We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent new Westin with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #4 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent new Westin with great service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Already the first signs were impressive: they picked us from the airport with Audi. Fresh towels and drinks were offered in the car and again when we entered the magnificent hotel lobby. After a smooth check-in we were guided to our rooms which were very modern (control panel for lightning and A/C, led-tv, shower and a bathtub in the bathroom etc.) and had great views.

The next day was no different: in the morning we experienced a magnificent breakfast (included everything you can imagine), later tried a very nice pool and gym, and in the evening a cool cricket-themed bar and - again - great service from everyone.

Phoenix Marketcity mall is very close, you can even walk if you don't mind crossing a street.

Overall the hotel was one of the best I've ever stayed in. They were also planning to open two new restaurants in the near future, now only the standard restaurant was open.

Due to Chennai traffic, I recommend staying close to office or sightseeing. Keeping that in mind, I would definitely stay in Westin Chennai Velachery again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your experience.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services at par with your expectations. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests to make their stay distinct. It is a delight for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed dining and recreational facilities offered by The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Your review is a testimony of the discreet services and world-class facilities on offer at The Westin Velachery. We thank you once again for the review and await your next visit to Chennai.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    221
    40
    18
    12
See reviews for
125
72
46
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I travelled for a night for business in Chennai . A brand new property, excellent rooms , excellent food . felt great when they gave a audi to drop me at airport. Great service. The spread in the breakfast was pretty good. I had dinner at room service and the mutton rogan josh tasted perfect without a hinch of a south indian flavours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhirup_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind words and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Located close to the major business districts, The Westin Chennai Velachery is indeed the preferred choice for most business travelers. Keeping the modern traveler in mind, our rooms, services and amenities are designed for sheer comfort and convenience of our patrons. I am extremely thrilled to know that you enjoyed dining with us and the overall ambiance of the hotel could keep your business sojourn a hassle free one.

Once again thank you for the support and should you return to Chennai again, it will be a pleasure welcoming you back.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

At a hindsight, nothing would have made our day than the decision to visit Westin Chennai on a bright saturday morning for breakfast with family. The hotel exudes a sense of warmth with its minimalistic design and décor that is further accentuated by the smiling team of professionals in the restaurant. The breakfast spread appeared to have been designed keeping in view the ever growing cosmopolitan crowd in Chennai. Besides the variety that was either laid out or was available on order, we particularly enjoyed the authentic flavour and texture in all of the south indian dishes...be it the crispy medu vadas or the delectable pongal as also the masala dosa...they were all out of the world and could give the most authentic joints in Chennai a run for their money..
The continental spread along with the breads and smoothies were no less appetizing..
It was a memorable culinary experience for us overall and the warm hospitality of the team just added in even more delight into the overall family time. Look forward to staying with them some time soon..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niloy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We express our gratitude to you for dining with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that our efforts to provide an unprecedented dining experience to our guests proved to be at par with your expectations. We strive to offer a refreshing ambiance to our distinguished patrons and take them to a culinary journey that has special delights from different cuisines. Your special acknowledgment for the efforts of our associates has been duly conveyed to them.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently had a family lunch @ the Seasonal Tastes restaurant in the hotel. It was a wonderful experience. Very friendly staff, great food with lots of veg options. The desserts in particular were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seshadripv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Seshadri,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to note that you had a pleasant dining experience with us. We offer a range of sweet delicacies to satisfy the needs of our distinguished patrons. Your appreciation for the efforts of our team has been duly conveyed to them.

We look forward to welcoming you at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Stay Well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at the Westin for 2 weeks. It's a nice, clean, brand new Westin in an upcoming residential area i.e. Velachery (is what I understand from Chennai locals). I think the fact that it's new gives this hotel an advantage as far as cleanliness is concerned. All fixtures etc. are top notch and so are the rooms.

The staff is great too! Hostess, pretty Preeti made sure that she welcomes you with her warm personality and smiling face. She takes you to your room and shows you around and ensures you have a comfortable stay.

At the restaurant, I was specifically looked after by Sagar and Raghu who'd always ensure I tried pretty much everything at the restaurant.

Not many have mentioned that Westin also has a pretty good gym and a smiling, enthusiastic Prasad will always watch your workout and make suggestions on your form, if you are doing weights etc. Personal trainers are expensive, but Prasad is kind enough to help you out for free ;-).

Since I was here for 2 weeks I decided to explore the Velachery area and with the help of Abel (Abey? ... if you are reading this, sorry if I got your name wrong!) I was able to navigate around the Vijay Nagar Bus Stand area which has some nice restaurants like Dindigul Thalappakkati and Buhari. Worth a try for dinner when you get bored of the hotel restaurant.

One suggestion about Willows... the bar is nice, but the DJ is not needed on all nights!!! Sometimes, people just want to have a beer after work to some good rock music in the background! Be good if Kingfisher is added to the tap as well!

Room Tip: I saw both sides of the hotel. While the side facing the road has a beautiful IIT Madras campus on i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Your testimony is indeed a true reflection of the discreet services and world-class facilities provided by us.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We endeavor to offer opulent comfort and utmost luxury to our guests through our well-appointed rooms that feature the most modern amenities. It is a delight for us to know that you were able to enjoy the recreational facilities offered by The Westin Chennai Velachery. The restaurant in our hotel aims to satisfy the appetite of our distinguished patrons by offering them a range of international as well as national delicacies. Special acknowledgment for the efforts of Preeti, Sagar, Raghu, Prasad & Abish have been duly conveyed to them. Your suggestions for Willows have been duly noted and forwarded to the concerned department.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boss, a general manager for the company that I work for was visiting Chennai and he wanted to take the team and me out for dinner. The obvious choice was Westin and although I had been to The Westin in Hyderabad, I had not experienced The Westin in Chennai... My entire experience and I think the title of the review has already revealed it, was just Excellent!
Animesh and his team are just the most customer centric, professional & courteous crew that I have met for a long time. Not only did he take care of my booking, Animesh also ensured that our entire visit was completely personalized. Partho, the F&B manager, took care of all us, ensuring we had a good time at their lounge, “Willows” and then had a lavish, sumptuous and mouth watering dinner buffet at “Seasonal Tastes”. The enormous spread of the buffet was very well balanced with the live counters, dishing out mouth watering kebabs, pizzas & grilled fish. Last, any great dinner is never complete without some good sweet dishes and the team didn’t disappoint at all on this count as well.
Overall, I would give a big thumbs up for the hotel and the staff. Definitely a place where you can relax, unwind and have a good time. Thanks once again for having us there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joydeep13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We express our gratitude to you for choosing to dine at Willows and Seasonal Taste and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

At our dining venues, we endeavor to offer a refreshing ambience and friendly service to make the experience of our patrons memorable. Seasonal Tastes is our signature dining venue that offers all-day dining with a focus on local and seasonal ingredients. We take our guests through a journey of culinary delights and every element of their visit is designed so that they leave feeling better than when they arrived. Your special acknowledgement and words of appreciation about Animesh and Partha have been duly conveyed to them and they are encouraged to please to our patrons with even better services.

We thank you once again for the valuable feedback. It was great having you here and we look forth to receiving you sometime soon.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You know that people make all of the difference in the world when you are away from home. My experince at the Westin is wonderful. The hostesses, Ricky, Kavita and Preeti make a real effort to get to know you and identify what you may need. The executive lounge attendants Sunil, Khushpoo, Amit and Sri remember and anticipate what you want. Everyone in the restaurant know exactly what you want and people like Sagar get to know you. The folks in housekeeping will listen to you and adjust their cleaning schedules accordingly (Gopi was always concerned not to disturb me. I have been here for a month and still find the service outstanding/

Room Tip: My room is facing eat ove the main road and there is not a lot of noise, so I don't think you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for checking-in with us and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. Westin Chennai is an ideal preference among various travelers where they can unwind themselves and enjoy a comforting stay. We are proud to know that all our efforts to organize an excellent stay for you have proved to be at par with your expectations. It is great to note that you loved staying with us. Your special acknowledgement about the services and staff has been conveyed to the team and it has boosted their morale. Ricky, Kavita, Preeti, Sunil, Khushboo, Amit, Srijith, Sagar & Gopi have been suitably recognized in view of the fact that you made a special mention of them.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
2,642 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,382 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,067 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Property: The Westin Chennai Velachery
Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing