We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Ambiance.”

The Flying Elephant
Ranked #18 of 6,730 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $62
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Flying Elephant is a celebration of senses in a culinary theatre that offers an array of experiences in a one of a kind vertical dining destination. A celebration of flavours, aromas and design, it offers diners in the country an avant garde multisensory experience. The first of its kind in the country, it offers diners the flexibility of experience and cuisine from a selection of global gastronomies that originate from the kitchens of gourmands & gourmets of countries across the world. Come and experience a world of fine cuisines from our six show kitchens
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went there for dinner with friends. We have heard great things about this place and wanted to try it. The food was AMAZING. Two of us had the non-veg tasting, 1 person the veg tasting, one order of ribs, and one order of pork belly. Everyone was super pleased with their meals. I must say that the veg tasting was the clear winner as every dish that came out was superb and very generously portioned. I cannot complain about the non-veg. I was very full when I left. The pork belly and ribs were very tasty as well as everything we tried. YOU MUST TRY THE CAULIFLOWER CREAM SOUP! Dessert was okay but by that time, we were full. I have been in India for a while and I have foundTHE place when I am craving western food. No offense to my Indian friends, but nothing we had tasted like "Indian"-Westerners, you know what I mean. if wanted Indian taste we would have gone to a place that specializes in Inidan cuisine. I definately recommned this place. I have read reviews complaining about the price but let's be honest, you do not pay anymore at this place than any other nice place at home SO TREAT YOURSELF!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jesus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Director of Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear jesus c

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to have wonderful comments of your experience at The Flying Elephant. The tasting menus are designed keeping in mind to give all the flavours of The Flying Elephant. We are really glad to know about your satisfaction regarding the price as well. Majority of the produce is from the origin sources to ensure right quality like Norwegian salmon, mulwarra lamb etc.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments online. We hope to welcome you back to The Flying Elephant very soon
Warm Regards

Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 339 of 408 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the Most Amazing Resturent in Chennai with the best Atmosphere.
5Levels of Seating and Privacy. The Hot Mediterrean Platter is Mouthfilling and Yummy.
The Place is best also for Drink and Dance and Live Music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 321Deepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Director of Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear 321Deepak

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to have detailed and wonderful comments of your experience at The Flying Elephant. We are really glad to know about your overall satisfaction regarding the entire Atmosphere of the place.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments online. We hope to welcome you back to The Flying Elephant very soon


Warm Regards

Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

For people in Chennai looking for a partyplace, this is a good place to go at night. After dinnerservings, it suddenly transforms into a club scene. The prices are hiiigh, and we used well over 5000rs in a night. But it was a good place to party, with alot of beautiful people. I recommend it for a night out, a celebration, or just a good partytime. The music is mostly commercial western, which is a lil booring for us coming from there, but its ok i gues...

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Henning K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Director of Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Henning K

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are extremely delighted to have your comments of experience at The Flying Elephant. We are happy to know about your overall satisfaction regarding party atmosphere during Club Nights. The team is highly motivated reading your comments and would continue doing so.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments online. We hope to welcome you back to The Flying Elephant very soon


Warm Regards

Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant has good ambinence and the food is also very good, what more is the qty they serve.. The best thing is all the waiters dance in Gagnam Style every hour or so and if it is a spl moment they even sing song and dance for you.. the experience was just amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank abhigudiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Director of Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Abhigudiya

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are extremely delighted to have detailed and wonderful comments of your experience at The Flying Elephant. We are really glad to know about your overall satisfaction regarding food and service. The team is highly motivated reading your comments and would continue doing so.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments online. We hope to welcome you back to The Flying Elephant very soon


Warm Regards

Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

we had the barra lamb chops kebab for starters.it was delicious and tender. Truly yummy. we then had a pepperoni salami milano pizza. Pizza was delicious and it was thin crust pizza. For desserts we had their famous choc cake. it was delicious but not as great as they made it out to be. but do try it. we also has the tiramisu, which was not that great, so give this one a miss. The service was good. This place turns into a disco after 11pm on saturday nights and they have at least 2 floors of dining. Serves local and overseas dishes, overseas are from Malaysia, Indonesia and western. The satay was the signature dish but coming from malaysia we decided to give that a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockymsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Director of Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Rockymsia

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know of your experience at The Flying Elephant. The team is highly motivated reading your comments especially about the starters and pizza. The Satay is a very traditional home recipe from Indonesia. A lot of focus has been laid for the right quality of the food products at the restaurants. At the same time we will certainly have a relook at average dessert experience.

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments online. We hope to welcome you back to The Flying Elephant very soon

Warm Regards

Vimal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Elephant also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to The Flying Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing