We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No substitute to westin chennai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #3 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

It been several visits here now and truly the westin ... i can never think of staying anywhere else other than westin.

Premium service
Excellent standards
Wow what quality food

Every time I am here it is better than the last time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Vivaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings of the day!

Many thanks for your repeated patronage and bestowing us with excellent rating following your stay with us.

We are glad that our impeccable services standards and dining options were at par with your expectations and you had a wonderful stay. Your sincere appreciation has been communicated to the team and they are grateful for the same. We thank you for your recommendation and hope to serve you again whenever travel brings you back to Chennai. Meanwhile, you can keep in touch with us through Facebook and Twitter.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked 2 family rooms @ 2nd floor non smoking in the early week of June. Weird thing is when I booked had 2 free laundry for each day for 2 rooms. But when I checked out it was billed. SO I had to re confirm back my mails and it was an extreme hassle. Before each laundry I’d call and ask prior. It delayed my trip to the airport by 30 minutes. Having been to HK, UK,US and Spore every rooms are pre paid in advance but the system is flexible in India whereby we have a choice of paying in cash and card when check out. That is a bonus point.
2. Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping was prompt. Surprisingly there were many choices on North Indian TV channels. Loved that.
3. Food ( breakfast) was included in the package. Indian food is to die for and I leave it to that.
4. Extremely good service by the people at the food buffet area. Can’t remember his name but he was a North Indian I think. Almost like a butler.
5. The location is out of town. After arriving in Chennai I found out that the shopping hub is in T.NAGAR. This hotel is mainly for business travelers and not intended for family.
6. Very low occupancy at this hotel. How did I know? We checked out and checked in with 1 night in difference and they kept the room booked for us the next day. Will not happen to any hotels in T.NAGAR.
7. Hotel is NOT NEAR TO THE AIRPORT!. There are massive construction for railway works and flyovers which will take a few years to complete!!!. So you have to take a really long bypass road to reach hotel. 45-1 hour from hotel to airport and fro. The SHORTCUT THAT WAS MENTIONED BY SOME REVIEWERS IS ALWAYS PACKED!
8. It is near to food place, mithai shop and a mall. Didn’t have time to explore many things.
9. Their Audi car was reasonable for outing but they charge hourly so if it’s a short trip then it’s worth it.
10. Very attentive staff including doorman. Generally CHENNAI PEOPLE ARE SO POLITE AND GOOD!!
11. The only major downside I had a dispute of late check out from the management. Having been checking in late (8pm) we expected some leeway time to check out later. But we were billed half day despite some argument. One room was empty by 6 pm and their lame excuse was we called and no one answered the phone. Hello? You can knock or open the room to see for yourself. NEVER LEAVE YOUR LUGGAGE IN THE ROOM IF YOU WISH TO CHECK OUT LATE. We may have done that mistake. And lo behold 2 rooms billed ( 1 empty , 1 in use) for half day charges and taxes blah blah blah. The laundry was billed and I managed to deduct that based on the email conversation I had with them prior booking.
Manager to avoid =Vinay something. Many hotels OUTSIDE of India do allow some leeway.
With a bitter taste before exit, I might not choose this hotel again. Location is out of shopping area and the payment at the end was not satisfactory. For a hotel with low occupancy the marketing should come up with really attractive room packages and honor it as well. Otherwise everything else was good. ( I am a an HR Administrator in my own family business-express bus and I know what the expected reply will be).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

It was delightful to host you and we are glad to note that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. We are happy that you found the facilities and services offered up to the mark. It is good to know that you enjoyed the food offerings at the hotel and that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. Having said this, we regret the inconvenience faced by you during your stay with us. We have noted your concerns and will share them with the relevant departments. We assure you that this was a one off occurrence and hope that your experience does not deter you from visiting us again.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I would like to start by saying this hotel is absolutely amazing. Service is second to none. My housekeeper Panti took care of everything since the day I walked into the hotel, from providing extra items to make my stay more enjoyable to making my room look impeccable every time I returned from my office.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Paul702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velchary.

It is wonderful to read that your stay was at par with your expectations and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services. We are glad that our associates could provide you with personalized services so that you could stay well. Your kind words of appreciation will be shared with our associates that will inspire them to continue performing to the best of their abilities. Pandi has been suitably recognised in view of the fact that you made a special mention of him. We would also like to thank you for providing us with such a high ranking on this forum.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and once again choosing to stay with us.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

My two weeks of stay was tremendous to say the least; all the employees go out of there way to provide an exceptionally high quality of service not seen often. The breakfast team deserve a special mention since the entire team including the manager go to great lengths to ensure that you start each day off well, including suggestions for food options, special dish preparations, engaging in general conversation about city sports etc - making you feel right at home. A special thank you to: Anup, Bramananda, Shebin and Ravi for exemplary services. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: Become a SPG member and update room preference on the website. Also SPG card holders take a lot of o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusTraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to know that your stay was at par with your expectations and that you were happy with the services and facilities provided. At Westin, we strive to provide personalize services and your review is proof that we succeeded in our endeavours. It is great to know that your breakfast experience was up to the mark. We will certainly share your kind words of appreciation with our team members; this will motivate them to continue working towards perfection. Anoop, Bramananda, Shebin and Ravi have been suitably recognised in view of the fact that you made a special mention of them.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We look forward to your next visit.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great hotel. Service is fantastic - from the dining on 1st floor to the executive lounge on the 9th, this hotel is all about making your stay as pleasant as possible. Rooms are always kept spotless - thank you Pandi! You are doing an awesome job! Sunil and his team in the executive lounge go out of their way to ensure you wind down the day as relaxing as possible.
The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly and gives you a warm welcome at any time of the day. Definitely a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namaste793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

It was a pleasure serving you during your recent visit to Chennai and we thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. It is nice to know that you were happy with the services and facilities provided to you at the hotel. We will surely share your kind words of appreciation with our team which will act as a source of inspiration. Thank you for ranking us so highly on this forum. Pandi and Sunil have been suitably recognised in view of the fact that you made a special mention of them.

We will look forward to your return and thank you for your patronage.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is an absolutely fantastic hotel.the associates were friendly with as. especially house keeping
sabeer fantastic sevice done by him. i felt i am in home. i realy want to stay again in west in.
thanks to westin team

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695jhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at The Westin Chennai Velachery via TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that your stay with us was at par with your expectations and that you were happy with the facilities and services provided to you. It is really great to receive a 5 star rating on this forum and we thank you for ranking us so highly. We will certainly share your wonderful words of appreciation with our associates; this will certainly inspire them to continue performing with perfection.

It would be our genuine pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel and look forward to your return.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is an absolutely fantastic hotel. The service is top notch, as is typical of quality hotels in India. However, there was a personal touch from the reception and front desk staff that made you feel very much at home. The hotel amenities are great with the exception of a prober lobby bar. There is a bar upstairs but it beckons a particular mood. For a casual drink the open lobby would be best, but this is apparently not allowed by local laws. The hotel is in an upcoming district near a large and popular mall with high end shops. If you have to be in the center of town, it is about a 30-40 minute drive. Chennai is a big sprawling city, so traffic and distances are the norm. The pool and spa are also excellent, as is the restaurant. The buffets are incredible and offer a lot of choice! Will definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chennai Velachery and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to serve you at our hotel and we are happy to note that your stay with us was at par with your expectations. We are happy that you found the amenities in your room to your liking. It is great to know that you were able to experience the spa and the pool along with the food offerings at the restaurant. At Westin, we strive to provide personalized services to our guests and your review is proof that we have succeeded in our endeavours. Our team in the kitchen will be informed regarding your feedback about the buffet. We will also share your experience with our associates which will act as a source of encouragement for them.

It pleases us to know that you will be visiting us in the near future. We will look forward to welcoming you on your arrival.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
2,897 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,509 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
195 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,469 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $87 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing