We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Zoo!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arignar Anna Zoological Park

Arignar Anna Zoological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.00*
and up
Private Day Tour of Arignar Anna Zoological Park from Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Zoo!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good collection, Clean, cheap and HUGE. This is surely is one of the better Zoo in India. Cannot compare it to Zoos outside India, but surely its not a time waste. However few things that needs to improve is more Food areas, better quality of food, better Toilets and better parking facility. We went on 26th Jan, and found a lot of people there, however since the ZOO is huge you dont feel its crowded. For people who cannot or do not want to explore the Zoo on foot, can take a battery operated car drive around Zoo. Its Rs 30 per person and the car takes you around Zoo stopping at few important locations. Its a 45 min ride, but you see most of things worth seeing. I was with my 9 month old daughter, so I found it worth it. We also took a Lion Safari, which also cost Rs 30 per person. However since I have been to South Africa and have explored the game reserves there, I didnt find Lion safari worth it. But all said and done its worth 3-4 hrs, if you have nothing to do and just want to explore new place in Chennai. Avoid during summers, although the tree cover is quite nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Anurag1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    138
    59
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One time go...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is said to be India's largest zoo... It will take you almost 5hrs to see it completely. It's quite neat n clean with almost all the animals u wish to see, ranging from deer, foxes, lion, tiger, bear to neelgai, leopard, white tiger, giraffe, zebra, emu, ostrich, snakes of the reptile family n a variety of fishes.... The zoo authorities don't allow you to take any eatables inside. And so for the audience they have made a restaurant inside which is completely a NO NO place for the vegetarians.... There is hardly anything that is served without egg or chicken.. N that is the biggest minus point about the zoo. Rest it's a nice place for all who loves to see the vast variety of animals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank abhilasha_designer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Caged in a truck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time in this zoo. This Zoo has many species for animal lovers to enjoy. The best part of the zoo is the Lion Safari. To see the Lions in their natural habitat, we were caged in the the tankers, The tankers took us deep in the jungle a midst the free lions. This was a thrilling experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank piscesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to visit with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

The Vandalur zoo is how I remember this place.. It is quite clean and well maintained, although the animals looked a bit frail and listless... We were delighted to find a pram available on hire (had decided against carrying ours due to flight baggage limits) for a few bucks, although it was quite a basic one it served the purpose - the little one got a good view of the zoo dwellers without drying up our energies or his.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaviSeshadri_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a day with Kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Highlights:
- Lots of shade and greenery (in the walking trails)
- Good 8 kms walk
- Other transportation options available (Battery operated cars, vans, cycles etc)

Lowlights:
- No food stalls inside (and outside food is also not allowed inside the park)
- You can't hire a battery operated car OR a cycle inside the park (unless you come back to the entry and pay for it); Too few vehicles operating (less than 30) and will not pick up any hitch-hikers inside the park even if they are running empty
- Maintenance is too bad... especially for aquatic animals ... really filthy water, and too small ponds for Crocs (just a bath-tub sized pools filled with dark sewage water)
- Outrageous fee for Video cameras (Rs.150) compared to Rs.10 for Still cameras

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank numk2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arignar Anna Zoological Park also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Arignar Anna Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing