We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

The Flying Elephant
Ranked #15 of 6,659 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $62
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Flying Elephant is a celebration of senses in a culinary theatre that offers an array of experiences in a one of a kind vertical dining destination. A celebration of flavours, aromas and design, it offers diners in the country an avant garde multisensory experience. The first of its kind in the country, it offers diners the flexibility of experience and cuisine from a selection of global gastronomies that originate from the kitchens of gourmands & gourmets of countries across the world. Come and experience a world of fine cuisines from our six show kitchens
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Really enjoyed dinner here. Service was particularly good. Not just friendly/well-intentioned but actually knowledgeable. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinbarambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Assistant Director Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Sinbarambam

Thank you for your review at Trip Advisor

We are very glad to have known about your experience at The Flying Elephant. A lot of effort is made to ensure the team is knowledgeable for good recommendations. It’s very encouraging for the team as well. Your experience will be suitable shared with the team.

Best regards

Vimal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    105
    38
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Flying Elephant refuses to take off”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After much anticipation, we had the (mis)fortune of dining at the Flying Elephant, Park Hyatt. In a few words, it was a major let-down. We had the grilled salmon with caramelized beets, spare ribs and lamb chops with artichokes. The food was good (but terribly and unjustifiably overpriced), but there are these other things that you expect when dining at a luxury 5 star restaurant. like courteous, good service. or even more basic things such as replenishing the glass when requested or greeting the guests and making you feel welcome. To add to that, we had told our server that we are bloggers and if it was ok if we clicked pictures, and he said yes. When we started clicking, he came back and said we asked if we'd be putting them up on a forum or some such. We explained to him, again, and he said he would check with his manager and get back to us. All of this happened before the starters were served. He came and told us halfway through that the manager will come meet us. The manager never showed up till we finished our meal and when we mentioned the same to the server, and he told us, 'the manager is downstairs, you can meet him on your way out. :/
Sadly, the saving grace, the food (and not the half baked attempt of the waiters at dancing to PSY's Gangnam style), was eclipsed by everything else. So, in all, a very forgettable experience at the over hyped, exorbitantly priced Flying Elephant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kajalgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Assistant Director Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Kajalgeorge

Thank you for your review post at Trip advisor.

It’s a pleasure to know your satisfaction about the food however we also understand that we were not able to meet your expectations in regard to the experience at The Flying Elephant. For the food which was specially chosen by you are the special delicacies of our restaurant. We take real pride in the quality of the raw meat which makes it above average priced. For the matter of fact that we are the only hotel to import Salmon which is fresh and not frozen, this leads to huge difference in the product quality. The lamb used with us is Mulwarra lamb from Australia. This specific lamb is probably the best in its class in the world for its quality. These special imported products leads to additional value in food quality and thus are priced more than average. Our menu has many dishes ranging below average expectations.

In regard to your query for the pictures of the restaurant, I understand that manager should have immediately addressed this with you. However in case you would like to have any professional pictures of the place please let me know and I shall be happy to assist you with the same.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back for The Flying Experience.

Best Regards

Vimal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the buck”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food and drinks were good, but not worth the price. The place is overpriced. Place is too loud. We had bad service yesterday evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Assistant Director Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We understand that you had a very mixed experience at The Flying Elephant. We are happy to know that you do enjoy the gastronomy art at the restaurant and were also satisfied with the same.

Also we have noted your feedback in regard to the pricing and being loud. All the products used in our restaurant are of the best quality and authentic ingredients. The pricing has been done after the city analysis and is very competitive.

The place gets louder as its changes to a party environment post 11 pm on Friday and Saturday. The restaurant is unique and very dynamic in its nature.

We have also noted your feedback about the service which will be immediately addressed internally. We value your feedback as this helps us a lot to constantly improve our product and services.

We look forward to welcome you once again at The Flying Elephant.

Best Regards

Vimal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Be it for a nice dinner, or for a night out. Its just pretty killer!
Of course, in Chennai new & good means BIG BIG crowd, but hey, no one's complaining when the food is that good, and the atmosphere so vibrant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thevpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Assistant Director Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you had a amazing dining experience with us and were impressed with the dynamic environment at The Flying Elephant. As a concept of the place it is meant to have something for everyone irrespective of the palate, age or liking in the same destination.


Best Regards

Vimal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chenna
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun and Flirty”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Prepare yourself to wander, walk and generally dine in an unusual and unrushed atmosphere. The circular winding walkway that spirals four times from the ground floor towards a private bar/party room at the top is studded every 100 steps with food choices, Thai, Pan Asian, Indian tandoori, Japanese, Dim Sum counters, Middle Eastern with wonderful cocktails and mocktail stalls in between. Take your time since service is slow and unhurried. Go with friends and prepare to pay quite a bit for a very unsual evening. The ribs, steaks, blueberry crumble, whiskey trifle and so many other dishes are superb. The focus is obviously on the food and not on the service which is very slow and the staff are not trained to offer good suggestions - quite the opposite sometimes.. but the quality of the wines and the food makes it a very worthwhile food attraction for Chennai.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mucharooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal V, Assistant Director Food and Beverage at The Flying Elephant, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mucharooni

Thank you for your comments posted on #TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to have a very detailed review about your experience at The Flying Elephant. We have noted your feedback about the service and the same will be immediately addressed with the team. We assure you an improvement on the same when you visit us next.

We would look forward to welcome you back at The Flying Elephant.

Warm Regards
Vimal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Elephant also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to The Flying Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing