We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Anchor
Nearby Hotels
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$217
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$138
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Club House(Chennai (Madras))
$132
$83
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$80
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$177
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$85
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$64
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$88
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$216
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
6
7
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
7
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 18 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have been staying at this property since 1995 when it was under the Nilgiris management, and have found it to be Good Value for Money even today.

There have been some small problems when the new management was taking over, and some of these still need to be sorted out - like restaurant not operational, some bathrooms are not fully renovated.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is completely furnished - especially the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amulyapandit58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, General Manager at Hotel Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your valuable review about our hotel.
Will rectify all the issues that you listed ASAP.

Regards,
Senthil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were a little worried about staying in Chennai as we were first time visitors and weren't accustomed with the language there.

But Anchor Hotel was soo warm and accomodative, their staff even helped us to go around the city without any inconvenience.

We have found our home in Chennai. Thanks Anchor Hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrcognoscente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your valuable review :-)
Please do visit us again to serve you:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at hotel anchor for 1 day & it was superb. The price is economical and perfectly suits for family. Would come back again. The hotel has got best deluxe rooms and is located at the heart of the city. We have the best happening pub beside and also malls very close by.
Overall I would rate 4.3/5 and happily suggest my friends to try out this space.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bharath N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for your valuable review about us :-) Please do visit again:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is the best hotel in Chennai It was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely want to come back. I enjoyed every moment spent here. The ambiance of this property is superb ..The food served here is awesome and the staffs are very professional... I would suggest everyone to visit this place of you are in Chennai ..!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhushan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for your review :-) Please do visit again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My stay in Chennai will always be Anchor. it's facilities and amenities are marvellous with homely atmosphere and excellent room service - staffs are very friendly and polite. easily accessible location in the heart of Chennai. Forgot to say about the pub, Anchor has an excellent pub. The food is so good.
24x7 call taxi cab assistance available which was very useful at odd times.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugumarbalachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorgroup, Owner at Hotel Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thanks for the review :-) Please do visit again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews