We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family meal”

The Flying Elephant
Ranked #22 of 7,111 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $57
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Flying Elephant is a celebration of senses in a culinary theatre that offers an array of experiences in a one of a kind vertical dining destination. A celebration of flavours, aromas and design, it offers diners in the country an avant garde multisensory experience. The first of its kind in the country, it offers diners the flexibility of experience and cuisine from a selection of global gastronomies that originate from the kitchens of gourmands & gourmets of countries across the world. Come and experience a world of fine cuisines from our six show kitchens
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Went there for my son-in-law's birthday. Surprisingly the reservation process was full of hiccups. When we went there, it was all right- a girl escorted us and made us comfortable. We had a very active two-and-a half-year old, a Jain foodie and a person who was not able to take spicy food, apart from three normal(: persons. With all that, we had excellent food: Edamame Dim sums (Awesome), Bruschetta with barbecue sauce, Pho (light and filling at the same time), Mee Goreng and Nasi Goreng. All were well prepared and presented. And Creme Brûlée with Ice Cream- heaven ! As extras, we got the birthday cake and lots of strawberries and sliced cucumbers.
Service was excellent, matching the ambience and food. What more to say ?
The restaurant is spread over three levels, with a private dining option. Three cosines, enough to satisfy anyone. All in all, a great place to go again and again.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ksesh43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

Nice ambience and delicious food. Can have a great time here. Mainly Thanking Amy and Saravanan for their services and guidance.

Thanks Amy and Saravanan.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Journey05296221506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranilbanerjee2018, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear Journey05296221506,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Flying Elephant on tripadvisor.I am glad you enjoyed our services and your comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon for another amazing experience.

Kind regards
Indranil Banerrjee
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

Had a great experience in Hyatt. A great birthday suprise. And special thanks to Amy and Saravanan for the great assistance throughout. Will come next Time as well.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank G7529DHkarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranilbanerjee2018, Asistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear G7529DHkarthik,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Flying Elephant on tripadvisor.I am glad you enjoyed our services and your comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon for another amazing experience.

Kind regards
Indranil Banerrjee
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

We were greeted with smiles as we entered the festively decorated restaurant by the ushers and promptly guided to our table where Mr Srikanth,Mgr- Flying Elephant was personally there to introduce us to the Sunday brunch .
The sparkling wine was great and mixed beautifully with the the starters which were brought to us to our table . The grilled prawns and lamb shanks were just heavenly and cooked to perfection .
The service was prompt and the waiters were very friendly and helpful .
The main course was too much to eat but I remember the lamb biriyani and the chicken gravy rich is tomato flavoured goodness.The grilled fish with Asian rice was also a good change to the palate .
The drinks were mixed by the bartender who had a perfect balance to all the cocktails and the liquor was imported .
I was so impressed by Mr Srikanth’s Hospitality and his understanding of our Group’s complexity as my wife is Finnish and we had a couple of European and American friends that he was able to take care of the continental and Indian palates to our satisfaction that I went ahead to take a Hyatt dining membership after this fabulous experience.
We had fun and fabulous food at the park Hyatt !! Will be going back again soon !!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank santhoshj492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranilbanerjee2018, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear santhoshj492,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Flying Elephant on tripadvisor.I am glad you enjoyed our services and your comments will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you soon for another amazing experience.

Kind regards,
Indranil Banerrjee
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019

Great ambiance, but terrible continental food (we didn’t try Indian). The minute the chef compromises quality for show, you know he or she didn’t taste the food. They make multiple cuisines which could also be a problem. Biggest annoyance was the server was assuming too much instead of asking and screwed up the main dish. Great ambiance, but not worth it unfortunately.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranilbanerjee2018, Assistant Food & Beverage Manager at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear A J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Flying Elephant on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable guest experience, during your visit we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal on few of the highlighted points and sincerely apologize for that. I have taken your feedback seriously and will be shared with The Flying Elephant Manager so that we do better with regards to the services. Once again, I thank you for the constructive feedback and do hope to see you soon for a better experience.

Kind regards,
Indranil Banerrjee
Assistant Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Elephant also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to The Flying Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing