We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace park inn revisited”
Review of Peace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peace Inn
Reviewed February 7, 2014

While visiting the nearby University of Madras I stayed at this hotel for a month. I am happy to say that PPI had maintained their high standard from more than 1 year before - reliable and professional staff, good service and clean rooms, and comfortable environment. Located in Triplicane/Chepauk all facilities for my purpose was within walking distance: University of Madras, Express Avenue, Mount Road, plenty of restaurants and Chepauk Railway Station. Will definitely stay there next time around.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Avoid this hotel , look for other option. I found my experience nightmare. Their bed linens are dirty. Bad food and very discourteous staff. They do not give money receipt for your payment. Inexperience people with bad behaviour.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank jainaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Located on a tiny street named "Big Street" (which could hardly pass as a big lane) the hotel surprises as a new and clean place to rest. My room was moderately sized and tiled up to the ceiling. The very large tiles had kind of a marble pattern which prevented the room from feeling sterile. All windows in the hotel including the one in my room were opaque, probably for good reason. A/C, ceiling fan, TV and internet all worked (with internet access occasionally dropping which was always quickly fixed after a call to reception).The bathroom was quite large and well lit. It had a shower with hot water, although not separated by curtains. There was no eating facility in the hotel, but everything could be ordered to your room at very reasonable prices. The food was delicious and came a short time after ordering.
On a funny note: I was first freaked out by the sound of the room bell! It had the sound of a cricket combined with the melody of a gecko and seemed to come right from behind the big wardrobe. I seriously thought I had an unwelcome "room companion". I was very relieved to find out that it was only room service requesting entrance.
The one thing that should be improved is the lighting in the hallways of the hotel which is quite dim.
I stayed in this hotel on my first day in India. Therefore I cannot comment about the location in comparison to other Indian hotels. Overall the hotel was very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erdenkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I visited in mid of dec 2013 and found the services very nice
hotel staff is nice
rooms were clean and maintained well
room service was pretty good and fast
breakfast was nicely prepared
its near to central station so its an added advantage
i would recommend this hotel to all those who want to spend in range of 2000 Rs

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitmathur4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

In general a clean hotel, clean room, good house keeping service and reception. A decent hotel for respectable people.
The hotel is in Big Street (passing King Palace hotel) off Pycroft Road.
There were no toothbrush and toothpaste. No water bottles in the room. Mineral water is served in water containers. If these are also made available, it would be excellent.
I had no problem with the TV, A/C, Hot water all worked well. Very good wifi connection too in the room where I stayed in i.e. 110.

Room Tip: I was in room 110. It was ok. Though a busy street did not hear any noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Centrally-located on the smallest road named Big Street in the world, this hotel actually does live up to its name.
So hidden is it, the auto-rickshaw drivers struggle to get you there, but once you have asked a few locals, stepped off the crumbling, litter-strewn, pungent thoroughfare, the city’s cacophony can be kept at bay behind the door of your room.
Those rooms are not luxurious and are also rather dark, affording nothing resembling a view. However, they are very comfortable, kept very clean and come with flatscreen TV, a good en-suite shower room and the odd few toiletries.
Breakfast isn’t included in the price, but make sure you visit the open-air rooftop restaurant on the fourth floor – great, tasty southern Indian food is on offer, at very cheap prices.
The staff are very friendly and, as long as you don’t mind seeing lovebirds and other species in captivity, behind glass screens (the cages look very clean), the reception area is a comfortable place to sit, too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is of very good standard in all facilities.Clean and good quality fitout with the exception that most Indian bathrooms need more attention to the finish. There is however a free standing hot water unit in this facility.very good A/C system, also TV modern type. The reception staff were very good, well managed helpful and friendly, with ok English.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank petercainnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#272 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Royapettah
New Regency
New Regency
#148 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
6 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The City Manor
#114 of 418 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
2,994 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace Inn

Address: 164 New No: 60 Old No:, Chennai (Madras) 600005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Royapettah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 693 Specialty Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $12 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peace Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Peace Inn Corporate Residence offers various types of rooms for their budget for comfort stay, a compact board room for training program, corporate meeting & seminars, our lobby offers bird's view to keep your mind diverted to peace & calm. Our goal is to deliver personalized service exceeding the quality of our facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Peace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing