We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had bad experience with front office”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Chennai Egmore
Ranked #34 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had booked this hotel through makemytrip and selected pay at hotel, got confirmation and everything was fine. But when I tried to check-in at hotel in night around 09:00 PM then hotel staff told me that we have cancelled your booking without any information. After half an hour battle with Manager she offered me other room. Before this case I do have good feeling about Ramada group but this time they really upset me to rethink about this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vjain003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar G, Group President at Ramada Chennai Egmore, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Mr. Jain,

Thank you for staying at Ramada Chennai Egmore.

It is a pleased to know that you have been patronizing us and had good opinion about our hotel.

I apologies for the situation that caused you soreness about us. This was a sole unpleasant event where you had to wait for half an hour to get a room unlike your previous stay.

I have noted the concern and do assure you that this would be looked into to eliminate it from further occurrence.

I do hope that you give us another opportunity and allow us to regain your faith back in us.

I look forward to personally welcome you on your next visit. Please do write to me at the following e mail ID for your future visit.

Warm Regards
H. Jaya Shankar Gupta
Group President
gp@ramadachennaiegmore.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 896 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is centrally located and offers all the amenities. Stayed only for a night, so could not experience them. However the rooms are big, spacious and clean


The rates are very competitive and one can certainly stay at this location

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smfaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The property is situated near the railway station. Stayed here for a night, the room was spacious and comfortable. The great part was the helpful and cooperative start. The buffet breakfast was also good and scrumptious. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidd1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for a night and had an excellent stay. The lobby is spacious and nicely done. Centrally air conditioned rooms are quite spacious and elegantly done. Besides 51" LCD TV along with set top box the room is equipped with nice writing desk along with a comfortable office chair, refrigerator, iron with ironing board. Toilet too is spacious and clean with all toiletries provided. In room dinning food is good quality and taste but bit expensive. Service needs to be improved.. Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi, however the speed and the signal are not to the expectation. Breakfast has a fantastic variety and is good in taste..Hotel has a good pool and health club with a spa. Location is good, very close to Egmore station. Certainly worth the tariff I got from Make My Trip. A very good hotel with high standard . . .

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haresh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Ramada chennai is hotel having huge rooms which were very comfortable by all means.....We had dinner at roof lounge which was awesome...the food quality was superb.....the breakfast was well laid n the chef was serving variety of eggs which we loved.....The airport pickup n drop was very smooth n comfortable.....I would definately stay here during my next visit.....Cheeeers

Room Tip: All rooms r good,spacious with cozy beds n mattresses n mini bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palimakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel Ramada is close to all the attractions in Chennai. The receptionist (Miss Puja) were friendly & quick in handling my check in. The room were big & comfortable but the shower room were dirty with fungus on the floor & walls. Mini bar were empty. The breakfast buffet were excellent. Facilities were good. Food were quite expensive compared to other hotels that I stayed in Chennai.
Travel desk were not very helpful in arranging transportation to send me to the airport. Price quoted also very expensive. Should look in to this.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from swimming pool. Can be very noisy if the have parties there at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siva2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

rooms are good , but bath rooms are not up to the mark , service is great , location is good , in room food menu is very expensive and even taste of food is just average . buffet breakfast for vegetarians is not very lavish . but overall its a good property to stay if you get a room below rs 4500/00 per night for double occupancy .

Room Tip: take rooms on 8th floor facing swimming pool and city view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hitesh197919842010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Ambassador Pallava Chennai
#54 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
324 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#69 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Hotel Park Plaza
#230 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
Treebo Select Fortel
Treebo Select Fortel
#217 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
107 reviews
Mylapore
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#56 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
671 reviews
The Park Chennai
#48 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Chennai Egmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Chennai Egmore

Address: Gandhi Irwin Bridge Road | Egmore, Chennai (Madras) 600008, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $58 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Chennai Egmore 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Chennai Egmore boasts of 113 plush and spacious rooms that combine verdant amenities and the comfort of home like environment. Between each day’s adventures, relax amid the warm, earthy ambience of your spacious room, and discover the various facilities at your beck and call: complimentary internet, a flat screen TV, electronic safe with a built-in laptop charger, a pillow menu to ensure that you sleep stress-free and all day in-room dining. The attached bathroom also has custom designed baths and drench showers with luxurious accoutrements and lotions from Paya. Rooms also have ironing facilities but if your suit requires ironing urgently for that all-important presentation with clients the hotel’s prompt laundry services would be happy to do it for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Chennai Egmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing