We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel I will visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Chennai Velachery
Ranked #3 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here just for a night. Things that come to mind:
Well maintained facilities. Looks very elegant.
Courteous and friendly staff.
Timely service.
Ordered salmon starter and herb-roasted chicken for main course. It was excellent.
Nice interiors.
Great Bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpentersbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Chennai Velachery. It was a pleasure to host you and we are glad that you liked our products and property.

All our amenities at The Westin Chennai have been designed with a better you in mind and we are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful and invigorating stay with us. We understand that nothing restores the mind like restful sleep and hence, we created the Heavenly Bed and are happy that you had a good rest and a relaxing time. Our associates are our biggest assets and we could not be happier to note that they could take care of all your needs and requirements with utmost warmth and professionalism. Thank you for your positive comments about our interiors, gastronomy and service areas.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice lounge bar. Good choice of beverages. Unlike a business class tag the hotel carries, this lounge bar seemed quite lively for young crowd to chill too. I am not too sure if the drive all the way there leaving the watering holes in the city may be worth an effort. Price is quite reasonable. But as a change in place its worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pankajdaga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Willows is Chennai’s first sports bar and we are glad to learn that you were impressed with our beverage spread, service areas as well as the overall ambience. It was a pleasure to have hosted you at Willows, our newly launched cricket themed bar and lounge. Thank you for visiting us and also for sharing your kind feedback and review here on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind patronage. It was lovely to have you with us and we look forward to welcome you back sometime soon again.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Self along with family visited this newly opened hotel on 14th July i.e yesterday for dinner. Our overall experience is just average due to poor service, average taste of food, lack of professionalism etc. Ofcourse the ambience was very good but the restaurant was quite disappointing. They could not offer even draught beer of any brand forget about the choice.
At the end they offered some deserts on the house which were good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BALASHOTELREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for visiting Westin Chennai Velachery and also for sharing your kind feedback and reviewing us here on TripAdvisor.

While we are delighted to learn that you were impressed with the overall ambience of our property, we are disappointed that your experience was not perfect and could not match your desired expectations.

We will sincerely appreciate if you can write to us directly via mail about the areas of improvement and the details of the inconveniences so that we can take necessary measures to avoid such incidents in future.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two times, very good experiences both times. Pluses include the sparkling cleanliness everywhere, attentive yet not overly attentive staff, great location to new mall and my work location. Detailed room attendants-always gave new towels each day and kept 4 bottles of water available. Restaurant staff-great attitude and remembers preferences. Executive lounge- great staff and free alcohol. Gym has a trainer to give tips. Room has large safe, iron, slippers, robe, toiletries. The few minuses-still some teething issues. Elevators need to be coordinated, remaining restaurants to be opened, business center printer has glitches. Wish pool area was larger and more out in the open for sunlight. Overall, I would repeat visit whenever I'm in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel4FunBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for sharing your detailed stay experience here on TripAdvisor.

We could not have been happier to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and were impressed with our products and property. All our amenities at The Westin Chennai Velachery are designed keeping a better you in mind. We always strive to provide our guests with a refreshing and rejuvenating stay and are glad you had an equally satisfying experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

my stay was with 20 office colleagues for a training in chennai and we founf the business facilities really good and the staff hospitable. property was very clean and well located. also the check in process was efficient and hassle free

on the downside - rooms are not the biggest, and breakfast could have more options

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashutosh411004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Ashutosh,

It was great to have you with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Chennai Velachery and also for sharing your stay experience with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a great time with us and were impressed with our products and property. Thank you for your special mention of our location, services, upkeep as well as the overall ambience of our hotel.

Thank you for your kind suggestion. It has been noted down and we will attempt to incorporate it in our services.

We truly appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Visited Chennai with family (two adults + two kids). Staff was extremely helpful and sincere, accommodations were excellent, the hotel is beautiful and the food was outstanding. Easily accommodated our family with an extra bed (reservation system will not allow you to book 2+2, so we booked 2+1 and had no issues).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kind patronage and for sharing your stay experience and reviewing us here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a great time at our property and specially liked our accommodations, gastronomy spread and service areas. It is also great to note that our associates went out of their way to take care of all your requirements with utmost care and warmth.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Westin Chennai Velachery when you visit Chennai next.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Westin Chennai is one the best hotels I have stayed in recent times while travelling on business. Well appointed rooms, seamless checkin, and I liked the fact they had taken special care or request made by me. My only regret is that I could only spend 1 night at the property. Sure to come back.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel is little in the interiors and does not have a great view outside. So dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShrikantWakharkar, General Manager at The Westin Chennai Velachery, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Satish,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Westin Chennai Velachery and also for sharing your positive feedback with us.

We, at The Westin Chennai Velachery, aim to provide our guests with a revitalizing stay so that they leave us feeling better than when they arrived. We are delighted to note that you had a stimulating and refreshing stay with us and were impressed with our products and property.

All our amenities have been designed with a better you in mind and we are glad you spent some nice time with us. Your acknowledgement has been forwarded to our associates who are thrilled and extend their heartfelt gratitude.

We truly appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at The Westin Chennai Velachery.

Stay well,

Shrikant Wakharkar
General Manager
shrikant.wakharkar@westin.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,994 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,560 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
224 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,515 reviews
Nungambakkam/Marina Beach
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chennai Velachery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chennai Velachery

Address: 154 Velachery Main Road, Chennai (Madras) 600042, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Velachery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $81 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chennai Velachery 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in one of the city’s developing commercial areas, The Westin Chennai Velachery is near major corporations, eclectic restaurants, shopping, and the botanical gardens.Our 215 beautifully-appointed guest rooms and suites ensure relaxing stays in pleasant surroundings. Eat well in our four restaurants, which serve healthful local and international meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Chennai Velachery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing