We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #4 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay, as always”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed a few times at the Westin Chennai, and find it increasingly difficult to even consider other options :-) What made it special this time around was that I was staying at the hotel on my birthday, and a box of chocolates and a card made it that much more special for a road warrior !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suresh_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Suresh,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely time with us at the hotel. Our associates always go an extra mile to make the stay of every guest pleasurable and we are happy to know that the chocolates and card made your day. It is nice of you to acknowledge their efforts and your appreciation will definitely boost their morale to continue with their good work.

We will definitely maintain the excellent standard of our hotel and look forward to your continued patronage in the future.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    221
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
125
72
46
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I travel often for work and have no qualms in recommending the Westin, Chennai as one of the best properties that I have stayed in till date, the staff is outstanding right from the check in to the restaurants, the rooms are spacious and well done up and the washrooms huge and clean, the breakfast had a lot to offer and the spread was really great, overall value for money and a great place to stay in Chennai. Well done, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NitKals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for staying at The Westin Chennai Velachery and sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are a preferred choice for both the executive travelers as well as vacationers as our hotel is centrally located in one of the fastest developing commercial areas of Chennai. All our accommodations are properly furnished and immaculately maintained. We are glad that you considered our hotel as one of the best properties in Chennai.

Our associates always go that extra mile to make the stay of every guest comfortable. Your note of appreciation will definitely inspire them to keep up with their excellent work.

We will definitely maintain the excellent standard of our hotel and look forward to your continued patronage in the near future.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a lovely time at The Westin Chennai. Good ambiance, some great Jocobs creek wine. The staff are gentle and quite interactive and willing to go out of their way to give good service. Am bald that the hospitality scene has changed in Chennai for the better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for staying at our hotel in Chennai Velachery and sharing your experience on this public forum.

We are glad to know that you had a lovely time with us and liked the overall ambience of the hotel. Our associates always go an extra mile to make the stay of every guest pleasurable. It is nice that you have acknowledged their hard work. Your appreciation will definitely boost their morale to continue with their good work.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Its wondeful to see Chennai growing. The Westin Chennai Velachery is the latest addition to the luxury hotels in the city. EEST restaurant has open just a fortnight back surving high quality of food. A must visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrusPoncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for sharing your positive review on our hotel on this public platform. We are glad that you stayed at The Westin Chennai Velachery and had a wonderful experience here.

Our hotel in Chennai Velachery provides comfortable accommodation and excellent dining options to all its guests. As, our hotel is centrally located, it is highly preferred by both the leisure as well as executive travelers.

We always serve delectable SuperFoodsRx™ cuisines at our restaurants, and are pleased to know that you liked the quality of our food. As we believe in promoting a healthy lifestyle, all our dishes served in the restaurants are packed with nutritional values and high level of energy.
It nice to receive your acknowledgment on the upkeep of our hotel and we will always thrive to maintain this high standard. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in some of the bigger hotels in Chennai and they are very, very nice, but the Weston leaves them all behind for service. On arrival the staff look after you well. A customer service manager comes to your room to ensure you're happy (I was). Huge bathroom with bath and roll back partition so you can watch the 40" TV if that's your thing. Tons of marble, mood lighting and a rain forest shower finish that room. The sleeping area has a king sized bed, proper work station with multi sockets so you can charge everything and work, a living area with sofa overlooking Chennai through huge panoramic windows.

The amenities are great. A number of restaurants and bars (the one on the ground floor is listed in the top 5 in Chennai and is very good), a business centre and spa. It's pretty much all there.

On the morning I was leaving the staff made me a Tiffin box with a cold breakfast and fresh juice because I was away before breakfast. The note said "we're sorry you couldn't join us for breakfast, please enjoy this with our compliments". Nice touch. I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for staying at The Westin Chennai Velachery and sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor.

Located centrally in one of the fastest developing commercial areas of Chennai, our hotel is a preferred choice for both the vacationers as well as business travelers. We have been able to maintain an excellent reputation among our patrons, and thrive to maintain it forever. Attaining high level of guest satisfaction has always been our foremost priority and therefore, we ensure that our services are exemplary. It is nice to know that you liked our hospitality and acknowledged it on this public forum.

Every aspect of our infrastructure is designed in such a way that the stay experience of our esteemed guests is comfortable. As we believe in providing our guests a relaxing stay, we have come up with our Heavenly Bed® and Heavenly Bath®. We are pleased to know that the amenities provided in our bedroom and bathroom met your requirements.

It is also pleasing to know that you liked our dining facilities and the overall ambience of our hotel. We would look forward to welcoming you with par excellence hospitality again.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is my first stay at the Westin Chennai. The entire staff is excellent from the guest relations manager Anushree to my housekeeper Pandi. They are very welcoming making my extended stay here (75 days) feel almost like home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for staying at The Westin Chennai Velachery and sharing this review on TripAdvisor.

Our associates always go an extra mile to make the stay of every guest highly pleasurable. We are glad that you were pleased with our hospitality. We are thankful to you for your special mention of our various associates who are an asset to our hotel. It is also nice to know that the comforts of our hotel room made you feel at home. Anushree and Pandi have been suitably recognized in view of the fact that you made a special mention of them.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My second stay at westin 8028 n i was speechless.. Its one big family..love u guys.. everything was so perfect.luxurious room, tasty food, humble polite loving n caring staff. Westin all the way.......................

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your testimony on TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us at The Westin Chennai Velachery. We, at Westin, endeavor to be a partner in our guests’ well being before, during, and after their stay while ensuring they leave feeling rejuvenated. It gives us pleasure to note that you had a revitalizing stay experience with us.

Each of our signature offerings have been designed with a better you in mind and we could not have been happier to learn that your experience with us was at par with your expectations. We are glad to know that you were impressed with the accommodation, gastronomy and services offered.

Once again, many thanks for your acknowledgement and your words of appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
2,642 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,067 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Property: The Westin Chennai Velachery
Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing