We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property in terms of location for professionals but requires lot of service and facility improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ranked #35 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good property in terms of location for professionals but requires lot of service and facility improvement.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Checked in for the first time at this property in October 2013, have been a regular visitor since then, despite having bad experiences, owing to few limitations, I would have stayed here for more than 80 nights in last 7 months. Guests have rated it a 5 star property on various travel portals but I did not find it at that standard. Let me appreciate first, very nice, renovated, spacious rooms with nice beds. A compact property trying to accomodate requirements for 5 star. In case, you are running short of time, they arrange assistance at airport to help you catch flight in time. Equipped with small gym, spa, pool and a bar, nearly fulfills your requirement. Open air restaurant "Board Walk" is a good place to relax enjoying live music most of the evenings. Now the shortcomings, need more staff and that to trained ones at all facilities, except few, entire staff force lacks professionalism. Food is just fine, more suited to south Indian taste. Housekeeping services need a revamp. Quality of washroom essentials is pathetic, better carry yours while checking in here. Many times calls at reception go unanswered, nothing could be more pathetic than this. Room acoustics need to be checked thoroughly, being centrally located and in high traffic area, lot of outside noise comes inside rooms. There is much more to share, will keep doing.

Room Tip: Go for pool facing rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawanKGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    304
    119
    33
    38
See reviews for
149
98
61
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here recently for an unexpectedly long time, so became quite familiar with the hotel. Our room was spacious and modern. The air-conditioning worked fine. The bed was comfortable. A mini fridge is provided in the room, as is a safe. The bath-room was dated. Some renovations had been made, but the bath should have been removed and replaced. The tiles around the bath were dirty. The bath mat had mould on the bottom of it. Housekeeping services which were provided were good. In-room dining was mostly ok, some problems with making ourselves understood over the telephone (ie. when ordering the steak, my husband was asked if that was a vegetable). Sometimes when we requested something from housekeeping or room service, we would have to request it 2 or 3 times before it was done. The breakfast was good - good selection. The staff were on the whole very courteous, friendly and helpful. Location was quite central. Secure parking is provided. On the whole a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, especially whether the bathroom is new and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

checked in on 9th April. No towels in bathroom , fitting were dirty and the shower lever fell off . during breakfast the number of waiters were very less compared to the guests , tables were not being refreshed / clean as such had to sit on a dirty table.funny part was that when i went to refill my plate a waiter picked up my unused cutlery and gave it to some other guest. over all bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkhaitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Khaitan,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback .
It is our constant endeavor to provide consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret to have let you down on this occasion and sincerely apologize for the same. I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.
We receive you feedback constructively to ensure to retrain our staff to avoid such incidents in future and look forward for another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services

Hope to see you with us soon; ensuring best of services delivered.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is nice, easthetically speaking. It's clearly conceived for a tourist target. Unfortunately, like most hotels in India, bad maintenance and poor personnel make hotel stars not trustworthy. The concierge hardly undoerstood english and tried to rip us off with room prices, the room was dirty (attatched pictures) and we had to call 3 times to get towels. An average experience overall, a poor experience for a 5 star hotel. There are much better ones in India with the same star rating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback .
It is our constant endeavor to provide consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret that we failed to meet up your expectations and sincerely apologize for the same. I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.
Your feedback is shared with the concerned departments to initiate corrective measure and avoid such incidents in future and look forward for another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed here in early April and found the hotel in generally ok condition and conveniently located close to the railway station.

unfortunately my airline had delayed the luggage so that I was relying on the hotel to receive it. reception and bell man confirmed to notify and bring to the room upon delivery - unfortunately did not: I had to ask frequently and always got negative answer, turned out that the delivered luggage was just sitting in the locker room for around 1 day and even when "found", it was not delivered to the room right away (excuse was that I was not in the room) and needed to be requested again.

a training of service personnel is urgently advised to understand traveler needs,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_tee_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback and pleased to know that you found the hotel location convenient.

It is our constant endeavor to provide consistently high quality service to all our valued guests and we therefore regret to have let you down on this occasion and sincerely apologize for the same. I do hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of your last experience and will give us an opportunity to improve and serve you better.
We receive you feedback constructively to ensure to retrain our staff to avoid such incidents in future and look forward for another opportunity to regain your confidence in our services

Hope to see you with us soon; ensuring best of services delivered.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Overall satisfying experience. Value for money as the room rent is reasonable as compared to other five star hotels in and around Chennai. room service as well as housekeeping are not very prompt though manageable. The swimming pool is very small. they also have an artist who makes portraits for a 30 minute sitting.

Room Tip: Use a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinit2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Vinit,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback in this portal.

We understand how important it is to add a family vacation to our mechanically routined life and are glad to learn that you had a satisfying experience

Your remark about the service promptness are noted and shared with the concerned team heads to have corrective measures in place.

We hope you continue to stay with us and see the positive changes and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#53 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#44 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Abu Sarovar Portico
#64 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#11 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
The Residency
#32 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Pride Hotel Chennai
#108 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Chennai Egmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Chennai Egmore

Property: Ramada Chennai Egmore
Address: Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Chennai Egmore 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Chennai Egmore boasts of 113 plush and spacious rooms that combine verdant amenities and the comfort of home like environment. Between each day’s adventures, relax amid the warm, earthy ambience of your spacious room, and discover the various facilities at your beck and call: complimentary internet, a flat screen TV, electronic safe with a built-in laptop charger, a pillow menu to ensure that you sleep stress-free and all day in-room dining. The attached bathroom also has custom designed baths and drench showers with luxurious accoutrements and lotions from Paya. Rooms also have ironing facilities but if your suit requires ironing urgently for that all-important presentation with clients the hotel’s prompt laundry services would be happy to do it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Chennai Egmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing