We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ratna of a restaurant!!!”
Review of Rathna Cafe

Rathna Cafe
Ranked #46 of 7,123 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Royapettah
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Royapettah
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

Ratna Cafe!

The name conjures visions of buckets of steaming, aromatically delectable Sambar poured over idlis (fluffy rice cakes) and medu vadai (doughnut shaped deep fried black gram batter)

If you thought sambar was a Thamizh (Tamil) dish think again. It seems the sambar (lentils and tamarind based vegetable broth) originated c.17th century in the Tanjore Maratha Kings' kitchens (Marathas are Western Indian)

Now whether that's true or apocryphal isn't germane if you're hungry and at Ratna Cafe. You'd want to wolf down as many as you can and as quickly as you can

If you believe the origin of sambar to be Maratha, it took a restaurateur from Mathura (Uttar Pradesh in north India) to popularise it

The waiters and waitresses serve quickly and generously. They have perfected the art of memorising multiple orders and their delivery accuracy is at 6sigma

Go there if you're feeling ravenously hungry and light in pocket

The restaurant doesn't disappoint one bit

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank PrasadP414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 130 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

I have been here for past 23 years, just order Sambar Idly, taste of sambar is unique, unlimited sambar. Now it’s expensive Idly plate Rs 48, Dosa Rs 61, Vada 1-pc Rs 35, Pongal Rs 67, Coffee Rs 31, mini coffee Rs 19..... we went for breakfast in Mylapore branch

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Jayasiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

After a span of two decades,I had been to this "SAMBAR"shop.There were vast changes in ambiance as well as in taste too.The IDLI with ghee and pots of Sambar is still there but not up to the early standard.Even then worth visiting.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018

visited this place for breakfast after many people told us about how this is an institutionin chennai. very simple but the place was packed. the idly sambar is a must have - the most popular dish here. avoid the masala dosa, the masala is very average.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 2017S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018

Rathna cafe is a place my family has been visiting from 1960s. My father would rave about their Dosa and Sambar. So I trudged to this place all the way from Marina beach by foot. I had to search a lot and enquire a lot, by the time we reached , my appetite was at a peak and then I found food was just mediocre. The ambiance of the eatery was also very ordinary. In all ,I felt it was not worth going all the way to eat here.The surroundings are very noisy.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SundarRam54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathna Cafe also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Rathna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing