We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay!”

Hotel Aruna Chennai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Ranked #246 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed in Aruna hotel for 5 days on a business stay. I have been allocated in a spacious room and was impressed the management had welcomed me with a basket of complementary fruits

Hotel is close to the city and one can move around to closer shopping area in T.Nagar and one can never miss the shopping area in T. Nagar and good food joints around the place

Shiva/Vishnu temple is also closer to the T. Nagar shopping area and one can visit this which is an important land mark in T.Nagar

Food at the hotel can be improved, some of interiors need improvement as they are very old

Room Tip: Rooms on the II floor are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 74 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had scheduled a visa interview in Chennai. This hotel is fairly close the US consulate and US OFC office (all within 5 KM range). The breakfast was sufficiently good and so was the sleep quality at the hotel, although we found a few mosquitos in our room, which was on 3rd floor, and little problem with the TV, initially, but qickly fixed by hotel staff.

Other than this, we found that the hotel is well maintained and very neat and hygenic. We would definitely recommend this hotel for people visit Chennai for US visa interview.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PranavOjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had stayed at The Aruna on a personal visit and stayed there for 2 days. I was fortunate to stay in the 5th floor and the room was very good. The toilet was very well-maintained and looked very clean. The breakfast offered is good but the service has to improve.

Room Tip: i recommend rooms on the 5th floor are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roneo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel Aruna is chennai' local three star chain hotel. The staff was really helpful and even packed us our breakfast since we had to catch an early morning flight from chennai. It is closer to the mall just about 2-4 kms away. The rooms are average but the size is good compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Let me start with the location i feel is centrally located ( i might be wrong considering my limited knowledge of chennai) well I had work at kilpauk, so the distance of my work from the hotel was not much, the food is good, also there are good restaurants like mainland china, sigree etc just outside.. all the auto and taxi walas seem to know the hotel so no difficulty getting here at any time of the night. there were slight probs that I did face but the staff were co operative and helpful to sort it out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shishirjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Regularly use this property during business trips to Chennai. Always left with a good experience.

positives
a) excellent location, everything is a short distance away, which is very useful in Chennai
b) breakfast is good with a wide spread
c) the hotel has multiple fine dining choices, which makes your evening dinner choices simpler
d) good, friendly staff
e) good price, for the location and the service being offered

negatives
f) some of the rooms are run down and in serious need of re-refurbishment. Some of the rooms has paint peeling off and some toilets have moss on the partitions.

Overall, an excellent choice for business. Conveniently located close to Mount road and Nungambakkam

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the left hand side, when you come out of the elevator, seem to be better maintaine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobAbraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

hotel is overall good. Although they claimed me that hotel is 0.5 km from Shanker Netralaya but I found this claim was wrong because this hotel is 1.5 km away from Shanker Netralaya main and more than 3.00 km from JKCN. The company should not give false statement at the time of booking.
I booked this hotel for 2 person but we were three. Hotel charged me Rs 1000 extra for additional bed without giving me additional bed and additional facilities. They started giving me additional facilities only while I insisted them to do so but till the last day they have not given me the additional bed. We spent all three night with a single bed. cleartrip must keep all this things into consideration while making promises to guests. Foods were good and up to the standard.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank P K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Belstead
The Belstead
#72 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
40 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Crescent Park Hotel
Crescent Park Hotel
#137 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
32 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#272 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,994 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aruna Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruna Chennai

Address: 144 - 145 Sterling Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aruna Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story hotel in the heart of downtown & major shopping area; offers luxurious, spacious rooms for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aruna Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aruna Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing