We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome in Every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #3 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome in Every way”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've been here for just over a week so far and have to say this is the best hotel I've stayed at. The staff is wonderful. My room attendant Gopi keeps my room spotless and even folds my pajamas that I leave out. The staff in the executive lounge (Sunil, Paveen, and Amit) take great care to make sure every thing is done to your liking. I've stayed at other luxury properties but I've never once had as great an experience as I've had here. The staff is what makes the difference. They remember everything about you and even try and anticipate your needs. I'll be away from my home and friends for a couple more months but I can rest easy that I have such great people taking care of me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It was our pleasure being your host at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

The Westin Chennai Velachery is fully committed towards attaining complete guest satisfaction and we consistently endeavour to make the stay of every guest pleasant. We are glad that you found the services rendered by our associates worthy of your appreciation. The personalized services rendered by our associates ensure that you had the best hotel experience. Your bright words will be conveyed to them which will motivate them to offer excellent services. The Westin Chennai Velachery is a preferred choice among leisure as well as business travellers and we are glad to know that you can trust us for a home away from home experience.

We thank you again for staying with us and praising our services and amenities on TripAdvisor.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    229
    41
    19
    12
See reviews for
129
74
48
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is not very huge. The place is clean, cosy and attractive from inside. The rooms are clean and well equipped and standard in size. The freshrooms are fine and clean. The toletries are not a big attraction to use except the soap. The Towels are nice big and clean. The single beds can be bigger like in Sohna Westin Property. The food quality is good and so is the taste. Buffet breakfast menu is average and menu spread may be increased to suit the guest. Wifi is charged. The Gym is sweet and will take care of you. The Pool is nicely done. There is nothing for shopping inside the hotel. Reading collection is limited. Value for money. There can be bigger when it comes to luxury.

Overall a good experience when it comes to the stay. Corporate visit is fine but if I have to spend my own money then maybe I may have considered more options .... would I ??

Room Tip: Take a Pool facing room. No point to take a street facing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaiVigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It was our pleasure being your host at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

The Westin Chennai Velachery is fully committed towards attaining complete guest satisfaction and we consistently endeavour to make the stay of every guest pleasant. We are glad to know our accommodation and the overall ambience of the hotel met your expectations. We thank you for acknowledging our food quality and the Gym. We will definitely take your suggestion into consideration and try to incorporate an increment in the menu spread. The remarks regarding the reading collection have also been noted.

We once again express our heartfelt gratitude and look forward to your continued visit.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Westin Chennai Velachery is like no other place I have stayed. When I arrived to my room there were cookies that said "Welcome". The rooms were spotless and there was an option for fresh fruit everyday. The buffett breakfast was delicous and Velu and Sagar were great at keeping the coffee hot and always a friendly greeting. A few days after my arrival I met Anushree and she gave me wonderful suggestions on shopping, places to see and eat. Every evening was spent upstairs in the Executive Lounge. It was a great place to relax at the end of the day Pavan, Sunil and Amit always made sure we were well taken care of. The hotel is located near a very western mall, you can walk to it with ease and it is a great way to see some of the area.I love India and when I return to Chennai this is the only place I will stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have really great views of the city or the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingHarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.
Our primary objective at The Westin Chennai Velachery is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and we are glad to know that you found our special welcome touch pleasing. Your appreciation for our location, accommodation, dining facility, and the overall ambience of the hotel is a testimony that we are successful in our endeavours to make your stay delightful. Your kind words of appreciation for the personalized services rendered by our associates are sincerely appreciated. The special recommendations for Velu, Sagar, Anushree, Pawan, Sunil & Amit will definitely be shared which will inspire them to go that extra mile to make our guest’s stay smooth and enjoyable.

We thank you again for staying with us and praising our services and amenities on this public forum. We look forward to welcoming you to The Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit the city next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had our Corporate meeting with Hi Tea followed by Cocktails & dinner at the Poolside. What an amazing experience and much appreciated by all our Coporate guests. Right from the conference room setting - The service from the on duty staff, who was hands on as to who needs what and giving them the right service. The Service at the rooftop was just mind blowing with the weather also in our favour....cool breeze, relaxing music, mouth watering snacks along with drinks...what more can one ask for in this part of Chennai. Few Guests also complimented stating that they feel like in Dubai. The dinner was simply awesome and i personally thank Animesh and his team to be around, just to make sure that everything goes as planned. Thank you Westin for the memorable evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amardeepsambhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to host you and sharing your experience here.

At Westin, our goal is that you leave feeling better than when you arrived and we are pleased to note that we succeeded in our endeavors.

Centrally located, The Westin Chennai Velachery is a perfect destination for business travelers. We are glad to know that our world-class business amenities and impeccable service added value to your experience. Your kind remarks about our associates and dining outlets have inspired the team to continue with their excellent work.

It was indeed great having you and your colleagues with us and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back when you visit Chennai next.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

From Zara in house keeping to Pavin Sunil, Yuvareg and Amit in the executive lounge, my mom and I had a blast and a very comfortable stay at the hotel Chennai Velicherry. Zara was very accommodating of the crazy hours we kept and the Executive lounge was nothing less than perfect every night with great food and great bartenders. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristinsarah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It was our pleasure being your host at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

We are glad that you found the services and facilities provided at our hotel to your liking.

The Westin Executive Club Lounge is a perfect place to unwind with friends and family and we are glad that you were able to enjoy your time over there. We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the food at our lounge. Your kind words of appreciation regarding Zara, Pawan, Sunil, Yuvaraj and Amit have been shared with them and this will help us in improving our service offerings.

We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Westin chennai is a fabulous property very well located right next to the best mall Phoenix in Chennai.
the staff and hospitality is superb, breakfast par excellence
spa treatment great
of course room and bathroom spacious ,luxurious and very comfortable

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manishasangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our primary objective at The Westin Chennai Velachery is to provide 100% guest satisfaction and we are glad to know that you found our hospitality standards at par your expectations. Your appreciation for our location, accommodation, dining facility, and the overall ambience of the hotel is a testimony that we are successful in our endeavors to make your stay delightful.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were there for the new years eve party at the westin. Right from the hotel valets, to their reception staff, their chefs and their service staff., they managed to create a memorable experience for me and my wife. We had a wonderful time and a great evening. Would love to spend all my special days at Westin

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKK811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Westin Chennai Velachery.

Our core aim is to provide guest satisfaction from the time they check-in to the time they check-out. Your kind words are a testimony to the fact that we were successful in our endeavor. We are glad that you found our services matching your expectations starting from hotel valets to the reception staff, chefs and service staff.

We are glad to know that we could give you a celebration to remember. We wish you a happy and prosperous New Year and thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,438 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,715 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,407 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,092 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Property: The Westin Chennai Velachery
Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing