We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Chennai
Ranked #44 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was renovated recently. The restaurant in hotel is excellent both in food and the staff approach.The restaurant is spacious and wide range of food. The amount paid for buffet is worth to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spsunderraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at President Hotel & Towers . Your positive feedback has brought a smile to our entire team.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your dining experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at President Hotel & Towers Chennai

Warm regards

Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    229
    83
    37
    40
See reviews for
121
98
49
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Checked in for 4 nights and a supposedly 4 Star hotel lacks the service of even single star. On day 2, towels and sheets were not changed and when called for, they bought blood stained dirty towels. Asked for face towels and they got paper napkins!!! They didnt have a matchbox!!! And drinking water never came. The so called manager did not even apologize when feedback was given. Icing on the cake...they dont trust customers. Made us wait while the minibar was checked for any consumption. Spend a few more bucks and go for Hilton or Hyatt

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank J9W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback about your experience at President Hotel & Towers Chennai.

We sincerely regret the unfortunate event that you had to encounter during your recent stay in our hotel with regard to services in the Housekeeping especially with the towels. We have duly noted your feedback and we would like to inform we have taken corrective measures, we would like to assure you that this is not our standard and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused

Thank you for your feedback, it will surely assist us in enhancing our level of service and reach even higher standards of hospitality.

We will be glad to serve you again and will ensure that you have a perfect experience with us.

Kind regards
Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashik
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for the first time. At first the hotel looked too good to be true... I booked through a travel portal for under 4K a night, the location was good, the lobby and restaurants looked nice and the service was crisp.

But then I reached my room and everything changed. The state of the room was a shocker after my initial impression. There was dirt all over the place. The corners in the room had hair and even some shampoo sachets. It was as if no one had swept the room for a month.

The bed was unfortunately similar. On removing the top cover, I found that the bedsheets had hair and stains all over. It was clear that the sheets had not been changed after the last check-out.

The bathroom thankfully was ok. And by that I mean no roaches. The towels were yellow and the bath area had shampoo stains all over. It also had not been cleaned for a long time.

I had the breakfast in the restaurant the next morning and the food was excellent. I am worried about the cleanliness of the kitchen, based on the condition of the rooms, but the food taste was very good.

The confusing part for me was the quality of service. The service I received from the reception, bell boys, restaurant staff etc. was at par with any 5 star hotel in the country. I fail to understand how a hotel having such high standards of service can have such poor housekeeping. The rooms look like they belong to a 1 star hotel.. whereas the rest of the hotel is a 4 star property.

The wifi was not working. Anyway I was informed that the wifi was free only in lobby and paid in the rooms.

Even though this hotel is very convenient for my work, I will prefer to stay in Hotel Savera, which is more expensive but much cleaner than this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akshay1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Akshay,

We truly thank you for your detailed feedback about your experience at President Hotel & Towers Chennai.

We sincerely regret the unfortunate event that you had to encounter during your recent stay in our hotel with regard to Cleanliness of the room. We are really disheartened ourself with quality of room we have provided to our guests, this would have been one odd cases in lack of service in house keeping, we assure you that this is not our standards and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thanks for your constructive feedback once again, it will surely assist us in enhancing our level of service and reach even higher standards of hospitality.

We will be glad to serve you again and will ensure that you have a perfect experience with us.

Kind regards
Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the President Hotel and Towers for almost a week. I found the staff well trained and helpful - this is very important for me when I travel as the type of hospitality staff I meet makes or breaks my holiday! The room was large enough not to make me home sick and spotless!! I could compare the standard of this room to some of the five star hotels I have stayed abroad - 5-6 pillows and cushions; chocolates or petit fours are sent to the room and there was even a plate of fruits on the first day. The housekeeping staff do not disturb at odd timings and yet the rooms were cleaned every day.
The hotel had 2 excellent eateries - the Twenty Five hour - a café and Her Name is Ming, a pan Asian fine dining restaurant. Food at both these restaurants were clean, tasty and appealing. On the whole, I would highly recommend this hotel to all those who plan to go to Chennai. Furthermore it is very central and walking distance to the Chennai City Centre, a shopping mall with a cinema theatre, bookshop (yes Bookshop!!) and other shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefDevagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Chef Devagi,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at President Hotel & Towers . Your positive feedback has brought a big smile to our entire team.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like yours will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at President Hotel & Towers Chennai

Warm regards

Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The overall spread is excellent. Vegetarians have more options. The food tastes great. Hospitality is excellent. It's money's worth you get it in this buffet.
The sweet corn soup we had that day was very good.
There were many varieties of desserts.as vegetarians can't say any thing abt the non veg options. But they looked great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sankar01_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Sankar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at President Hotel & Towers . Your positive feedback has brought a smile to our entire team.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your meal and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at President Hotel & Towers Chennai

Warm regards

Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I usually travel to Chennai frequently and stay in Hotels in center of the city near to my office. This time I choose to stay at President Hotel and found to be a good place. The staff take care of all our needs which makes us to concentrate on our work. Rooms are good, the beds are clean. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay05_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Vinay,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at President Hotel & Towers . Your positive feedback has brought a smile to our entire team.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at President Hotel & Towers Chennai

Warm regards

Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good place to stay located heart of city shopping mall and beach are very close. Totally had good experince. And food was amazing I had Pan Asian Food experience in Her Name is Ming speciality Resturant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajithkunar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presidentchennai, Front Office Manager at Clarion Chennai, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Ajith Kumar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at President Hotel & Towers . Your positive feedback has brought a smile to our entire team.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at Her Name is Ming , feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at President Hotel & Towers Chennai

Warm regards

Abdul Hakeem
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.7 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#39 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#20 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#46 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#32 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#53 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#6 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Chennai

Property: Clarion Chennai
Address: #25 Dr Radha Krishnan Salai | Near U.S Consulate & City Centre, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India (Formerly The President Hotel and Towers)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion hotel is recently refurbished and upgraded is an ideal boutique hotel, be it for business or for fun. You can check-in to experience the world of hospitality comfort and the ambiance of the modern Indian cultural heritage.Retreat from the action of business and relax in our completely renovated guest rooms, Club rooms & suites with sweeping views of the beach, Dive into the comfort of our pillow-top beds and rest up for a big day ahead or enjoy the night in with a film from the channels available. All the rooms have been aesthetically designed and furnished with ultra-modern facilities like mini bar, 52" LED TV's, electronic safe, and tea/coffee making facility. The en-suite bathrooms come equipped with 24 hour hot/cold water, bathrobes, and luxury bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing