We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere, good food.”

Cafe Mercara Express
Ranked #10 of 6,659 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Contemporary, International, Fast Food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
England
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, good food.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had lunch here. A good selection of local and international food, plenty of salads and sandwiches as well as more substantial fare. The staff were friendly and efficient and it has a lively ambience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Batmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Cafe Mercara Express, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your dining experience at Café Mercara Express and found the staff friendly and efficient. We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    65
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corsham
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good place for a quick lunch”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I ate here alone twice at lunchtime and found it very pleasant and good value. One of the meals was a type of thali which was delicious and the other was soup of the day, also lovely. Staff were very good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank caraCorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Cafe Mercara Express, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience at Café Mercara Express and found the service up to the mark. We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
VP & GM, ITC Grand Chola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
1 review
“Excellent service, superb food”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Service with a smile even at 4 am. Try the biryanis. Amazing mocktails. Kids loved the Mac and cheese and fish and chips. Excellent desserts.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Cafe Mercara Express, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and the praise you have bestowed upon us.
We endeavour to always provide service with a smile, even at 4am!

We are delighted that your kids loved the food and the desserts at Café Mercara Express.

We hope to continue serving you in the near future as well.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine dining at its best”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was fine dining at its best with excellent ambience and deployment of a manager to take care of our needs. The initial starters pani puri, and corn cutlet were quite nice. The menu was well diversified with food from all parts of the world. The moroccan hot pot which was a variation of rice and rajma was delicious with exhotic spices. Main dises came with free rotis. Bisi bele bath came with curd rice. I ordered a continental dish which came with a free continental dessert. Bisi bele bath was a disappointment. The ambience was excellent. The pricing was reasonable. Would recommend the place for any special occasion. This should be the most opulent restaurant with a grand Chola dynasty setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VRAVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Cafe Mercara Express, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear V Ravi,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at Café Mercara Express and that you appreciated the ambience and the selection of dishes you ordered.

At ITC Grand Chola, we strive to make all our guests feel special and we hope we succeeded in making you feel welcome at Café Mercara Express. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Wishing you a great day ahead!

Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Good Value For Money”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I eat breakfast here most days during my stay. As menus go, this is the standard, all-purpose 24hr coffee shop that all Indian hotels seem to have.
However, their staf are excellent and take great care of their guests. They are flexible and will accommodate you with items not on the menu. I frequently talk to the Chef and he is always kind enough to make me a meal of my own choice even if none of the items are on the menu.Their South Indian fare is very good. But most of all, it is their flexibility and engaging staff that has made this a consistently positive experience for me.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jayatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mercara Express also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Cafe Mercara Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing