We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WESTIN CHENNAI VELACHERY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #3 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE WESTIN CHENNAI VELACHERY”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Arrival
We arrived at 10:30pm in the night, all the staff were attentive and awake. They greeted us warmly and excited as they always are. The check in was done within a few minutes and we were in our room by 10:35 which was great.

The Room
The room was excellent, amazing like all the other great properties on WESTIN. The bedding and the amenities in the room were spot on. Some of the general items in the washroom were missing like the Comb and moisturiser which were a simple call away to service express.

Room Service
We ordered a light snack at 10:45pm and got a call in 30 minutes that the there will be a delay in the delivery as the food cooked is being redone as it was not done correctly. We enquired on a Khao Suey and they told us how its prepared and then mentioned that it’s not available which was kind of pointless, then we ordered a Mini Veggie Burger we ordered with fires, didn’t really taste that great and an improvement should be done on it. When the staff came to deliver the food he called a veg burger a chicken burger which was kind of a surprise.
House Keeping
The housekeeping facilities were really good and responsive.
The Facilities
Swimming Pool, Suana were not in service which was kind of why we booked the hotel as my Wife really wanted to indulge. The Gym and Steam was good and the best thing is that the gym was open 24/7 if anyone wants to run from their wives hah.

Breakfast Buffet
The spread was as one would normally find in a Westin property. The Danish pastries could be improved they were a little dry, the Egg Chef was great and really knew how to create awesome omelettes. The pancakes and waffles were really nice and a must try with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The only let down was finding a small hair in the fresh orange juice, the excellent staff recognised the issues and instantaneously changed it.

Overall Experience
The expectations of a new property were high as they usually are, after evaluating the good and not so good experiences I must say that one should discount their expectations by about 30 to 40% unless the property really works on some of the points above. In terms of value for money, it would be better to check in to an Aloft property since the facilities we wanted weren’t working. At the rates they are charging if all the facilities were working it would definitely be good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnubhavJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Anubhav,

We thank you for staying with us and for reviewing it on this public forum. It was a pleasure to host your stay and to know that you were pleased with our services. Westin Chennai Velachery is centrally located for the convenience of our leisure as well as business guests. The entire team here strives to make the stay of every guest comfortable and your kind words are a testimony to our efforts.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed various aspects of the hotel and have taken note of your feedback as well.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    232
    43
    19
    12
See reviews for
136
75
49
668
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hi, I was on a inspection visit to the Hotel Westin-Chennai (Velachery) and was impressed with the facilities this new property has equipped.. I have stayed at the Westin -Mumbai, a Landmark to the group, and has totally created a last impression of the various business outlets that is available in this Hotel in Chennai. The room/s are very well equipped for a Business Traveler and even if you are with the family. Beds that are provided in each rooms are very expensive that gives the feeling the management has really taken care of the comfort of a traveler.

Meals are well laid out in buffet style with no clutters that you may encountered at all. Staff in the lobby are very courtesies and the security of hotel is very safe to move out. The Spa has all the amenities of top class Gym and massage center. Business center is well taken care with small break away rooms for business sessions. The service of Breakfast in the deluxe category of rooms on the higher floors helps a business travelers to be on time without wasting much of time to come down to eat in the main restaurant.

I couldn't visit the other restaurant/s in the hotel and i believe there more to be added to the list of eating out in the Hotel. Keep up the good work in the lobby which is very spacious and very bright with natural lights coming in.

The seating areas in the lobby was very good and also the chairs provided in the Banquet hall/s with the cavity made in chair to place your personal belongings like the laptop and other office material that one carries for day gathering.

Keep up the good work.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Vijay,

Many thanks for checking-in with us on your recent visit and for sharing your experience. Strategically located, our hotel boasts of a variety of modern amenities and offers an array of option for a relaxing stay. Besides relaxing in their spacious rooms, our guests can avail an array of facilities like gymnasium, spa and business center. It gives us extreme pleasure to know that all our efforts to make your stay comfortable and hassle-free were at par with your expectations.

We feel proud to learn that you had a rejuvenating stay with us and admire the services offered at The Westin Chennai Velachery. .

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and for your review. We look forward to hosting you soon again.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent Hospitality,Tasty Food and good ambience. Rooms are made well to suit the needs of todays traveller. As soon as you enter you get treated with flavoured water which everyone must give a try. Thums Up for Westin Velachery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0nder_w0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

We could not have been happier to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. It feels great to learn that our bespoke hospitality, rooms, food and the overall layout and ambience could stand at par with your expectation.

We always strive to deliver the best to our guests and are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was staying for 2 days from 23rd to 25th August in room # 2002
Enjoyed the hospitality right from the security to the manager were courteous. Food in the seasonal taste
In the lobby was good.
The hotel may cater to foreigners but still the glass wall separating the bathroom is a sliding one without any locking system accidently kids may slide the glass while someone taking bath. In our culture it's not acceptable even in other countries nobody will like to be seen while using the toilet.
On the whole it was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paedia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for giving us the pleasure of hosting you at our hotel and sharing your stay experience on this forum.

Centrally located, The Westin Chennai Velachery offers guests a soothing, contemporary environment for business and pleasure. While we are extremely pleased to have satisfied you with our service and dining options, we have also taken a note of your suggestions regarding the bathroom and assure you that we would look into it at the earliest.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed along with my family for a day, as part of our membership and it was very comfortable stay, the staff is very courteous and warm,the rooms are nicely done keeping in mind the need of todays traveller and the best is the beds I must say they are heavenly. I was told that it is very expensive ten layer bed. My daughters enjoyed the swimming pool which is well maintained and the gym also, is very good and nicely managed.
We had a very satisfying stay in the hotel and I am sure i will recommend my friends who come to chennai to stay there.
I should also mention about the food. Good spread and varieties to enjoy. I tried both breakfast and dinner. Awesome.
I widely travel and it is at par with many hotels i stayed in overseas. It is cheaper than some of the budget hotels in US and Japan.
I wish all the best for the Team Westin, Velachery for their service.

Room Tip: Take a room on the road and you can have spectacular view of lush green housing the Rajbhavan and II...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathavan_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We express our gratitude to you for opting to stay with us and for sharing your valuable comments on this public platform.

Located in the heart of city, our property is known to organize outstanding stay and for offering superlative services. Grand accommodation, sumptuous dining and indulgent recreation are some of the many services offered to the patrons at The Westin Chennai Velachery. It is our pleasure to note that you had a wonderful time while staying with us.

Once again, we thank you for checking-in with us and for your valuable feedback. We would like to redeem this as an opportunity to serve you again.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Westin, Velachery for 3 nights in August, 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location was especially convenient for us since it was only walking distance from the IIT campus. The staff were excellent and went above and beyond the call of duty. They added so many personal touches to our stay. We loved the breakfast and dinner and the overall ambiance of the hotel and room. The dining room staff and cleaning staff requires special mention for their attentiveness to detail and for making us feel so much at home. My husband also used the pool and he thought it was very well maintained. Excellent hotel overall and would recommend it to anyone visiting Chennai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsukumaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your guest review here on TripAdvisor.
It was a pleasure to have you with us. All our elements at The Westin Chennai Velachery have been designed with a better you in mind and we are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable, content and fulfilling stay. Thank you for your special mention of our amenities, gastronomy and our associates. We are happy that our location proved to be beneficial to you and you could use it as per your advantage. Your warm words of appreciation have been forwarded to our team members who are thrilled to receive them and extend their heartfelt gratitude.

Thank you for your kind recommendation. It was great to have you with us and we look forward to your kind patronage sometime soon again.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for seven nights in August, 2013.

New Hotels usually worry me. They come with teething problems, unfinished rooms and inexperienced staff. The Westin Velachery didn't have any of these which was a great relief.

The staff were attentive, pleasant and proactive throughout. Prakash and Rajesh on the Transport desk were excellent in organising travel for us daily and at a moments notice at times. The concierge staff (Vinayak I believe) were excellent in dealing with my sometimes muddled requests and the kitchen at their main resturants were superb in the quality of their food and their ability to do custom requests (Peshawari naan, anyone? :) ) The gentleman and lady on meet-and-greet duties were excellent as well, very knowledgable about the city and looked to be very experienced.

The room was excellent and to a very good standard. The bath was brilliant as was the bed. The ability to open a dividing screen between the bathroom and the bedroom enabled me to catch up on the Ashes on Star Cricket on the television in the bedroom! Room service was attentive and very quick.

The bar upstairs is called Willows and is a subtly cricket themed bar. The staff there are also excellent and we had a very productive discussion with the bar manager. He did ask about what beer he should stock and my recommendation for him would be to explore the Commonwealth theme that links the major Cricket nations together. This would mean bottles of Australian, British, South African and West Indian beer. Sooo...Coopers, London Pride, Castle and Red Stripe perhaps? Maybe even some Speights from New Zealand! Imagine the possibilities!! :)

The only nit picks I'd have would be only a couple. Firstly, the lack of drawers in the hotel rooms means you're dumping your clothes either on the floor in the wardrobe or in your suitcase neither of which are very satisfactory solutions. Even just two large drawers in the cupboard would solve this issue.

Second, the surface around the swimming pool is very slippery even when dry. I did see a child slip over and almost crack his head back on the marble floor by the pool and I almost slipped over once or twice. Perhaps sacrificing the ornate look of the surface for a more high grip solution to prevent accidents would be good.

Other than that. A great stay and I for one would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Club floor is an excellent choice. Up on the 8th and 9th floor keeps you away from the hustle below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prestwickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your patronage and review. It was an honor to host you at our hotel; your pleasant review detailing your stay experience has been noted with delight.

The Westin Chennai Velachery is your address for comfort and luxury in Chennai. We offer refreshing ambience, world-class amenities and bespoke service to make our guest’s stay memorable. All our amenities have been designed keeping a better you in mind which is why we understand that nothing restores the mind and body like a restful sleep. Our Heavenly Bed lets you experience a night of restorative sleep so divine that you would not like to get out of one. Your appreciation about our management, room, amenities and service are truly valued by the entire team.

We have also shared your special appreciation of our associates with the entire team and they are extremely pleased to receive an acknowledgement of their efforts. Prakash, Rajesh and Vinayak have been suitably recognized in view of the fact that you made a special mention of them.

We feature three restaurants in our property and we are delighted to learn that you were pleased with our gourmet delicacies as well as the made to order dishes were up to your tastes. The Willows Lounge Bar is a sophisticated relaxing space inspired by India’s most popular sport, cricket and we are glad that you had a enjoyable time. Your recommendation is highly valued and has been conveyed to our associates.

Furthermore, your highlighted concerns are very much appreciated as they give us an insight on how to look after the needs of our guests and constantly raise the bar of our amenities and services. The same have been duly noted and will be implemented soon as at Westin, our goal is that our guests leave feeling better than when they arrived.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,457 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,769 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#9 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,424 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,111 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#7 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Property: The Westin Chennai Velachery
Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing