We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nascent but great potential” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nascent but great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Yes the other reviews listed, all come with their share of pros and cons, and are perfectly valid in any informed decision making deliberation.
Having said that, my stay was great!
I was there on a business trip for just 1 night.. was very comfortably checked into the room, in the room itself, and did not have to wait at the reception.. a big plus having missed a flight, landed late, wrapped up clients in 1 hour before walking in at 10 pm for a 2 pm originally scheduled check-in, exhausted..
To top it, I was accommodated when I requested a higher grade room with a better view... and slept like a baby..
And Caroline, the efficient lady responsible for the entire staff training, made sure my morning meditation was not disturbed at the poolside, guided me to the breakfast buffet, where Rajesh offered to promptly serve me some healthy fresh juice extracted there and then, customized to the T.. (beetroot, cucumber, bitter gourd, ginger and lime --- brahmi leaves and leek thrown in for added benefits!!).. the tea served next at the poolside was also excellent, the huge full cup served very well the craving for home tea.
Plus the healthy options for breakfast - like the wheat and bajra upma, recipes promptly shared by the chefs upon request...

Nascent yes, but has great potential to live up to the Taj brand name.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms with in the centre wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raykha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai and thank you very much for your kind response. We truly appreciate the time that you have taken to give us your valuable feedback and are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel during your future visits and wish you a wonderful year ahead.

Thank you once again

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    177
    36
    9
    4
See reviews for
42
17
13
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose this location for our Sunday brunch as it was close to home and my spouse's company utilizes this location. We were hoping that since it was a newer hotel, it would be clean and efficient. Not so! We were attending brunch with friends and young children. After placing our orders and waiting quite a long time, we learned that the waffle maker was out of commission. Not a good thing with toddlers and young children waiting to be disappointed. We asked for eggs and learned that eggs are not served. Water or soda not part of the brunch price, pretty ridiculous! Can of soda priced at 7 times the regular price, pretty extreme. I understand this is a hotel but for a thousand rupees for a brunch at least water should be included. I asked for a price adjustment since one of our kids literally took a bite of a single piece of meat, which was tough and then had nothing else to eat until the Mgr on duty agreed to cook a couple eggs for the kid. We are not picky but this truly was a disappointing visit. Being a Taj facility, we did have higher expectations and were failed indeed. Will not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieD2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

We thank you for your valuable feedback and truly express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that had been caused to you and your family during your brunch experience, this sunday. Needless to say, we will leave no stone unturned to correct these aspects to ensure a great experience for our esteemed guests. We would appreciate if you could kindly give us an opportunity to give you and your family a memorable experience in the true tradition of the hospitality provided by the Taj. We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of the best services and facilities at all times.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajjhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The new hotel on OMR is a very welcome addition! It is close to all the IT companies and is nice in every way. The rooms are nice and clean, the wifi the best I have experienced in Chennai and the staff very helpful. The food in Buzz restaurant is very nice both the Indian cuisine and the western food, here again the staff is full of suggestions and remembers what you like and not. I also tried the SPA. The treatments I got were very nice however not everything they claimed to have in the brochure was actually available!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Malvegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Warm Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at the Gateway Hotel. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will ensure that we take corrective action immediately. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel. Wishing you a great year ahead.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Gateway is a new hotel on OMR. This hotel is perfect for both business travelers as well as families. Swimming pool is quite nice & their food is amazing. We liked their Chinese restaurant a lot. Airport s not very farm from the hotel so, its a good option to stay if you have hopping flight from Chennai. Till now price per night of hotel is affordable & I hope its remain in the similar range!! Staff is very courteous. Breakfast spread is really nice.Overall I would recommend this hotel for people who are on business travel as well as who are in Chennai for leisure trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manisha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai

Thank you very much for your warm response regarding your experience at the Gateway Hotel. It is truly appreciated and we will ensure that we will keep up the same enthusiasm and energy in the times to come. We look forward to your future visits and assure you of our hospitality and services at all times. Thank you once again.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

OMR Chennai, is surrounded by IT companies and the latest addition of branded hotel on this road is Taj group's Gateway hotel. The Hotel has typical Business Hotel look and feel. However, this hotel scores over competition on many counts. Better room size, Variety food options on property & around, Better Gym - swimming pool facilities , Better toiletries and most importantly very good service. I would rate him the best option on OMR for business hotel. Hope they stick to the price tag for some more time so that it is with lodging limits of IT professionals

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramodvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai!

We thank you very much for your valuable feedback and are delighted that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities and hospitality at all times. Wishing you a great year ahead!

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ended up staying at this property by chance, due to a flight goof up, but boy are we glad that we did! What a cute place. Brand new, opened in August, 2013, quite well located in the IT area and about 15 kms from the airport (but it took us only 20 mins to and from the airport), so it doesnt seem like much actually. The rooms are cute and comfortable, with the signature Taj touches, we took advantage of the wonderful pool that they have and it was quite relaxing. The highlight of our one night stay was the food ofcourse...they helped arrange special meals for my almost 2 year old son and I really need to thank them for that. We ofcourse freaked out at their Chinese speciality restaurant - Sian. Chef Pandey is a magician! We had left our meal upto him, given him our preferences and he dished out one of the best chinese meals we have had in a long time. So much so that we had our lunch and dinner both from Sian!! Having said that, their breakfast spread is great too, with all the south indian options it was a treat for us! A special mention for all the servers at Sian and Buzz ( I think Archana and Susmita, there were others but I fail to recall their names) who managed my son and allowed us to enjoy our meals in peace!! The Front Office guys were also helpful with arranging for our travel within the city. Overall a great experience, Cheers to the GM Mr. Ranjit Shankar for a wonderful hotel and such amazing staff. Next time in Chennai this is where we will be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank velocitied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so very much for your valuable feedback. It is truly appreciated. Look forward to having you back with us in Chennai and wishing you and family a wonderful and prosperous year.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel is about 40 minutes from the airport.Checked in late night and was given a road facing room. Though the windows had double glazing traffic noise was an issue through the night which was quite disconcerting for someone who is a light sleeper. As I was told the hotel was sold out - shifting was not an option I had during my stay. The hotel itself is fairly new and functional - the provision of an iron was very convenient. Breakfast had a good spread with an option of freshly prepared juices which was quite unique. The dinner buffet was a bit of let down both in terns of the food and service.

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurgaonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranjit S, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the Gateway Hotel IT Expressway, Chennai. We have taken note of your comments and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that it caused to you during your stay. We will most certainly take the necessary steps to ensure that it is corrected. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and will definitely block a quieter room for you during your next visit. Wishing you the compliments of the season and a wonderful year ahead.

Warm Regards

Ranjit Shankar
General Manager
The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
email: ranjit.shankar@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#15 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai

Property: The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai
Address: 309 Old Mahabalipuram Road | Sholinganallur, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 386 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Supreme comfort and technological convenience highlight our various room categories. We have 200 elegantly appointed rooms including 4 luxurious suites. The rooms are well equipped to cater to the needs of business and leisure travellers alike. Every room is designed for comfort and convenience and comes with a King-size bed or twin beds. These modern rooms are suitably equipped with a 40” LED TV, a DVD player on request and a bathroom with a walk-in glass shower cubicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Gateway Hotel IT Expressway Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing