We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Crescent Park Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Avenue Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Goutham Manor(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belstead(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Royal Park(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
Harrisons Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ranjith(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park View Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Arunachala(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
6
25
17
9
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
25
17
9
18
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 75 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I had seen some recent reviews about unresponsive reception staff and poor service. But still decided to book this one because of the location. Its bang in the centre of Numgambakkam and close to all the big shopping centres and other attractions and it is easy to get back to the hotel after outings even at late hours because of this. So that is the most important plus point. Second Plus point : Spacious and well kept rooms. Its quite an old building, and older constructions are usually more liberal with space, but you don't notice this age inside the room as they are well maintained. Third Plus : The restaurants - especially Sigree (excellent barbecue cuisine). Minuses - 1. Very small and inadequate swimming pool. 2. Poor room service. 3. No hot water - we only got lukewarm water once (for 15 minutes or so) during the entire 2 days stay.

My take on some of the comments made by other recent reviewers : 1. Staff seemed to be courteous - we didn't notice any issue with this; 2. Maintenance/renovation work : Didn't actually face any inconvenience because of this on our floor - in fact we didn't notice any signs of the renovation work at all apart for the lift being switched off for half an hour at one time - maybe the lack of hot water has something to do with this. 3.Breakfast : though not up to luxury hotel standards, there was enough variety and quality. Care had been taken to provide South Indian and North Indian dishes along with eggs and dosas to order. Continental fare at the breakfast buffet was limited to Cereal, croissants, etc without any non-veg items (sausages/cold cuts).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LManghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are currently staying at this hotel and from the moment we entered the reception area, it has been a horrible and terrible experience.
Firstly, the entrance is shabby with worn threadbare rugs at the door, then a horrible musty smell greets you in the reception area. The staff are the most apathetic, lazy and dull people you can imagine. The room which is allotted to us ( Room No.311) ( and this at over Rs.3000 for a night) smells very musty- of mould and dirt. Pillow covers are soiled, tiles are coming out form the bathroom and there are swarms of mosquitoes flying around . The place reeks of neglect and a 'don't care' attitude. For everything you have to call reception at least thrice, beg and then shout for them to take the least bit of notice. When you ask for coffee sachets, you get tea bags. Although the hotel is advertised as having wi-fi, when we tried to log on, we could not. Each time we called the Reception, they said they would call us back with the user name and password. Finally when we went up to the reception asking for the user name and password, they said someone had to come to give wifi connection to the hotel!!! When we requested that our room be changed, we were told that all rooms are full and there is some renovation going on ( although we could see no signs of any renovation!!)

There is NOTHING to recommend in this place. Please, fellow travelers, don't make the mistake we made and kindly avoid this hotel like plague. This place is just not worth your hard earned money. I cannot understand why travel sites such as Goibibo and Make my trip sells them to unsuspecting guests like myself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vrinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Please do not go to Aruna if you are expecting polite staff and a business hotel. The staff at the reception is downright rude. I was told " you could have never got such a rate" from the receptionist who could not even find my reservation. It was the most humiliating experience at a hotel reception I have faced. There is no buffet for dinner and you are not provided room service without these facilities after arranging for a long-term visit. Don't use this hotel if you are on a hectic business trip. The hotel staff will not be able to help you in any manner or adjust whatsoever.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriyaV29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I feel the biggest plus, because of which the hotel commands all the good reviews, is the location and the size of the rooms. Unmatched.

I visit Chennai frequently and this hotel isn't one of my preferred ones. Yet in a span of a month I have stayed here twice. Simply because of the locational advantage.

Service, QC, greeting, lobby, late night room service, mosquitoes, ineffective geyser, are some areas of concern. Breakfast and food in-general is extremely simplistic and one can tell that its from the same kitchen. This is one hotel where I experienced lights at the lobby, reception and the entrance are switched off post 11pm and there is only one staff who sits in that darkness in a corner.

But the location is absolutely perfect for all business tourists and the rooms, both standard and superior, are clean and really bigger than normal.

Reluctant to recommend but for the price I think it's worth it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank screennameistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed in Aruna hotel for 5 days on a business stay. I have been allocated in a spacious room and was impressed the management had welcomed me with a basket of complementary fruits

Hotel is close to the city and one can move around to closer shopping area in T.Nagar and one can never miss the shopping area in T. Nagar and good food joints around the place

Shiva/Vishnu temple is also closer to the T. Nagar shopping area and one can visit this which is an important land mark in T.Nagar

Food at the hotel can be improved, some of interiors need improvement as they are very old

Room Tip: Rooms on the II floor are good and spacious
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews