We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUDGET HOTEL”

Hotel Aruna Chennai
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Aruna Chennai
Ranked #246 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is located in the central area of chennai on Sterling Road whic is close to Loyala college. The hotel is located close to Central railway station about 15 mns from the station. The hotel is in the process of getting rebranded under the Fortune of ITC group. The work is going on and the hotel continues to operate under the brand Aruna only. The 5th floor rooms are done up and they are quite good. The other floors are still being done and it is better to request the room in the 5th floor. The breakfast selection was very limited but it was still ok to manage with the indain food but to my surprise next day breakfast menu was also the same as of day 1 which i felt was little odd. The hotel did provide free wifi but which gets disconnected the minute you leave part of the lobby and it was not working in the room, every time you go little away from the lobby and come back you will have to login again remembeing all the details. I feel the stay was ok not a great stay.

Room Tip: Request for the rooms on the 5th floor which is done up just now,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARUN63512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spend only 1 night. Room was clean and minibar had cold soft drinks. Tried the pool in the morning and it was a little worn out. Breakfast was disappointing with a very small selection. The gym was small but suitable if you were the only using it. There is a good Treadmill.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our party of 12 stayed here from 07th to 11th August. Was thoroughly impressed with the value and service from a 3-star hotel. A big plus is that most of the staff understand basic English. The unlimited free Wi-Fi was an added benefit. Good cation, good value. Will recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked 18 rooms at this hotel for our college industrial visit. Just a couple of days before my stay I had a shock reading the earlier reviews.
Regardless, too late to book anything else, we decided to go ahead with it. Today is the last day of my stay and I have to say itwas a lovely experience! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I had the club rooms on the 6th floor, which are in good condition. We got an excellent deal booking so many rooms! They have free wifi throughout the hotel and the breakfast is decent. Its located around 45-50 mins away from the airport. The only downside was the food at their restaurant which was included in our package. However there is a restaurant Sigdi which has amazing Indian food and another Mainland China right besides it.
I have to say I'm extremely happy with my stay. Upon further enquiry I found out that they are getting the fortune tag, thus renovating parts of the hotel.
Talk to Dawood, he helped me with everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

To be very honest, stayed here for three day but it was on work. Typically spent the whole day outside and came back to the hotel late at night. Didn't really use any recreation facilities or the pool. The reason for choosing the place was proximity where I was going to spend my day working.
Overall, my impression of the place is decent, clean, professional service. The lobby has a beautiful mural of the sun god (the has remained in my mind). The Breakfast buffet is decent. I ordered room service when I was there and remembering ordering Chinese. My usual complaint with Chinese soups/food is that by the time it reaches you room its luke warm and Chinese really aught to be had piping hot. I remember specifically asking for and getting piping hot soups and stir fries. Rooms are decent sized and beds comfortable. All in all, satisfactory !!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank shubhangiathalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

very poor, stayed there for one month...no hospitality at all..........every request is taken as granted & any body should have atleast 3 days to fullfill the request.....
no attention..
poor service.
not recommended...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Rooms are ok but for the price the service is horrific and staff are very rude and unhelpful. Swiiming pool is very dirty so do not swim and breakfast is equally as bad. Avoid this place if u can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
The Belstead
The Belstead
#72 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
40 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Crescent Park Hotel
Crescent Park Hotel
#137 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
32 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Park Avenue Hotel
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#272 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,994 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aruna Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aruna Chennai

Address: 144 - 145 Sterling Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam/Marina Beach , Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aruna Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 6-story hotel in the heart of downtown & major shopping area; offers luxurious, spacious rooms for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aruna Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aruna Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing