We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good for a Gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
Ranked #12 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice clean hotel, with friendly staff. The food can be better, and the bartender at Swirl has no idea how to make a Martini (stale black olives!). The pool is good, the gym is small. Rooms are large and well appointed. For work in this side of town and Velacherry, a good option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anirban72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your experience at the Gateway Hotel, Chennai. We have taken note of your points and will definitely work towards improving each and everyone of them. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel during your future visits and we look forward to giving you a much better experience in the times to come.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 742 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

Really impressed with this hotel and anyone visiting Chennai I would highly recommend,

The hotel is very comfortable as soon from checking in to checking out end to end process and the room had everything in it you could want and the staff were very good in all areas of the hotel.

I was very impressed by the Oriental restaurant and the duck and pineapple was superb with the rice bowls being as big as cantaloupe melons, enough to share for 4 people.

The spa amazing had a haircut which outclassed anything in the UK including washing my fairs in oils and I was very impressed they had blade 2 in India, and the cut itself made me look human.

My only criticism was the breakfast, and the green stuff in my omelette which was definitely not mushroom and it would have been good to have just been left alone during breakfast.

Great stay great hotel :0)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Chennai and we thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your experience at the hotel. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and have noted your comments about the breakfast. Needless to say, we will take corrective measures to ensure that we improve on this area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and assure you of the best in hospitality at all times.

Thank you once again

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The hotel is established with new building, new furnitures.Everthing clean and brillant.
Smiling stuff ,fresh air, comfort rooms, daily cleaned pool, delicious meals , etc everything is there..Espicially i impressed with meet expert , clever and kind stuff. I stayed there and i felt comfort of my home..
Thanks Gateway's Team for everthing :) ...S.K.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel during your future visits to Chennai.

Thank you once again

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The entire experience provided by this hotel is awesome. Right from the entrance where you are greeted courteously by the security guards, to the bell boys who are so attentive, everything seems to happen in sync. The people at the reception are welcoming and provide a quick and fluent check in experience. Whoever you meet at the lobby or the corridor carry a genuine caring smile and are ready to help. The people who serve here at the restaurants are the best i have ever seen in a hotel. they dont intrude during your meal as most others do yet are very attentive and they remember all your likes and dislikes and serve you accordingly. The chefs here are magicians. The room boys are amazing. they ensure the room is kept clean and are very attentive to details. They make the entire experience in your room. The managers here are ready to help at any given point of time and go out of the way to ensure all your needs are met. Wifi could be given complimentary along with the room stay. A really wonderful place to stay and dine in chennai. This place can be visited any number of times just for the warmth shown by the staff here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dineba10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback! We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel. We look forward to your future visits and assure you of the best in hospitality at all times.

Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel after a very comfortable and enjoyable stay for 3 days. The staff are professional and attentive with the overall guest experience equal to that I have experienced in top European hotels.
The hotel is quite new also so that is very good to experience. The spa, fitness centre and pool are very good too.
I recommend this hotel and I will stay here on my next triptoo Chennai.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank turbine_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

We thank you for your feedback and do appreciate the time that you have taken out to give us this rating. It has been a pleasure having you with us at the Gateway and we look forward to welcoming you back again during your future visits. Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel opened just 8 months back, so everything new and everything works. Decorated in minimal & contemporary style, the lobby is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, but the bathroom is too tight for a 5* hotel standard. The breakfast was good, but the waiter forgot to get me my coffee, even though I had reminded him twice. When I complained, they sent the coffee to my room immediately. The restaurant was OK, but the food was not exciting, just like most 5* hotel food in India. I was put off by the heavy charge for wi-fi, whereas most hotels now offer it for free.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amulya_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

We thank you for the feedback given for your visit to the Gateway Hotel. We have noted the areas where we need to improve and will most definitely work towards correcting the same. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that it might have caused you during your visit. It will be our pleasure to have you stay again at the Gateway Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in future. Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a day. The Room was spacious with great decor and facilities. The hotel has a business class ambience with a touch of southern heritage imbibed within. Restaurant serves great food... really enjoyed the street food festival and the breakfast buffet. Don't miss the filter coffee! Pleasant, courteous and helpful staff. Altogether, I enjoyed the stay and would come back any day!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank highwaystar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Chennai team!

Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback. We are most delighted that you had an excellent stay at the hotel. We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again during your future visits to Chennai. Assuring you of the best in hospitality at all times. Thank you once again!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Aloft Chennai, OMR - IT Expressw...
#46 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
434 reviews
Novotel Chennai Sipcot
#11 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
505 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,561 reviews
Hotel ibis Chennai Sipcot
#7 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
437 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai

Address: 309 Chennai Old Mahabalipuram Road | Sholinganallur, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supreme comfort and technological convenience highlight our various room categories. We have 200 elegantly appointed rooms including 4 luxurious suites. The rooms are well equipped to cater to the needs of business and leisure travellers alike. Every room is designed for comfort and convenience and comes with a King-size bed or twin beds. These modern rooms are suitably equipped with a 40” LED TV, a DVD player on request and a bathroom with a walk-in glass shower cubicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing