We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down Aruna”

Hotel Aruna Chennai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Ranked #255 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Aruna Hotel , which was apparently a part of the Holiday Inn chain must have been excellent then .
Now the hotel is run down with problems in getting hot water in the shower !.
Room service Menu is very expensive and dissuades one from having a satisfying meal . The bufet offered and the service at the restaurent is far from satisfactory although the hotel charges Rs 300/ per person for the buffet . They offer only NV soup and vegies have to forego the soup!.
The hotel continues to live in the past glory!.
I would not recommend another stay although it is centrally located .

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank VEEKAYBagalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

To start with it took 7 rooms to get a somewhat stayable room. Dirty linnen, carpets, foul smeeling odor. Once in i was just unpacking when a glass piece pricked me in the leg. After contacting the lobby, instead of the manager coming, one cleaner comes with a stick broom to clean the carpet. Instead of cleaning the carpet heleft more tiny pieces of thin wood strips which kept poking. And to top it all, I would not feed the stray dogs with their food.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank surdy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Hotel from hell!!. You will be welcomed by the old moldy carpet. Beds were dirty with footprints and 'hair'. Bathroom was unusable. Clogged the first hour because the basin was cracked and a dirty faucet. Toilet was worse than the Public toilets - it appeared that the toilet have not been cleaned in ages and the grime just hardened over the time. Same with the shower cracked and hard grime. Paid Rs.3250 for the dump (US $84 ). Isn't there a Government department that does some kinda checks?

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ascetic_rapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

We were a party of 26, arrived at 2.0PM. Having read the previous comments by others, we did inform our Travel agent in Mumbai the standard of this hotel before hand. We were assured that the hotel had been refurbished and all will be OK. What no body knew was that only 2nd floor was refurbished - more later. We were allocated 13 twin bedded rooms on the 5th & the 6th floor. The rooms on the 5th floor were so dirty and smelly and in one case there were cockroaches in the bathroom. All on the 5th floor were relocated on the 2nd floor, the refurbished rooms! The only thing refurbished were the sink unit & taps and the bedroom carpets replaced by tiles. The decor was the same, filthy & smelly. When I turned on the shower coffee coloured water came for ten minutes before so called clear water came This left the bath tub all filthy and had to have it cleaned before using it. The colleagues on the 6th floor had smelly room and the air con did not work in some, The fridges also had wrong plugs so they did not worked either. The corridor carpets have never been vacuumed for ages. The cap it all one member saw a rat in the conference room next to the bar on the second floor.
The best thing the Indian Tourist Board can do is to get the misery out of the management and down grade the 4* hotel to the cattle shed.
Do not get taken in by the hotel web site & the photos. The guest comments book in the reception makes an interesting reading. No body had a good word to say.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oewamember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2007

The website photos are misrepresentative, and the facilities are disappointing. There was no hot water in the shower or basin and the cleanliness was inadequate.
The external phone line was not able to connect requiring calls to be routed through the operator (even local calls).
The incoming line was also not connecting making it impossible to receive calls.
This is not a place to be considered 'value for money' - even in Chennai.
Fortunately the broadband internet did function and was 'free' so this is a benefit, also the room A/C was effective and quiet, and the room was spacious, but the bedding was in need of replacement.
The restaurant on the 2nd floor was quiet (due to few guests) but the food was reasonable and the staff were friendly enough.

Although I gave it the lowest available rating 'terrible' is stating it too badly, there are worse in Chennai - but I will continue to look for the right balance - this was the Ramada Raj Park until they hiked their tariff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Frank07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We just returned from Chennai after staying at Aruna for 2 nights. The experience at this Hotel has been horrible. When we landed , we were provided a room on the 3rd floor which had a DIRTY entrance and then room was leaking thru the aircon Duct . Then we were shifted to another room which was ok. But Room service at the Hotel is aweful. When we asked for Mineral Water the room Servic guy says " Sir , No stock!!!! " Then I complainted to the Front Office and they said , Sorry , but we never got the mineral Water we asked for during our stay. We had to purchase the bottles from outside. SUCH IS THE STATUS OF A SUPPOSEDLY 4 STAR HOTEL.

Breakfast Serving at the Hotel requires much to be improved . Not once I could get the items which were supposed to have been!!! No refilling at all in Cut fruits and snacks. I strongly recommend fellow travellers that please check before you stay at this Hotel. In the Chennai sun , you may end up getting dehydrated as you may not get the Mineral Water Bottles when you want!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BangaloreItisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Have stayed in approximately 20 hotels in India over the last six years and this was the worst experience ever. The first room allocated was disgusting. It smelled of damp and mold, the carpet was full of cigarette burns and stains. Got a room change and that was not better, bad disrepair, would not put your feet on the carpet, stained and full of burns. The electricts were bad. The service was so bad from food to reception.

The web site for the hotel looked good, including the swimming pool, which was full of green algie.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmitchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#55 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
190 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#70 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#291 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
3,049 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#9 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,609 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aruna Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruna Chennai

Address: 144 - 145 Sterling Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aruna Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story hotel in the heart of downtown & major shopping area; offers luxurious, spacious rooms for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aruna Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aruna Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing