We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Traditional Italian Cuisine with excellent desserts & Strictly for NonVeggies”
Review of Focaccia

Focaccia
Ranked #100 of 6,662 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese, Italian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired by the coastal regions of southern Italy, Focaccia serves authentic home-style Italian cooking. The restaurant showcases a walk-in wine library, wood-fired pizza oven and extensive indoor and al fresco seating options. The menu ranges from signature pizzas to fresh, home-made pastas and decadent desserts. Open from 12:00 noon to 3:00 pm and 7:30pm to 11:45pm.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“High End Traditional Italian Cuisine with excellent desserts & Strictly for NonVeggies”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Focaccia - Italian restaurant in Hyatt Chennai serves simple and traditional italian cuisine. 2 things that made me notice is 1) Ambience - Simple and outstanding and the 2) Open Kitchen - Though the culture has started catching up in chennai i liked it.

Its a nice business, friends get together kind of place. We started with the soup veg which pretty decent. However i have to give it for the Antipasta which i believe they specialise in. We went for the platter and we did not regret. It was wonderful. For the mains we ordered for a Pizza, a stuffed/baked pasta and a penne with cream sauce to go about it. Pizza was simple and we found it strictly OK. However we enjoyed Stuffed pasta which was delicious and Penne with creame sauce was just perfectly blended.

For the desserts we ordered for a Tiramisu and we ended up eating 4 portions of it :). It was delicious ( understatement). They also served huge portions of the same.

Overall not a great place for Veg as the Options are strictly less imagine myself being an italian lover couldnt have Ravioilis as they did not serve veg on it. So was the Pizzas as well with strict countable options. Other than that i would recommend this place for all italian lovers especially for the Yummy desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Varun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Focaccia, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai, Focaccia.

We are extremely delighted to have this wonderful feedback from you. Thank you so much to take time out and share the same with the TripAdvisor community. This is much appreciated at our end.

Focaccia as you rightly mentioned is an authentic Italian restaurant and has varied offerings in the menu , we are happy to know that Antipasti concept is doing well and post your feedback we shall continue to do so. We also have a Private Dining Room next to Focaccia and if you plan a small get together , this will be fantastic. Next time do have a look and we can assist in providing your family and friends a memorable occasion as food shall do the trick.
We also recommend you to try Stix and Spice Haat , our award winning Chinese and All Day Dining Buffet restaurants.

Please do let us know for further assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    41
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic traditional Italian cuisine”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Focaccia, at the Hyatt Regency, Chennai is a must do. The food at Focaccia prides itself on being authentic, simple and fresh with vibrant flavours and it absolutely lives up to that promise. Fabulous Italian food like nothing that any restaurant at Chennai has offered earlier. The native chef Massimiliano Pauletto is a genius and almost anything you order is a delight. Though I am a total cannibal, my family members who ordered vegetarian dishes were also equally appreciative of the food.The best part is the fact that if you don't want to stay within the confines of the restaurant, you can choose to eat under the stars if that is your fancy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dilipjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Focaccia, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai, Focaccia.

Thank you so much to take time our and share this wonderful feedback with the community about our Authentic Italian Restaurant. Indeed Chef Massimiliano Pauletto and all of us are very happy to know that our work is recognized and we can exceed your expectations.

Now a days we are also doing Antipasti at Focaccia during lunches.Please call 044 61001234 for more details and we look forward to welcome you back.

Once again thank you very much.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is the best Italian I have ever tasted in chennai. Simply loved it. There are native & professional chefs in here. And everything is soo good. You could actually see the chef's doing your pizza. Its fresh, its tasty and its soooo delicious.
I would say this is a must try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Focaccia, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Kamakshi

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and giving us your valueable feedback.

We all are indeed delighted to know that you liked your experience at our Italian restaurant..
Comments like yours are very motivating and inspire us to do better.

Please do let me know in case I could be of any assistance and we look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennI
Level 6 Contributor
693 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Great traditional Italian food”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Focaccia is at the Hyatt Chennai. Simple ,elegant Italian décor with an open kitchen and well spaced out tables for privacy. The restaurant was an enjoyable experience. The cuisine of native Chef Massimiliano Pauletto, was excitingly authentic, simple and fresh. The menu has been created to offer diners a regional fare that also includes sumptuous vegetarian dishes as well. On a comparative note of restaurants of the same class food was priced at reasonable rates.

Dinner for two with spirits would cost around Rs. 4000 to 5000.

Diners can choose the confines of the restaurant or under the sun or the stars, depending on the time of the day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sale & Marketing at Focaccia, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your valueable time and feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at our Italian restaurant.
I have passed your comments to our team and they are thankful as well.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Focaccia also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Focaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing