebo Hive
#268 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Savera Hotel
#38 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anchor

Property: Hotel Anchor
Address: 105, Dr. Radhakrishnan Salai | Mylapore, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Anchor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Mylapore Anchor hotel is 15 kms away from International & Domestic airport. Distance from Railway/ Bus stand from the hotel is just 5 kms. While enjoying their stay here, guests can visit Marina beach just 1 kms. For business travelers U S Consulate is just 1km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing