We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable restaurant of Chennai”
Review of Madras Pavilion

Madras Pavilion
Ranked #6 of 6,662 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
chennai
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Remarkable restaurant of Chennai”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I visited this restaurant for our wedding day on 29th October 2013 dinner One word I can describe it all is REALLY GRAND. We had booked the table well in advance . we were warmly greeted and wished on entering the restaurant. We were provided Starters. only three starters available for Vegetarian Option. That is Fruit Tikka, Dhahi Papdi Chat and Vada. The waiter went on the extra mile in making a special aaloo starter for us that tasted great. The management can think of adding of more vegetarian options as we were a bit disappointed about the limited vegetarian options available. Then came the soup which tasted ultimate. All the delicacies ranging from Chinese till continental was very good. No complaints. After the desert, do not miss their coffee which is served in traditional style and tastes ultimate. Then we were given a complimentary cake by The Madras Pavilion team as it is our anniversary.There is one error which I noticed .In the Pickles section, The card described it as Mango Pickle. However, the pickle that was actually placed at that spot was Lemon Pickle. I was observing few customers who were mentioning about the wrongness amongst themselves. I am telling the same in the good interest of Madras Pavilion .I am sure this would be taken in right spirit and the error would not be repeated.. I am sure I would visit this restaurant in Future as well.. kudos to the Team.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asnrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Madras Pavilion, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re glad to learn that we could make your anniversary a memorable experience.We have made note of your comments on the vegetarian selection at Madras Pavilion and the error in the labelling of the pickles.
We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    115
    41
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The spiffiest Buffet in Madras.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The vegetarian and non-vegetarian arrays and arrays of food, and live counters, and quality of cuts of meat that you get to choose, and desserts that are unending.

Thus I conclude: the food will be relished by all palates, the topography of the Pavilion, with its lofty ceiling, pillars, winding walks from dining-table to buffet-table and back, and the very smart hotel personnel on service are the icing on the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeithCastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Madras Pavilion, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and your kind comments on the buffet spread at Madras Pavilion. We’re glad to learn that the service of our team at the restaurant could match your expectations.

We look forward to another opportunity to serve you and hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“large spread”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The buffet breakfast is very good especially the south Indian section which has vast spread and everything prepared very authentically.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank radhareddyh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Madras Pavilion, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a promising review about Madras Pavilion. We are indeed very pleased to read about your positive comments about the buffet Spread and our South Indian specialities.

We eagerly look forward to your return

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The ambiance of this place is perfect for a family outing. Since the buffet menu takes care of of all the age groups. The salad display was such that my little sister who refrains from having salad was in love with that counter. Was amazed to see hot starters being served on the table. Special mention for the amazing Rendang Curry that was outstanding.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Madras Pavilion, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to take note of your wonderful comments about our salad counter, starters and the rending curry. Your kind words mean a lot to us.

We eagerly await your return.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet - Never changes, Can definitely improve.”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had breakfast buffet for 3 days at the Madras Pavilion. The spread does not change. The fruits appeared pale and dull. The food did not taste good considering ITC's tall claims about food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Charraudeau, General Manager at Madras Pavilion, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret to hear that the daily variety and change in the breakfast spread at Madras Pavilion was not up to your liking. Your feedback has been shared with our culinary team.

We eagerly look forward to making it up to you on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Philippe Charraudeau
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madras Pavilion also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Madras Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing