We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, bad food”

Hotel Aruna Chennai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Ranked #231 of 393 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good rooms, bad food”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well, was put up here due to pre-bookings by my travel team.
The inside of the hotel looks good(lobby and corridor). The rooms were spacious and large. There was also free wi-fi. That is where the positives ended.
The breakfast was nothing great. Not much variety and not so great taste.
Stayed for a night, and that night I cam back pretty late, so ordered for room service. Ordered a chicken biryani...and to tell the truth, it was the WORST chicken biryani I had ever tasted. No flavor in the rice or chicken..!!
For fitness buffs(like me) the gym is also a big let down. Only 2 treadmills, 1 elliptic trainer and 1 all-in-one; no weights. The gym room is like a small store room and lacked any ventilation.

Around the Hotel there are quite a few eating choices though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul_Birla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    17
    9
    18
See reviews for
9
4
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Though it looks little old and not maintained to the standards of the other hotels, this place has excellent restuarants, the spa is too good, they have bali trained professionals, the ambience of spa is very nice, the mainland china is the best chinese outlet in chennai,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drpoorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice efficient and well run hotel in the heart of the city. Everything that I needed was only a 20 min drive at max. Service was fast, responsive and courteous. Food was nice and the South Indian breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

One among the bad hotel in this class. The hotel is renovated but even after renovation, the room are bad. The smell of wood polish is still strong, the smell of fly repellent was irritating. Over and above all this, the service was very pathetic... I felt like staying in a lodge than a FORTUNE hotel. I had to check-in my friends as they were new to Chennai - within the 60 min I stayed, 2 people came to check how many people are staying in the room, a phone call from reception to check the same thing again... I can't imagine a hotel being so desperate to bill the customer within 60 min of check-in... all this check even after I told the reception while check-in that I will confirm on the number people who will stay by evening. We got so annoyed and told the reception to bill for 3 people.... but I checked-out within 3 hours as I was booked into a different hotel. The rooms were dark and the TV wasn't working properly... the interiors in the room were broken and the carpets were bad. the AC took its time to cool...... the service was bad. Everyone are too curious and hence each person working in the hotel intrude into your privacy. I had thought of hosting an official event in this hotel and my plan was to stay for 3 days... but with this bad experience we decided to check-out after 1 night and we got into another hotel.. which was great and a good decision.


One mistake on my part, though I was warned in tripadvisor by few people, I still went ahead with this choice as the location of the hotel was close to the embassy. But I paid dearly for that - FYI: 5th floor rooms are nice and when you ask them to show a sample room, they always show these good rooms but the actual room we get are not as good as the sample / demo rooms. One more user as well had mentioned the same comment.....So beware !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for over 2 weeks for official purpose. Simply loved the rooms, cleanliness, the gym.. Pool.... Although the buffet breajfast could have been better, they try to compensate by providing items from the menu for free. The free wifi is really great. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshMittal0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Aruna has been undergoing a makeover since over an year now and converting into a Fortune property...but sadly no work seems to be happening on that front. The rooms are clean, location is good and the breakfast is at par with all 4 star hotels in the city. One of the best 2 reminder service available anywhere :) But all said and done the restaurants in the adjoinging building Mainland China and Fusion 9 are just delectable. If you're new to the city or don't feel like going out this hotel is the place to be. Not recommended for vacationing, great for business travel (only required for sleep)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Recently stayed for four nights whilst visiting son in Chennai. We were very impressed with the hotel, the rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. All reception and concierge staff were extremely polite, helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable but the glass walled bathroom was a bit of a shock. Breakfast was disappointing, the food was poor quality and the two staff were very offhand, unlike the rest of the staff. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool courtyard were very quiet considering location in middle of busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Crescent Park Hotel
Crescent Park Hotel
#115 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Goutham Manor
Hotel Goutham Manor
#189 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Nungambakkam
Harrisons Hotel
Harrisons Hotel
#112 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Avenue Hotel
#52 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#55 of 393 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aruna Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruna Chennai

Property: Hotel Aruna Chennai
Address: 144 - 145 Sterling Road, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aruna Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story hotel in the heart of downtown & major shopping area; offers luxurious, spacious rooms for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aruna Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aruna Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing