We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, beautiful & centrally located”
Review of Savera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savera Hotel
Ranked #42 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant, beautiful & centrally located”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel Savera scores very high from all aspects of comfortable stay, food, amenities, location etc... Food is simply mouth watering with a huge number of options available starting from indian dishes to chinese. I could not resist getting up from the dining hall. The location is very near to Marina beach where you can spend your evening walk and one more feel good factor is that they provide you bicycles for roaming to near by places. A ride on the bicycle ensures a good exercise and a good travel option. Enjoy your pleasant stay at Savera at value for money tariffs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors give you good panoramic view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BALU3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    424
    259
    68
    41
See reviews for
228
97
118
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hotel Savera is clean, decent hotel except for the carpet smell in the hotel passage lining between the rooms. They have courteous staff. With 4 restaurants, food options are also plenty. Do check the room before you check in as the few rooms have really small beds in single room. Executive room on fifth floor didnt have good plugs for charging laptop or mobile. Over all good hotel. Have stayed there thrice.

Room Tip: Always check the room before you check. Each room is slightly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeetaNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

As with all Indian hotels loads of help available. A few restaurants to select from in the hotel. Food was good. Breakfast was wonderful with a large range of choices to suit everybody.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The best thing first-location. Well connected but away from hustle and bustle.The rooms are decent. However there are a few rooms that have doors in the partition wall between rooms and that means disturbance and attack on privacy- a serious issue. The toilets are reasonably clean.Staff is polite but one should not expect very prompt or sophisticated service.The food at hotel restaurants was expensive by the standards of this hotel.Overall, reasonably comfortable stay- if you do not expect much.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ganesh200481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I visited Savera in August to attend a function. Stayed there for a day, would say it is a decent place for families. Location is a plus point as it is in the heart of the city. Rooms are good and clean, however quality of food is not that good... overall the hotel is a nice place to say at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajat245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The best thing first-location. Well connected but away from hustle and bustle.The rooms are decent. However there are a few rooms that have doors in the partition wall between rooms and that means disturbance and attack on privacy- a serious issue. The toilets are reasonably clean.Staff is polite but one should not expect very prompt or sophisticated service.The food at hotel restaurants was expensive by the standards of this hotel.Overall, reasonably comfortable stay- if you do not expect much.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with no doors in the wall separating them from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I checked in Hotel Savera on August 9th evening and checked out early morning hours of August 10th as I need to fly to Kochin. I stayed very briefly with my parents and family. Booked 2 rooms (one for my parents and one for myself , my wife and kids).
The hotel is location is great. Right in the heart of Chennai City. Just 25 minutes to Airport.
The hotel lobby has a descent ambiance. We were helped with our luggage to get into our rooms. The rooms size are descent enough. When we wanna take bath, found out that bath room is age old. When turned on the shower , found out that water is lukewarm. I have to call the front desk and complain. After 10 minutes, some hotel staff come to our room and checked the water are just lukewarm and said that he is going to increase the boiler temperature.
We visited the Malgudi restaurant for dinner. I am not please with restaurant. Surprised to see a woman cooking right at the entrance of the door. May be they wanna show it as a authentic way of cooking or they way cooking is carried out. Thought the restaurant menu has pretty much every southern Indian state dishes choice , hardly I could find any disk that is from Andhra Parahes (I am telugu speaking) that make any sense.

My son happened to running a high fever that night and I asked for help from hotel staff. They were just prompt by getting on call doctor call us and also came to room to check how my boy is doing.

The price I paid Rs5000 per each room is just not worth staying in this hotel. This may be a good hotel for business trips stay because it is located in heart of Chennai City.

This hotel is over priced. No doubt about it.

Thanks,
Gopal S

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gopal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Clarion Chennai
#49 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
641 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
345 reviews
The Residency
#39 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Chennai
#47 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,547 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#14 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,140 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savera Hotel

Property: Savera Hotel
Address: 146 Savera Dr Radha Krishnan Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Savera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savera Hotel - Chennai's first ever star hotel is an iconic landmark with a fusion of modernity and tradition, cherished by guests for decades now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing