We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chennai express”

Hotel Aruna Chennai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Ranked #232 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Varanasi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“chennai express”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

hotel is overall good. Although they claimed me that hotel is 0.5 km from Shanker Netralaya but I found this claim was wrong because this hotel is 1.5 km away from Shanker Netralaya main and more than 3.00 km from JKCN. The company should not give false statement at the time of booking.
I booked this hotel for 2 person but we were three. Hotel charged me Rs 1000 extra for additional bed without giving me additional bed and additional facilities. They started giving me additional facilities only while I insisted them to do so but till the last day they have not given me the additional bed. We spent all three night with a single bed. cleartrip must keep all this things into consideration while making promises to guests. Foods were good and up to the standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank P K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    17
    9
    18
See reviews for
9
4
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

i recently visited to aruna hotel location is quite very much popular and rooms are maintained but food and the charges for the rooms are not worthy comparing many other star hotels are providing suite rooms in the same tariff...and the lobby area is fill with smoke smell, tv is not working even after complaining no response for it...great thing is wi-fi is complementary thank for that service some how time has passed...!

Room Tip: fifth floor rooms are good and second floor has swimming pool..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sangameshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is good,even the staffs are polite & impressive,the hotel needs to spend more on the decor & ambiance.they have a real good chance on improvement.The rooms are maintained well,The only problem is the out look where they have failed to impress their guest. I really loved the food offered there. The biriyani was really nice. as i happened to stay there only one day, i could not experience the whole of aruna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nothingbutbest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is truly for those on business trip with mid-budget. Rooms are neat and clean and well maintained. Bathrooms are spacious & neatly done except that showers taps shot in all direction except your body parts :). Staff & service is great round the clock. Breakfast is average and just good enough to fill you up in the morning before you rush out.

Specialty of this place is choice of Restaurants in adjacent building - Sigree, Mainland China & Fusion Bar. All these places serves great food and experience.

This hotel stay is value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishalgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have stayed here quite a few times and have observed a fall in their offerings as well as quality. While the rooms are spacious, they are not maintained well - the quality of the lighting and walls leaves much to be desired and so are the amenities provided. Previously, they used to offer decent branded toiletries including soap, shampoo, shaving kit and body talc. Now it is just some cheap/local offers. Shaving kit is offered only if you request. In my recent visit, I was skeptical to use their soap and shampoo that I bought something from outside. While the breakfast is complementary, it is boring to see that there is no variety including the music that is played. The dining area becomes cramped if there are even 20 guests at the same time. If you are on a tight budget, then it is okay, else, look for something better...may be Lemon Tree!

Room Tip: The one close to the lifts and facing the road. Prefer floors 5 and 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NityaVasantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had the chance to stay at ARUNA Chennai during my couple of last visits to Chennai. Hotel is good but not managed properly. Rooms are really spacious but the food quality is not upto the mark . Speacially the breakfast is just avearge

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very near to city center and some well known educational institution.
Stay is good and polite staffs..sometimes the lobby and restaurants become too much noisy because of too much staffs around..
Food not much too say..needs very big improvements in food...needs colour coding for veg and non-veg foods..
Wifi is good...
Rooms need some maintenance in wall and floors..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Crescent Park Hotel
Crescent Park Hotel
#106 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Goutham Manor
Hotel Goutham Manor
#179 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Nungambakkam
Harrisons Hotel
Harrisons Hotel
#99 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Avenue Hotel
#51 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Savera Hotel
#40 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#54 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aruna Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruna Chennai

Property: Hotel Aruna Chennai
Address: 144 - 145 Sterling Road, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aruna Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story hotel in the heart of downtown & major shopping area; offers luxurious, spacious rooms for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aruna Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aruna Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing